26 Beaver Street (Beaver Tower)
26 Beaver Street, New York, NY 10004
BBL 1000110014 · BIN 1085816
- Year built
- 1909
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 19
- Floors
- 19
- Amenities
- Private storage cages and bike storage per listing records; no attended lobby
- Flip tax
- Not documented in public records — verify with the managing agent
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2024
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2024
- $761
- 2 sales
- Listing discount
- 4.4%
- Recorded sales
- 23
- On record
- 2003–2024
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Beaver Tower would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
Beaver Tower is one of the first residential conversions in the Financial District, and it is still one of the smallest. Nineteen stories and nineteen apartments means the building is close to one residence per floor — the ACRIS unit designations run FL2, 3, 4, 5, 6A, 6B, 7, 11, 12, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 and PH — so almost every buyer here is buying a full floor with four exposures in a district built almost entirely of towers with double-loaded corridors. That is the whole product, and it is rare.
The building itself is an early-twentieth-century commercial structure on a 2,907-square-foot lot, carrying roughly 51,400 square feet of floor area. Its built floor-area ratio is 17.68 against a residential FAR of 10 under the current C5-5 zoning — a simple comparison that does not establish legal zoning floor area or permitted future work, though it explains why a nineteen-story building sits on a lot the size of a townhouse. The architecture follows from that: a narrow, tall shaft with terra cotta, brick and limestone detailing; records show a 2013 exterior and roof program and a 2020 façade repair filing, and completion and current condition need confirming.
What makes the building unusual among Lower Manhattan conversions is what it does not carry. The wave of residential conversions that reshaped the Financial District after 1995 came with 421-g, the Lower Manhattan conversion exemption and abatement, and a great deal of listing copy in this neighborhood still advertises tax benefits that have quietly run out. Beaver Tower converted roughly fifteen years before 421-g existed. Its only recorded benefit was a J-51 that expired more than three decades ago. Buyers here are underwriting a full, ordinary tax bill, and there is no abatement cliff waiting in the file.
The trade-off is scale. Nineteen apartments carry the whole building — the façade cycles, the two elevators, the boiler, the sprinkler and fire-alarm retrofit filed in 2011 and 2012 — and the cooperative's underlying financing has grown across three refinancings. That is the arithmetic to run before an offer, and it is knowable.
Architecture and unit composition
Nineteen floors of masonry over a two-story commercial base, with a mezzanine above the ground floor. The residential floors above are almost all single-apartment plates; only the sixth floor is documented in ACRIS as split into two residences (6A and 6B), and the top of the building carries a penthouse, with the 17th and 18th floors recorded in listing records as a duplex. Residential floor area is about 49,100 square feet across nineteen apartments — roughly 2,500 gross residential square feet per residence on average. That ratio includes space beyond apartment interiors; use unit plans and measurements for usable area. Ceiling heights, column spacing and window placement are those of a 1909 office building, and interiors vary widely: DOB filings show individual apartment gut renovations in most years since 2001, so condition, not layout, is the principal variable in pricing.
Building operations
Two elevators on keyed access, a superintendent on site during the week, video intercom entry, and storage and bike facilities in the cellar, per listing records. There is no attended lobby. The ground floor and mezzanine are a separate commercial unit: DOB records a 2008 alteration converting it from a restaurant to a retail store with accessory offices, and a 2011 alteration converting it again to office use, with about 2,300 square feet of commercial area on the DOF roll. Sprinkler and fire-alarm work was filed for the commercial space and the building in 2011 and 2012; exterior masonry restoration was filed in 2013 and again in 2020.
The cooperative's underlying financing is a matter of public record. A mortgage was recorded in 2007 with a cooperative lender; in May 2017 the corporation refinanced, with a consolidation agreement recorded at $2.75 million; and in December 2021 it refinanced again, recording a new mortgage of $3.75 million together with a consolidation, extension and modification agreement at $6.5 million. Across nineteen apartments that is a meaningful per-unit debt load, and the current balance, rate, maturity and reserve position should be obtained from the managing agent before an offer. Listing records describe an operating reserve above $1 million; we have not been able to verify that against audited statements.
Abatement history
J-51 — expired. DOF's historical J-51 file records a benefit on Block 11, Lot 14 with an initial year of 1981, a twelve-year exemption term and a 90 percent abatement rate against $274,500 of certified alteration cost. The file runs from tax year 1981 through tax year 1992, with the abatement grant exhausted by 1991. The benefit has been fully expired for more than thirty years.
421-g — never applied. The Lower Manhattan conversion program was created in 1995 for commercial-to-residential conversions commenced in the years that followed. Beaver Tower's conversion predates it by roughly fifteen years, and no 421-g benefit appears on this lot in any city record we have examined.
Current position. DOF's assessment roll carries about $8,820 of exemption against roughly $6.2 million of total assessed value — a rounding error attributable to ordinary co-op and shareholder-level credits, not a program benefit. The building pays a conventional Manhattan tax bill, and that bill is already embedded in maintenance. There is no step-down and no expiry to model.
Policy framework
None of the following is published by the cooperative. All of it comes from listing records and should be confirmed with the managing agent and against the offering plan and by-laws before an offer.
- Financing: reported at 80 percent maximum, which is permissive for a Financial District co-op of this vintage.
- Pets: reported permitted.
- Pied-à-terre: reported permitted.
- Subletting: reported permitted; term limits, fee schedule and ownership seasoning are not documented.
- Flip tax: not documented. Its existence, base and rate are among the first questions to put to the managing agent.
- Post-closing liquidity, trusts and LLC purchases: not documented.
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Building staffing and amenities
- Virtual or video entry
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Bike storage, storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $17,266/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $76
- Modeled exposure split equally across 19 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Recent sales
Beaver Tower trades as full-floor Financial District loft co-op product: prewar bones, high per-apartment square footage, four exposures on nearly every floor, and no attended lobby. Recorded share transfers run continuously from the mid-2000s through late 2024 (the latest priced transfer in ACRIS is October 2024) across most of the building's apartment lines. Those dated transfers provide a starting point for comparisons; assess their recency, apartment characteristics and the current active inventory before drawing a liquidity conclusion. Pricing separates on condition and on floor height rather than on layout, since the layouts are largely the same plate repeated; renovated upper floors and the penthouse duplex sit at the top of the range. Because the building carries a full tax bill and no abatement, the monthly maintenance is a more honest number here than in the 421-g conversions nearby — a point worth making to buyers who have been comparing carrying costs across the district. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 22, 2024 | 15 | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 2,350 sf | $1,999,500 | $851/sf | -4.7% |
| May 14, 2024 | 4 | 4 BR · 2 BA · 2,350 sf | $1,575,000 | $670/sf | -21.3% |
| Jun 30, 2023 | 11 | 2 BR · 2 BA · 2,350 sf | $2,000,000 | $851/sf | -7.0% |
| Feb 16, 2022 | 19 | 2 BR · 2 BA · 2,400 sf | $999,500 | $416/sf | -13.1% |
| Jul 30, 2021 | 3 | 2 BR · 2 BA · 2,400 sf | $1,900,000 | $792/sf | -2.3% |
| Jun 14, 2021 | 7 | 4 BR · 2 BA · 2,260 sf | $1,345,000 | $595/sf | -3.6% |
| Apr 27, 2021 | 16 | 2 BR · 2 BA · 2,430 sf | $1,550,000 | $638/sf | -6.1% |
| Dec 2, 2020 | 6B | 2 BR · 2 BA | $1,200,000 | -12.7% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2024) cleared a median $761/sf (recorded) across 2 sales. Median listing discount 4.4% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00011-0014). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at Beaver Tower and nearby.
Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with Beaver Tower and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Beaver Tower. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Ask for the offering plan and the last two audited financial statements immediately. Neither is on file in our library for this building, and a nineteen-unit cooperative with a recorded consolidation at $6.5 million deserves a careful read of the balance sheet, the reserve, the debt maturity and any assessment history before you write an offer.
Get the policy stack in writing. Financing at 80 percent, pets, pied-à-terre use and subletting are all reported permitted, but none is published. In a small self-managed-scale building, board practice matters more than precedent.
The tax bill is real and already in the maintenance. Unlike much of the surrounding conversion stock, there is no abatement here to lose. Compare the all-in monthly against a 421-g building only after you have modelled that building's expiry.
Underwrite the façade cycle. The building filed exterior restoration in 2013 and again in 2020. Ask for the current FISP status, the engineer's report, and whether any assessment is contemplated.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the full floor. Four exposures on a single plate in the Financial District is the scarcest thing you own. Floor plans and light photography do more here than finish photography.
Answer the tax question before it is asked. Buyers coming from 421-g buildings will assume the maintenance is high. Explain the current ordinary tax bill and distinguish it from a bill reduced by a temporary benefit; buyers should compare the full monthly costs.
Have the financials ready. Small-building buyers and their attorneys move fast when the reserve, the underlying debt and the capital plan are in the package on day one, and slowly when they are not.
Comparable buildings
- 55 Liberty Street — the other early Financial District cooperative loft conversion, in a landmark tower
- 3 Hanover Square — cooperative conversion of a prewar commercial building a few blocks east
- 65 Nassau Street — small Financial District cooperative in converted commercial stock
- 21 South William Street — boutique conversion in the Stone Street blocks, immediately adjacent
- 1 Wall Street Court — landmark Beaver Street tower converted to residences
- 42 Ann Street — a 421-g conversion, and the clearest illustration of an expired Lower Manhattan abatement
- 20 Pine Street — full-service conversion condominium, the opposite operating model
- 88 Greenwich Street — large Financial District conversion condominium
- 15 William Street — new-construction condominium in the same blocks
- Southbridge Towers — the district's largest cooperative, for scale contrast
More Financial District buildings
- 21 South William Street — 1927 condominium
- 25 Broad Street (The Broad Exchange Building) — 1902 condominium
- 25 Park Row — 2020 condominium by COOKFOX Architects
- 33 Rector Street
- No. 33 Park Row — 2016 condominium
- The Potter Building, 36 Park Row — 1886 co-op
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Financial District — read The Roebling Team Guide to Financial District.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at Beaver Tower?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com