336 West End Avenue
336 West End Avenue, New York, NY 10023
BBL 1011670061 · BIN 1030848
- Year built
- 1931
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 103
- Floors
- 20
- Amenities
- 24-hour doorman, live-in resident manager, landscaped roof deck, central laundry, bicycle room, private storage by waitlist. The roof deck is documented in a 2003 Department of Buildings application filed to amend the certificate of occupancy for a 445-square-foot roof recreation area
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the West End-Collegiate Historic District Extension
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Dogs and cats
- Permitted with conditions
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase price
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 1BR median, 2024–2025
- $825K
- 3 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $350K – $4M
- Listing discount
- 0.0%
- Recorded transfers
- 105
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 336 West End Avenue would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
West End Avenue between 70th and 79th Street is the most consistent stretch of prewar apartment-house architecture in Manhattan, and it is consistent because it was built out fast, by a small group of architects, for a single market. 336 West End Avenue is the corridor's late arrival. Boak & Paris designed it in 1931 and 1932, at the very end of the building cycle, when the surrounding blockfronts were already complete and the Depression had emptied the pipeline behind it. It is twenty stories on a lot barely 79 feet wide — taller and narrower than its neighbors, and built to a floor-area ratio that today's zoning would not permit.
That last fact is not trivia. The building carries roughly 126,800 square feet of floor area on a 7,933-square-foot lot, a built FAR near 16 against the R10A limit of 10. Nothing like it could be constructed on the site now, and the excess bulk is what produces the building's defining characteristic for a buyer: high floors with genuine outlook. From the upper teens the apartments clear the surrounding roofline in three directions, and the landscaped roof deck — added to the certificate of occupancy by a 2003 amendment — sits above everything on the block.
The ownership history is straightforward and old. Arlenber Realty Corp. filed an offering plan on August 15, 1971 to convert the building from rental to cooperative ownership, tenants in occupancy were offered shares at $43.03 per share, and the deed to 336 West End Avenue Corp. was recorded on June 1, 1972. That makes this one of the earliest conversions on the corridor — a full decade before the 1980s wave that produced most of West End Avenue's co-ops, including 330 West End Avenue next door, which converted in 1981. The 1972 conversion date does not establish current sponsor holdings or board control; confirm those from the current shareholder records and governing documents.
The building was landmarked later. The LPC building database records the lot inside the West End–Collegiate Historic District Extension — not the Riverside–West End Historic District or either of its extensions, which cover different lots nearby and are frequently confused with it. Exterior work, including windows and any facade alteration, requires a Landmarks permit.
Architecture and unit composition
Boak & Paris worked in brick and limestone here, and the LPC classifies the elevation as Romanesque Revival — a designation worth flagging, because several secondary architectural summaries call the building Art Deco, which is what its 1932 date and its interior detailing would suggest. Both readings describe something real: the massing and ornament are historicist, the apartment planning is of its moment.
Inside, the plans are what a 1932 building on a narrow lot produces — entrance galleries, defined dining rooms, and a high proportion of lines with two exposures because the building is tall relative to its footprint. Line letters run from A through F on most floors, which means roughly six apartments per floor as built; the alteration record shows how much of that has been undone. Department of Buildings filings since 2001 document combinations on the 2nd, 5th, 7th, 8th, 11th, 12th, 15th, 16th and 17th floors, several of them across two lines, and several of them under TPPN 3/97, the city's technical bulletin for apartment combinations. Buyers should expect a mix: original one- and two-bedroom lines alongside three- and four-bedroom combinations that carry two former apartments' worth of windows.
Building operations
The building is full-service: 24-hour doorman, live-in resident manager, central laundry, bicycle room, and private storage allocated by waitlist. The landscaped roof deck is the amenity that distinguishes it from most of the corridor's stock.
City filings show capital work on a regular cycle. Facade and Local Law 11 work appears in 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2011–12, 2014 and 2019–20; filings also cover a roof replacement in 2004, terrace membrane repairs in 2014, a boiler chimney rebuild in 2003 and a sprinkler system for the cellar laundry. Completion and current condition need confirming in recent engineering reports and board materials.
The most consequential recent work is current. Department of Buildings filings on file cover replacement of the heating plant — new dual-fuel low-pressure boilers and burners, a new chimney liner, and two new gas-fired domestic hot water heaters — together with a building-wide gas infrastructure restoration running from the cellar through the 20th floor, including a new master meter and appliance connections. A gas restoration of that scope is a significant, disruptive and expensive project. Any buyer under contract should ask the managing agent directly whether it is being funded from reserves, from the credit facility, or by assessment, and should ask when gas service is expected to be fully restored.
The underlying financing is visible in ACRIS. The corporation moved from a co-op lender to a commercial bank in 2011, consolidated to a larger facility in 2014, and refinanced again in January 2021 with new money and a consolidated first mortgage in the $4 million range, secured additionally by an assignment of leases and rents. In late 2025 a further agreement was recorded involving the successor lender and a rooftop telecommunications tenancy — the building carries antenna income, which is a small but real offset to maintenance and which a buyer's attorney should confirm is under a current lease.
Policy framework
Management-sourced records report: 75 percent maximum financing, pets allowed subject to a weight limit, pied-à-terre permitted, subletting permitted, co-purchase and guarantors considered, and no flip tax. Confirm the current terms in the governing documents and application instructions; 75 percent financing, no transfer fee and a pied-à-terre policy are the building's strongest argument.
None of that is published by the corporation. Financing ceilings, post-closing liquidity expectations, sublet seasoning and any restriction on purchases by trusts or limited liability companies are set by the board and change without notice. Get them in writing from the managing agent before you make an offer, and read the proprietary lease and current house rules rather than a listing summary.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
32 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Additional Processing FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $200 if there is a 2nd Applicant or Guarantor | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $700 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to managementRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report Rerun FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant (if required for time due) | Refundable Not stated |
| Dog Trainer FeeConditionalConditions: If applicant has a pet, the dog trainer will need to meet with applicant and their dogPaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| LL58 Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-In FeePaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $2,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Package Resubmission FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $150 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Rush Package Review FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-Out FeePaid to the building | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $2,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Adjournment Fee - applies to closings cancelled within 48 hours before the scheduled closing. After office hours, holidays and weekends do not count towards the 48 hours.ConditionalPayable by Buyer or SellerPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When Before closing | Amount $500.00 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Expedited Closing Fee within 7 business days of receiving both the new closing documents and approval to closeConditionalConditions: In-office (if available) or remote; If applicable; Whichever comes later not including weekends or holidaysPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When Before closing | Amount $500.00 (if applicable) (paid by Buyer or Seller) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Expedited Closing FeeConditionalConditions: Within 10 business days of approvalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When Before closing | Amount $500 (if applicable) (paid by Buyer or Seller) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Financing FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When Before closing | Amount $400.00 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Power of Attorney Review FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When Before closing | Amount $200.00 per power of attorney (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Adjournment Fee - applies to closings cancelled within 48 hours before the scheduled closing. After office hours, holidays and weekends do not count towards the 48 hours.ConditionalPayable by Buyer or SellerPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $500.00 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing FeePaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $850 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing FeeConditionalConditions: Closing in another location, mail closingPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $1,100 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Estate Sale FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $500.00 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Expedited Closing Fee within 7 business days of receiving both the new closing documents and approval to closeConditionalConditions: In-office (if available) or remote; If applicable; Whichever comes later not including weekends or holidaysPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $500 (if applicable) (paid by Buyer or Seller) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Expedited Closing FeeConditionalConditions: Within 10 business days of approvalPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $500.00 (if applicable) (paid by Buyer or Seller) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Lost Stock & Lease FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $600.00 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Power of Attorney Review FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $200.00 per power of attorney (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Additional Closing FeeConditionalConditions: WITHOUT a Bank Attorney PresentPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500, if applicable | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing Overtime Fee - paid by Buyer or SellerConditional · Per hourConditions: If applicablePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $250.00 per hour after 2 hours from scheduled time ($250.00 minimum) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Estate Transfer Additional Closing FeeConditionalConditions: WITHOUT the attorney presentPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $200, if applicable | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Postponement FeeConditionalConditions: Less than 48 Hours' NoticePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500, if applicable | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Trust Transfer Additional Closing FeeConditionalConditions: WITHOUT the attorney presentPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $200, if applicable | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Undertaking FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $100 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing Overtime Fee - paid by Buyer or SellerConditional · Per hourConditions: If applicablePaid to management | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $250.00 per hour after 2 hours from scheduled time ($250.00 minimum) | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When At move-out and move-in | Amount $2,000 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-Out DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Seller | When At move-out and move-in | Amount $2,000 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet
13 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $650 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to managementRequired | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report Rerun FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant (if required for time due) | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-In FeePaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $2,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-Out FeePaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $2,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Package Resubmission FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Rush Package Review FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Additional Processing FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $200 if there is a 2nd Applicant or Guarantor | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Dog Trainer FeeConditionalConditions: If applicant has a pet, the dog trainer will need to meet with applicant and their dogPaid to the building | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-Out DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When At move-out and move-in | Amount $2,000 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-In DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Subtenant | When At move-out and move-in | Amount $2,000 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Package Resubmission FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Refinance
8 items
Management's “less refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Package Resubmission FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Rush Package Review FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to managementRequired | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report Rerun FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant (if required for time due) | Refundable Not stated |
| Package Resubmission FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Rush Package Review FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
Alteration
2 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alteration Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Resident | When Upon approval | Amount Decorative $50, Standard $1000, Major $2500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alteration Security DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Resident | When Upon approval | Amount Equal to 10% of the total contracted work price or $5000, whichever is greater | Refundable Refundable |
Ownership transfer
7 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Estate TransferConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| LL58 Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Name change/spouse add/removalConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Transfer into a TrustConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Transfer to a Family Member and a Third PartyConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing Fee for all TransfersPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $850 | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase priceSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Not verified
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Dogs and cats
- Permitted with conditionsPermitted — cats and dogs, with a weight limit around 50 pounds reported in management-sourced records; confirm the current house ruleSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $678 per room a monthMedian of 11 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $2.55 per square foot a monthMedian of 3 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Roof deck, bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $42,758/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $35
- Modeled exposure split equally across 103 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Recent sales
336 West End Avenue offers prewar architecture and a roof deck; compare its pricing with dated sales of apartments with similar layouts, exposures, condition and carrying costs. Pricing separates along three axes here — floor and outlook, whether the apartment is an original line or a combination, and condition, since renovation histories can differ substantially within a building converted in 1972. Room count can help compare layouts, while verified interior area, usable proportions, light and condition also matter; neither a per-room nor a per-square-foot figure should stand alone. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jan 20, 2026 | 14F | 1 BA | $350,000 | +0.0% | |
| Oct 22, 2025 | 7CD | 4 BR · 3 BA | $2,735,000 | -1.4% | |
| Jul 30, 2025 | 2A | 2 BR · 2 BA | $1,460,000 | +0.7% | |
| Feb 3, 2025 | 5E | 1 BR · 1 BA · 900 sf | $600,000 | $667/sf | +0.2% |
| Dec 17, 2024 | 10E | 1 BR · 1 BA · 850 sf | $825,000 | $971/sf | +0.0% |
| Sep 26, 2024 | 6E | 1 BR · 1 BA | $975,000 | +0.0% | |
| Jun 21, 2024 | 6F | 1 BA | $435,000 | +1.2% | |
| Jun 17, 2024 | 15A | 3 BR · 3 BA | $4,000,000 | +3.9% |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2025): a median $723/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 2.5% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01167-0061). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 336 West End Avenue and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $825K (5 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 21, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $11,644 to close, or 1.4% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $11,644
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with 336 West End Avenue and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 336 West End Avenue. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Underwrite the gas and heating-plant project first. It is the largest open item in the building's file. Ask for the board minutes and the current budget, and ask specifically whether an assessment has been levied or is contemplated.
Test the no-flip-tax report. It is a meaningful number on a resale and it is reported rather than documented. Confirm it with the managing agent in writing, and confirm whether the corporation has adopted any capital contribution in its place.
The board package is the transaction. Financing is reported at 75 percent, but a board can approve a purchase at less. Assemble the package for a prewar Upper West Side board: two years of returns, verified liquid assets after closing, reference letters, and a debt-to-income presentation that survives the managing agent's screen before it reaches the directors. Run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator before you offer.
Landmark status governs the windows. Any exterior work — window replacement included — needs a Landmarks permit and board consent. Price a window replacement into a renovation budget rather than assuming it.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the policy stack. Financing at 75 percent, pets, pied-à-terre, subletting and no reported flip tax widen your buyer pool against most of the corridor. Say so plainly in the marketing rather than burying it.
Document the combination. If your apartment is a combination, produce the DOB job number and sign-off. Buyers' attorneys ask, and an undocumented combination slows a deal or reprices it.
Time around the capital work. A live gas and heating-plant project is a question every buyer's attorney will ask. Have the managing agent's written answer ready on day one rather than discovering it at contract.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 336 West End Avenue, also evaluate:
- 330 West End Avenue — the 1917 co-op immediately south on the same block; converted 1981, a decade after 336
- 320 West End Avenue — Rosario Candela's 1924 co-op at the 75th Street end of the block; the corridor's architectural step-up
- 610 West End Avenue — a 1910 co-op further north on the avenue; older stock, larger prewar layouts
- 498 West End Avenue — a 1911–12 prewar converted to condominium; the condominium alternative on the corridor
- 595 West End Avenue — a 1922–23 prewar converted to condominium in 2007
- 817 West End Avenue — a 1909–10 building converted to condominium in 2007, at the corridor's northern end
- 2138 Broadway — a 1924 co-op one block east; Broadway frontage rather than avenue quiet
- 216 West 76th Street — new-construction condominium on the same side street; the modern alternative
- 235 West 75th Street — prewar converted to condominium a block south
More West End Avenue buildings
- 325 West End Avenue — 1916 co-op by Neville & Bagge
- 330 West End Avenue — 1917 co-op
- 333 West End Avenue — 1925 co-op by Emery Roth
- 375 West End Avenue — 1912 co-op by Schwartz & Gross
- 378 West End Avenue — 1915 condominium by COOKFOX Architects
- 393 West End Avenue — 1927 condominium by CetraRuddy Architects
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across West End Avenue — read The Roebling Team Guide to West End Avenue.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 336 West End Avenue?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com