349 East 49th Street (Beekman Court)
349 East 49th Street, New York, NY 10017
BBL 1013420023 · BIN 1039468
- Year built
- 1940
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 103
- Floors
- 6
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase price
- Doorman
- Doorman (hours not stated)
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2026 to date
- $822
- floor-adjusted, 3 sales
- Listing discount
- 2.0%
- Recorded sales
- 111
- On record
- 2003–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Beekman Court would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
Beekman Court is Turtle Bay's pre-war workhorse: a 1940 Art Deco apartment house of roughly 105 units filling the First Avenue end of the East 49th Street block, two blocks from the United Nations and a block from the Beekman Place enclave whose name it borrows. The building is the affordable pre-war entry to a corridor otherwise defined by white-glove addresses — buyers get J. M. Felson's architecture, sunken living rooms, and nine-foot-plus ceilings at pricing that the co-ops of Beekman Place itself left behind decades ago.
The architecture rewards attention. Felson — a prolific apartment-house designer also known for his 1930s theater work — broke the long 49th Street facade into three sections around landscaped lightwells, capped the outer pavilions with pediment roofs, and dressed the red brick with quoins and oversized stone window surrounds at the base. This is late Deco built for the middle market and built well; the landscaped lightwells mean side-facing units get real light, not airshaft gloom.
The ownership history is unusually well documented in our files. The cooperative conversion ran through an April 1982 offering plan sponsored by 34949 Realty Corp. — the complete plan, including the proprietary lease, by-laws, building condition reports, and the tenants' association engineer's report, is on file in The Roebling Research Library, along with the separately filed twenty-fourth amendment of December 9, 2015. That December 2015 amendment reported resident board control since September 1989 and a single remaining unsold-share apartment held by a successor entity. Those are dated disclosures; obtain current board and shareholder records before treating either as today's position.
Architecture and unit composition
The building runs six stories across a 225-foot frontage, with the parcel wrapping toward the First Avenue corner and a retail base of roughly 9,000 square feet along the avenue per city records. The roughly 105 apartments run from studios through two-bedrooms, with combinations creating larger units over the years. The pre-war kit is intact in most lines: foyers, hardwood floors, windowed kitchens and baths, ceilings above nine feet, and the sunken living rooms that mark the building's better units. Sixth-floor apartments trade on sky and treetop views over the low Turtle Bay blocks. There is no garage and no amenity floor; the product is the apartment itself.
Building operations
This is a doorman co-op run to pre-war norms: canopied entrance, basement storage, central laundry-era infrastructure, and a managing agent handling day-to-day operations. The policy framework is moderate rather than restrictive — pets, pieds-à-terre, and diplomats are permitted per brokerage records, the latter a practical accommodation to the UN community that anchors the neighborhood. Subletting is permitted but disciplined: two years in any five, one-year terms with board review for renewal, and a 10 percent-of-annual-maintenance fee per brokerage records. The 1982 offering plan and the 2015 twenty-fourth amendment (with certified financial statements for 2012–2014) are on file in The Roebling Research Library; current financials should be requested through the managing agent during diligence.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
12 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Additional Unit SaleSame parties, same documents, same closing | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $200 per applicant/occupant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Estate Unit SaleConditional | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $1150 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Individual Unit Sale | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $750 | Refundable Not stated |
| Package Reproduction Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $195 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Replacement of Lost Stock Certificate or Lease Upon SaleConditionalEach | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $325 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Adjournment of ClosingConditionalConditions: At closing or less than 48 hour prior notice | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing two hours or more, an additional chargeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $300 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Flip TaxPer share | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $2.50 per share | Refundable Not stated |
| Recognition Agreement | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $450 | Refundable Not stated |
| Flip TaxPer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $2.50 per share | Refundable Not stated |
Sublet
3 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount 200 per applicant | Refundable Not stated |
Sublet renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $225 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Refinance
3 items
Management's “less refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $200 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsRestrictedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $492 per room a monthMedian of 6 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $2.20 per square foot a monthMedian of 3 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Doorman (hours not stated)Source: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- Per unit / month range
- —
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 4, 2026 | 2K | 1 BR · 1 BA · 540 sf | $450,000 | $833/sf | -3.2% |
| Jul 23, 2026 | 5G | 2 BR · 2 BA | $980,000 | -6.7% | |
| Feb 13, 2026 | 2B | 1 BR · 1 BA · 700 sf | $495,000 | $707/sf | -0.8% |
| Jan 7, 2026 | 6P | 1 BR · 1 BA · 800 sf | $600,000 | $750/sf | +0.2% |
| Sep 25, 2025 | 6L | 1 BR · 1 BA | $520,000 | +1.0% | |
| Nov 14, 2024 | 6A | 1 BA | $335,000 | -8.2% | |
| Nov 13, 2024 | 4L | 1 BR · 1 BA | $498,000 | +0.0% | |
| Oct 23, 2024 | 5J | 1 BA · 525 sf | $280,000 | $533/sf | -6.4% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $822/sf (floor-adjusted) across 3 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 2.0% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Other recent transfers
| Date | Unit | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Dec 10, 2009 | 4C | $385,000 |
| Dec 10, 2009 | 4E | $735,000 |
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01342-0023). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at Beekman Court and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $498K (7 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 25, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $10,418 to close, or 2.1% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $10,418
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with Beekman Court and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Beekman Court. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
This is the pre-war value play in a prestige pocket. A block from Beekman Place, two from the UN, with Felson architecture and genuine pre-war proportions — at pricing far below the corridor's white-glove stock. If the Beekman Place co-ops are out of range, this is the structurally sensible alternative, not a consolation.
Underwrite the sublet math honestly. Two years in any five with board review is workable for a sabbatical or a relocation, not for an investment strategy. Buyers needing rental flexibility should compare condop and condo alternatives before committing. Run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator before offering.
The diplomat policy is a feature of the micro-market. UN adjacency shapes this neighborhood's buyer and renter pools, and brokerage records describe the building as open to diplomatic purchasers. Confirm that policy, and the board's current financing, occupancy and subletting requirements, from the governing documents and application instructions.
Verify the financing ceiling and fee stack. Financing is permitted with major lenders approved, but the maximum percentage and any flip tax are not firmly documented publicly. Your attorney should confirm both against the by-laws and the managing agent — we provide the offering plan and amendment from the Research Library as the baseline.
Walk the block at both ends. The First Avenue end carries retail activity and UN-related traffic patterns (including periodic General Assembly security closures each fall); mid-block is markedly quieter. Line selection within the building should follow the same logic.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the architecture. Felson, 1940, the three-pavilion facade, the lobby, the sunken living room — this building has a real design story in a tier where most competing listings have none. Use it with precision.
Position against Turtle Bay's full spread. Your buyer is cross-shopping pre-war co-ops from Tudor City to the Beekman fringe. The pitch is the block: closer to the river and the UN gardens than Second Avenue stock, at a discount to anything carrying a Beekman Place address.
Documentation accelerates deals here. Because we hold the offering plan and amendment history, serious buyers' attorneys get answers fast — board control history, by-laws, and conversion terms — which shortens the contract timeline. Price with the Seller Closing Cost Calculator before listing.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 349 East 49th Street, also evaluate:
- 1 Beekman Place — the corridor's blue-chip pre-war co-op; the prestige ceiling a block east
- 2 Beekman Place — boutique pre-war Beekman alternative
- 415 East 52nd Street (Sutton House) — full-service post-war co-op; the step-up in scale and services
- 860 United Nations Plaza and 870 United Nations Plaza — the modernist co-op towers over the East River; the view-driven alternative
- 2 Tudor City Place and 25 Tudor City Place — Tudor City residential alternatives south of 43rd Street; compare their individual construction eras, ownership forms and apartment characteristics
- 321 East 45th Street — pre-war Turtle Bay co-op stock in the same value tier
- 430 East 58th Street (Sutton Tower) — the new-development condo alternative north of the corridor
More Midtown East buildings
- 342 East 53rd Street — 1958 co-op
- 343 East 50th Street (M at Beekman) — 1900 condominium
- 345 East 52nd Street — 1959 co-op by Leo Stillman
- 351 East 51st Street — 2000 condominium
- Beekman, 401 East 51st Street — condominium by Selldorf Architects (design); SLCE Architects (architect of record)
- 425 East 51st Street (Beekman Hill House) — 1930 co-op
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Midtown East — read The Roebling Team Guide to Midtown East.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at Beekman Court?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com