Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfHell's Kitchen $1,328/sf ▴0%
Full index →
40 Bond Street, 40 Bond Street, New York, NY 10012, Manhattan — Condominium, 2007
Photo: Beyond My Ken / CC BY-SA 4.0 · via Wikimedia Commons
Buildings·NoHo·Condominium

40 Bond Street

40 Bond Street, New York, NY 10012

NoHo

BBL 1005307505 · BIN 1008495

At a glance
Year built
2007
Type
Condominium
Units
33
Floors
11
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; in the NoHo Historic District Extension
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
Leasing by owners
Permitted with conditions
Pied-à-terre
Permitted
Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
Washer/dryer
Permitted
Doorman
Full-time doorman

40 Bond Street sales history: 61 recorded sales

Own an apartment at 40 Bond Street?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
Board & building profile
Financing
No financing cap — unit owner may mortgage with any lender in any amount (subject to standard By-Law conditions). Condo baseline.
Subletting
Leasing permitted (condominium); Board/association review applies. Short-term rentals and AirBnB are not permitted.
Pied-à-terre
Permitted.
Washer / dryer
Permitted in-unit.
Pets
Permitted, subject to Board approval.
Co-purchasing
Parents purchasing for children permitted.
Guarantors
Permitted.
Tax status
Historical: Sponsor applied for Section 421-a partial tax exemption (construction commenced 2005-06; mini-tax based on 2004/05 assessed value). 421-a benefit period was limited and is very likely expired — verify current status before publishing.

Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2026). Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.

The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2007–2026

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2026 to date
$3,583
floor-adjusted, 1 sale
Listing discount
6.9%
Recorded sales
61
On record
2007–2026
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 40 Bond Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

40 Bond Street is Herzog & de Meuron's first US residential project — and Pritzker-winning Swiss firm's only NYC residential of this scale.

Everything starts with the Herzog & de Meuron pedigree — the Pritzker-winning Swiss firm's first US residential commission, its facade "a reinvention of the cast-iron building found through NoHo and SoHo." That reinvention reaches the street in the building's most photographed feature, a 140-foot cast-aluminum graffiti gate that answers the surrounding cityscape. The developer believed in the result enough to move in: in an Ian Schrager developer-as-owner vote of confidence, Schrager bought the triplex penthouse in June 2008.

Architecture and building operations

Designed 2004-2005, realized 2006-2007 (Herzog & de Meuron project archive). The facade is "a reinvention of the cast-iron building found through NoHo and SoHo" (Herzog & de Meuron). Bottle-green glass mullions in a bell-shaped grid frame the floor-to-ceiling windows on upper floors. The street wall is a 140-foot graffiti-inspired cast aluminum gate — a sculptural reference to the urban context. The slab and column are reinforced concrete clad in "gently curved glass covers."

Operations: 24-hour doorman/concierge; live-in superintendent; valet parking; fitness center; garden; refrigerated lobby storage; individual storage; in-unit washer-dryers; fireplaces (in select); terraces; full-service garage.

Policy framework

  • Type: Condominium
  • Pets: Permitted
  • Pied-à-terre: Permitted
  • Subletting: Permitted under condo ROFR
  • LLC/trust/foreign buyers: All permitted
  • Right of first refusal: Procedural only
  • Flip tax: None

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Purchase

8 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $700 ($750 without a Broker)Refundable Non-refundable
Background Check FeePer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $100 per applicant/occupantRefundable Non-refundable
Credit Check FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $75 per applicant/occupant (LLC required to submit fee for business credit check - if applicable)Refundable Non-refundable
Messenger FeesPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $65Refundable Non-refundable
Transaction FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $2,500Refundable Non-refundable
Closing Document Preparation FeePaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Non-refundable
Transaction FeePaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $2,500Refundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-In DepositPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $2,500Refundable Refundable

Rental or lease

8 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Annual Condo Lease FeeRecurringPaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount $600 per year of the lease (multiple year leases must pay all condo lese fees upfront)Refundable Non-refundable
Application Processing FeePaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $700 (with Broker), $750 (without a Broker)Refundable Non-refundable
Background Check FeePer applicantPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $100 per applicant/occupantRefundable Non-refundable
Credit Check FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $75 per applicant/occupant (LLC required to submit fee for business credit check - if applicable)Refundable Non-refundable
Transaction FeePaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $2,500Refundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-In DepositPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Refundable

Lease renewal

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Annual Lease FeeRecurringPaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount $600Refundable Non-refundable
Lease Renewal FeePaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Non-refundable

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Financing and purchase requirements

Guarantors
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Parent buying for an employed child
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Parent buying for a student child
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Purchase or lease by a corporation
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Leasing by owners
Permitted with conditionsSee below for policy.Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Pied-à-terre ownership
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Short-term rentals
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
In-unit washer/dryer
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Common charges + taxes, per room
$1,659 per room a monthMedian of 5 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Common charges + taxes, per square foot
$3.63 per square foot a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Common charges alone, per square foot
$2.18 per square foot a monthMedian of 3 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
Real estate taxes alone, per square foot
$1.51 per square foot a monthMedian of 3 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026

Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. The split into common charges and taxes comes from the listings that also give the annual tax, a different sample, so the two lines need not add up exactly to the combined median; a tax abatement can hold taxes below the full amount until it expires. A summary of recorded sales and listings, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Concierge
YesSource: recent listing records
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Valet
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Fitness room, garage, cold storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$34,357/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $110
Modeled exposure split equally across 26 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.
At the 33 residences in our building profile: $0 – $87. The two counts differ; confirm the count with the building.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
SWARMP
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the engineer identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.

Inspection history
2010–15
SWARMP
2015–20
Safe
2020–25
SWARMP
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2028
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — the licensed engineer the city requires to sign the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Management & transfer contacts

Managing agent
Sublet policy
Allowed; owner of 2+ units may not lease/occupy more than one simultaneously without Board consent
Pied-à-terre
Allowed
Notable fees
Condo lease fee $600 per year of lease (paid upfront for multi-year)
Transfer facts compiled by The Roebling Team · as of 2026-07. Confirm current policies and fees with the managing agent before contract.

Recent sales

Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Aug 17, 20266D
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,269 sf
$4,775,000$3,763/sf-3.5%
Dec 16, 20244B
2 BR · 1,382 sf
$5,000,000$3,618/sf+0.0%
Apr 12, 20246B
2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,382 sf
$5,525,000$3,998/sf-4.7%
Dec 27, 20235B
2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,382 sf
$6,022,425$4,358/sf+2.1%
May 15, 20236A
3 BR · 3.5 BA · 2,617 sf
$7,750,000$2,961/sf-6.6%
Jun 3, 2022TH
3 BR · 4 BA · 3,750 sf
$8,400,000$2,240/sf-6.1%
Nov 15, 20214B
2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,382 sf
$4,300,000$3,111/sf-1.8%
Dec 18, 20204C
3 BR · 3.5 BA · 2,637 sf
$5,750,000$2,181/sf-17.8%

Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $3,583/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 6.9% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

6D · 1,269 sf+134%
$2,036,500 ($1,605/sf) 2009 → $2,995,000 ($2,360/sf) 2017 → $4,775,000 ($3,763/sf) 2026
5B · 1,382 sf+86%
$3,232,943 ($2,339/sf) 2007 → $4,000,000 ($2,894/sf) 2018 → $3,922,000 ($2,838/sf) 2019 → $6,022,425 ($4,358/sf) 2023
TH1 · 3,739 sf+70%
$7,950,000 ($2,126/sf) 2007 → $13,500,000 ($3,611/sf) 2014
9B · 2,076 sf+56%
$5,447,637 ($2,624/sf) 2007 → $5,632,000 ($2,713/sf) 2011 → $8,500,000 ($4,094/sf) 2017
6B · 1,382 sf+55%
$3,563,875 ($2,579/sf) 2007 → $5,525,000 ($3,998/sf) 2024
View all 61 recorded sales, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00530-7505). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 40 Bond Street and nearby.

Buying here? Condo closing costs with a mortgage typically run 3 to 6% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with 40 Bond Street and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 40 Bond Street. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

The Herzog & de Meuron Pritzker-winning architectural pedigree is real institutional context. Firm's first US residential project.

The 140-foot cast-aluminum graffiti gate is structurally distinguishing.

The Ian Schrager developer-as-owner anchor is real institutional context.

The 33-unit configuration (27 + 5 townhouses + crown penthouse) is structurally varied.

The bottle-green glass mullion grid is real architectural-history credential.

The building's published architectural reception is marketable institutional context.

Comparable buildings


Sources: The Roebling Research Library (offering plans, house rules, financial statements, board minutes, internal transaction records); NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers; publicly recorded NYC building data.

More NoHo buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across NoHo — read The Roebling Team Guide to NoHo.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at 40 Bond Street?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com