410 Central Park West
410 Central Park West, New York, NY 10025
Manhattan Valley, Upper West Side
BBL 1018360036 · BIN 1055302
- Year built
- 1929
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 97
- Floors
- 16
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- 1% of the purchase price, paid by the seller
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2026 to date
- $907
- floor-adjusted, 2 sales
- Listing discount
- 1.5%
- Recorded sales
- 98
- On record
- 2003–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 410 Central Park West would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
Central Park West is a continuous parkfront corridor from 59th Street to 110th, and its economics change sharply north of 96th. 410 Central Park West sits at 101st Street, in Manhattan Valley, four blocks past the point where the historic district ends and roughly eight blocks past the point where trophy-tier pricing does. What a buyer gets for that geography is a 1929 corner building with direct park frontage, protected eastern outlooks over the reservoir end of the park, and a co-op structure with a modest flip tax — at a price that is not competing with the twin-towered Deco buildings in the seventies and eighties.
The architecture is credible rather than famous. Margon & Holder were prolific west-side apartment architects in the late 1920s and early 1930s, with work in the Riverside–West End historic districts and on West 86th, West 90th and West 72nd Streets, and they were architects of record on the building that replaced the original El Dorado. 410 Central Park West is a 1929 corner design from the same practice and the same moment, filed on a 1928 new-building application. It is not landmarked, which is genuinely useful: façade, window and mechanical work here proceeds without Landmarks review, at a lower cost and on a shorter schedule than the same work six blocks south.
The corporation is small and old-fashioned in a way that matters. Catcendix Corp. has 6,407 shares outstanding across 97 original apartments, which makes per-share arithmetic legible in a way it is not in a thousand-share-per-apartment building. The flip tax is 1 percent, at the low end for a prewar co-op. The board takes July and August off. The statements through 2020 report a fully depreciated building, an accumulated deficit and designated reserve balances. Depreciation and an accounting deficit do not establish financial health or how all capital work was funded; read current cash, debt, reserves and capital obligations together.
The one thing that has changed since our most recent statements is the biggest thing on this page, and it is in the next section.
Architecture and unit composition
Sixteen floors of prewar masonry on a 7,567-square-foot corner lot, roughly 100,500 square feet of building — a compact footprint carried tall, at more than twice a simple comparison with today's residential FAR, which does not establish legal zoning floor area or permitted future work. Two elevators serve 97 original apartments, but the building-area and original-unit totals do not establish apartment sizes or the current studio mix; obtain unit plans and the current apartment roster.
The corporation's own financial statements record that several apartments have since been combined, and Department of Buildings filings at this address confirm the pattern, including a documented merge of two lettered apartments on the top floor. As in most prewar buildings with a combination history, the practical consequence is that "a two-bedroom at 410" describes at least two different products — an original line and an assembled one — and the two do not price alike.
Eastern and southeastern exposures above the treeline carry the park view that is the building's principal asset. West 101st Street lines look out over Manhattan Valley's lower-rise blocks.
Building operations
Tax history. The Department of Finance J-51 record shows three grants at this lot: a token benefit initiated in 1979 against $2,600 of qualifying cost, a substantial one initiated in 1985 against roughly $205,700, and a third initiated in 2004 against roughly $68,600 — each a 90 percent abatement running twelve years, extended to fourteen for the later grants. The 1979 grant expired in 1990 and the 1985 grant in 1996; the 2004 grant ran through tax year 2015 and the record ends there. There is no J-51 benefit today and no building-wide exemption on the lot. The only exemptions on the assessment roll are individual shareholder benefits, which the corporation receives and passes through to eligible shareholders.
There is a wrinkle here worth knowing. The audited financial statements record that in recent years the corporation levied operating assessments in amounts approximately equal to the real estate tax abatements it distributes to eligible shareholders. In other words, the abatement is credited to those who qualify and an offsetting assessment is billed across the building. A buyer comparing a maintenance figure against a building that does not do this is not comparing like with like. The corporation also protests its assessed valuation annually and has instituted tax certiorari proceedings against the City.
Management-sourced records carry a further, specific warning: transferring an apartment into a trust can suspend or forfeit eligibility for the co-op and condominium property tax abatement unless the trust and its beneficiaries are properly registered with the Department of Finance. Anyone contemplating trust ownership here should have counsel address it before closing, not after.
Debt — the open question. The corporation refinanced in 2016 into a first mortgage of $5,600,000, interest only at 3.65 percent, with monthly payments of $17,033 and a stated maturity of April 1, 2026, secured by the land and building, alongside a $1,000,000 revolving line of credit co-terminus with the note and undrawn at the most recent year-end on file. That mortgage matured in April 2026. The audited financial statements in The Roebling Research Library run only through 2020, so we do not hold the refinancing terms. This is the first question a buyer should ask and the first document a buyer's attorney should request: what replaced a $5.6 million interest-only note at 3.65 percent, at what rate, on what amortization, and with what effect on maintenance. Because the prior note was interest-only, no principal was retired against it — the full $5.6 million came due.
Reserves and capital work. Designated reserve cash and certificates of deposit together exceeded $1.6 million at the most recent year-end on file, against a building carried at cost and fully depreciated. The corporation has no reserve study; the board reviews building systems periodically and repairs as needed, which the auditors flag.
Recent capital work on file includes a roof water tank replacement, a service-entrance elevator lift, entrance and vestibule restoration, valve replacement, elevator door-lock monitoring, and roof section replacement following leak investigation. The one assessment on record was levied July 1, 2018 in the amount of $250,000 to part-fund a gas riser replacement, billed over thirty months and completed at the end of 2020, with the balance of that project funded from cash reserves. On the record we hold, this building funds capital work from reserves and short assessments rather than from debt — but that record ends in 2020.
Building staff are covered by a Building Service 32BJ collective bargaining agreement.
Policy framework
Ownership form: Cooperative. Full board package and interview; the board has broad discretion, limited by federal, state and city law and its own authority. Allow for the July–August board recess — a June contract can easily become a September closing. NYC Local Law 58 of 2026 now imposes acknowledgment and decision deadlines on co-op boards, but the recess period may toll them.
Financing: Not published by the cooperative. Listing records report 20 percent minimum down. Confirm the actual cap with the managing agent before you write an offer, because the gap between a 20 percent and a 25 percent requirement decides deals.
Post-closing liquidity: Not published. Boards at this tier commonly want liquid assets after closing equal to one to two years of maintenance and mortgage payments. Ask before offering.
Subletting: Permitted with board approval. The sublet fee is $1 per share on approval and on each renewal, and a refundable escrow of two months' maintenance is required at submission. On 6,407 shares across 97 apartments the per-share fee is a modest number — but the seasoning requirement and any term cap are unpublished, and a permissive fee schedule is not the same as a permissive board.
Pied-à-terre: Reported permitted in market records; undocumented in anything on file. Verify.
Trusts and LLCs: Trust transfers are plainly contemplated — the management fee schedule carries an explicit transfer-into-trust fee — and ACRIS shows completed conveyances at this lot involving multiple related and unrelated parties. The abatement consequence described above is the reason to involve counsel early. LLC purchase is a separate question and is not addressed anywhere on file.
Flip tax: 1 percent of the sale price, seller-paid. Confirmed in the corporation's audited financial statements and in the management-sourced fee schedule.
Alterations: An alteration agreement is on file in The Roebling Research Library, with refundable security deposits scaled by project type. Decorative work carries the smallest deposit; standard and major alterations carry more.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- 1% of purchase or sale price
- Rate
- 1% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Purchase
29 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Additional Processing FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $200 if there is a 2nd Applicant or Guarantor | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to managementRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report Rerun FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant (if required for time due) | Refundable Not stated |
| LL58 Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Package Resubmission FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $150 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $700 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Rush Package Review FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Move In FeePaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When At move-out and move-in | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move Out FeePaid to the building | Paid by Seller | When At move-out and move-in | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Adjournment Fee - applies to closings cancelled within 48 hours before the scheduled closing. After office hours, holidays and weekends do not count towards the 48 hours.ConditionalPayable by Buyer or SellerPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When Before closing | Amount $500.00 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Expedited Closing Fee within 7 business days of receiving both the new closing documents and approval to closeConditionalConditions: In-office (if available) or remote; If applicable; Whichever comes later not including weekends or holidaysPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When Before closing | Amount $500.00 (if applicable) (paid by Buyer or Seller) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Financing FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When Before closing | Amount $400.00 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Power of Attorney Review FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When Before closing | Amount $200.00 per power of attorney (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Adjournment Fee - applies to closings cancelled within 48 hours before the scheduled closing. After office hours, holidays and weekends do not count towards the 48 hours.ConditionalPayable by Buyer or SellerPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $500.00 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing FeePaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $850 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing FeeConditionalConditions: Closing in another location, mail closingPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $1,100 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Estate Sale FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $500.00 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Expedited Closing Fee within 7 business days of receiving both the new closing documents and approval to closeConditionalConditions: In-office (if available) or remote; If applicable; Whichever comes later not including weekends or holidaysPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $500.00 (if applicable) (paid by Buyer or Seller) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Lost Stock & Lease FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $600.00 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Power of Attorney Review FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $200.00 per power of attorney (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Additional Closing FeeConditionalConditions: WITHOUT a Bank Attorney PresentPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500, if applicable | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing Overtime Fee - paid by Buyer or SellerConditional · Per hourConditions: If applicablePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $250.00 per hour after 2 hours from scheduled time ($250.00 minimum) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Estate Transfer Additional Closing FeeConditionalConditions: WITHOUT the attorney presentPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $200, if applicable | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move In FeePaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Postponement FeeConditionalConditions: Less than 48 Hours' NoticePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500, if applicable | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Trust Transfer Additional Closing FeeConditionalConditions: WITHOUT the attorney presentPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $200, if applicable | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Undertaking FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $100 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing Overtime Fee - paid by Buyer or SellerConditional · Per hourConditions: If applicablePaid to management | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $250.00 per hour after 2 hours from scheduled time ($250.00 minimum) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move Out FeePaid to the building | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Sublet
14 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move Out FeePaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Rush Package Review FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Additional Processing FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $200 if there is a 2nd Applicant or Guarantor | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to managementRequired | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report Rerun FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to management | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant (if required for time due) | Refundable Not stated |
| Package Resubmission FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $150 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $650 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move In FeePaid to the building | Paid by Subtenant | When At move-out and move-in | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Sublet FeePer sharePaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount $1 per share | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Escrow FeePaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Equivalent to two (2) months' maintenance | Refundable Not stated |
| Move Out DepositConditionalPaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When At move-out and move-in | Amount $500 (if apartment is not vacant) | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Package Resubmission FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Sublet FeePer sharePaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount $1 per share | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
8 items
Management's “less refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Package Resubmission FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Rush Package Review FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to managementRequired | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report Rerun FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant (if required for time due) | Refundable Not stated |
| Package Resubmission FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Rush Package Review FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
Alteration
1 item
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alteration Security DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Resident | When Upon approval | Amount Decorative $1000, Standard $2500, Major $2500 | Refundable Refundable |
Ownership transfer
7 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Estate TransferConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| LL58 Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Name change/spouse add/removalConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Transfer into a TrustConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Transfer to a Family Member and a Third PartyConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing Fee for all TransfersPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $850 | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase priceSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $450 per room a monthMedian of 9 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $1.71 per square foot a monthMedian of 7 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: recent listing records
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $28,644/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $24
- Modeled exposure split equally across 99 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Recent sales
The comparable set for 410 Central Park West is the parkfront buildings between 96th and 110th Streets — 400, 415, 420 and 441 Central Park West, whose tenure and purchase requirements should be checked individually — and secondarily the prewar co-ops a block or two west in Manhattan Valley. It is not the Deco trophy inventory of the seventies and eighties; that market has a different buyer and a different carrying-cost structure.
Within the building, the spread that matters is park-facing versus street-facing, and original versus combined. Above the treeline on the east side, the outlook is over the park — the building's main asset, though views vary by floor and none is protected without a recorded instrument. On the West 101st Street elevation, the argument is space and light rather than view, and pricing should reflect that plainly. The 1 percent flip tax and the permitted in-unit washer/dryer both work in a seller's favour relative to stricter buildings nearby. The unresolved mortgage refinancing is the item most likely to move a monthly figure between now and the next set of audited statements. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apr 20, 2026 | 3C | 1 BR · 1 BA · 689 sf | $630,000 | $914/sf | -2.9% |
| Feb 20, 2026 | 1E | 1 BR · 1 BA · 750 sf | $675,000 | $900/sf | -3.4% |
| May 2, 2025 | 1D2D | 3 BR · 2 BA · 1,700 sf | $1,775,000 | $1,044/sf | -1.1% |
| Feb 19, 2025 | 7D | 1 BR · 1 BA · 800 sf | $715,000 | $894/sf | -2.7% |
| May 29, 2024 | 9B | 2 BR · 1.5 BA | $1,440,000 | -0.7% | |
| Feb 20, 2024 | 5EF | 3 BR · 1,350 sf | $1,315,000 | $974/sf | -6.0% |
| Dec 18, 2023 | 15C | 1 BR · 1 BA | $650,000 | +0.0% | |
| Oct 25, 2023 | 16D | 1 BR · 750 sf | $770,000 | $1,027/sf | -3.6% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $907/sf (floor-adjusted) across 2 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 1.5% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Other recent transfers
| Date | Unit | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Nov 14, 2003 | 14A | $849,000 |
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01836-0036). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 410 Central Park West and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $695K (4 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 22, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $11,156 to close, or 1.6% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $11,156
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with 410 Central Park West and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 410 Central Park West. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Ask about the mortgage first. A $5.6 million interest-only note at 3.65 percent matured in April 2026. Nothing else on this page will affect your monthly as much as what replaced it. Request the current mortgage documents and the most recent audited financial statements through your attorney.
Understand the abatement-and-assessment mechanic. The corporation distributes tax abatements to eligible shareholders and levies an offsetting operating assessment. Compare maintenance figures between buildings only after you understand how each one handles this.
Raise the trust question before closing, not after. Management's own guidance is that a transfer into trust can suspend or forfeit the co-op and condominium tax abatement unless the trust is properly registered with the Department of Finance.
Plan around the summer recess. No board decisions in July or August. A contract signed in late spring should assume a September board date.
There is no abatement left on the building. The last J-51 grant was consumed in tax year 2015, so nothing is scheduled to step up; taxes still change with assessments and rates.
Confirm the financing cap in writing. The building does not publish one. Listing records say 20 percent down; that has not been confirmed by the managing agent in anything we hold. Run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator before you offer.
Check whether the line is original or combined. Several apartments have been merged, including on the top floor. That governs circulation, kitchen placement and whether there are two entry doors.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the park frontage and the corner. Protected eastern outlook, 1929 corner architecture, a low flip tax and permitted in-unit laundry. That package is not common at this end of the corridor.
Get ahead of the refinancing. Whatever the board did in April 2026, a diligent buyer's attorney will find it. Presenting the current mortgage terms, the reserve position and the capital record proactively is the difference between a clean deal and a renegotiation.
Present the reserve and capital history. Over $1.6 million in reserves and certificates in the statements through 2020, a completed gas riser replacement funded largely from cash, and a run of roof, elevator and entrance work. Those are dated disclosures; provide current reserves, financing terms and capital commitments before assessing management or funding adequacy.
Price condition honestly. Original prewar apartments and gut-renovated combinations are two products here. Run the Renovation Cost Calculator against your asking strategy.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 410 Central Park West, also evaluate:
- 400 Central Park West — parkfront building to the south; compare construction history, ownership and purchase requirements separately
- 415 Central Park West — immediately across West 101st Street on the corridor
- 420 Central Park West — parkfront co-op at 102nd Street
- 441 Central Park West — the northern end of the corridor at 105th Street
- 392 Central Park West — parkfront building to the south; compare construction history, ownership and purchase requirements separately
- 382 Central Park West — parkfront building to the south; compare construction history, ownership and purchase requirements separately
- 455 Central Park West — the converted institutional landmark at 106th Street; the design-led alternative
- 478 Central Park West — the corridor's northernmost stock, at a further discount
More Central Park West buildings
- 382 Central Park West (The Olmsted) — 1961 condominium by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
- 392 Central Park West — 1960 condominium by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
- 400 Central Park West — 1960 condominium by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
- 415 Central Park West (The Central Park View) — 1926 co-op
- 418 Central Park West (The Braender) — 1902 condominium
- 420 Central Park West (Jadam Condominium) — 1941 condominium
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Central Park West — read The Roebling Team Guide to Central Park West.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 410 Central Park West?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com