- Year built
- 1881
- Type
- Cooperative
- Floors
- 6
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the SoHo-Cast Iron Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted with conditions
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Not permitted
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase price
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2025
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2025
- $1,843
- floor-adjusted, 1 sale
- Listing discount
- 0.7%
- Recorded sales
- 51
- On record
- 2003–2025
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 514 Broadway (Soho Plaza) would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
There are seven Broadway cooperatives and condominiums in this research library, spread across five different tax blocks, and they are constantly confused with one another. 514 Broadway is on Block 483, on the east side of the street between Spring and Broome, running through to Crosby. 515 Broadway faces it from Block 484 on the west side and runs through to Mercer; 491 Broadway is at the south end of that same west-side block. 473 Broadway and 475 Broadway sit together on Block 474, a block south. 458 Broadway is on Block 232 at Grand Street, and 372 Broadway is on Block 172 in Tribeca. Same street, six other buildings, four other blocks, and none of them is this one.
What distinguishes 514 Broadway is not the loft stock, which is common to all of them, but the balance sheet. The building was put up in 1881–82 by Lamb & Wheeler as stores on Broadway and a store-and-warehouse on Crosby, and the 13,000 square feet of ground-floor retail it inherited sits on one of the highest-rent retail blockfronts in North America. When the cooperative was formed in 1982, that retail did not come with it: the plan carved the commercial space into a ninety-nine-year operating lease commencing March 19, 1982 and running to December 31, 2081, held by an entity affiliated with the sponsor, and the apartment corporation took title subject to it. Shareholders owned the building; someone else owned the income from its best asset.
That arrangement ended on November 7, 2013. ACRIS records a termination of lease on that date running from Soho Plaza Corp. to 514 Broadway Corp., recorded in the same instrument bundle as a $7,500,000 mortgage and a $1,500,000 credit line from a cooperative lender. In plain terms, the cooperative borrowed against itself to buy back its own retail master lease, sixty-eight years before it was due to expire. The 2019 financial statements show what that bought: commercial rent of $1.77 million and tax escalation income of $426,651 against shareholder maintenance of $859,629. Together those two commercial lines came to about $2.2 million — roughly 63 percent of the $3.5 million total revenue reported for 2019, against about 25 percent from shareholder maintenance. The corporation refinanced again on February 28, 2022, recording mortgage documents of $8,850,000 plus a $500,000 facility.
That structure is the whole underwriting case, in both directions. It is why maintenance in this building has historically run below what a 76,550-square-foot SoHo loft house would otherwise cost to carry, and it is why a buyer's diligence here should look less like a co-op review and more like a small commercial credit review. Retail leases roll. Broadway retail rents have been volatile for a decade. A cooperative whose operating budget leans this heavily on three commercial tenancies is exposed to them in a way that a maintenance-funded building is not — and the same leverage that makes the carrying costs attractive would make a vacancy expensive.
The second thing to understand is the occupancy. This is a joint living-work quarters for artists building. The offering plan is explicit: the certificate of occupancy to be obtained "will provide for 32 studios with accessory living," permitting residential use only in conjunction with studio use, and it warns purchasers in those terms. DOB filings were still describing apartments here as a "studio with accessory living space" as recently as 2016. The 2021 SoHo/NoHo rezoning changed the underlying zoning from M1-5B to M1-5/R9X within the Special SoHo–NoHo Mixed Use District, under which residential use is permitted — but a rezoning does not by itself amend a building's certificate of occupancy, and nothing in the DOB record we reviewed shows this building filing to do so. Whether the JLWQA framework still governs occupancy here is a question for the managing agent and the buyer's attorney, not for a listing sheet.
Architecture and unit composition
Six stories, 37.5 feet of frontage, 200 feet deep — a through-block building whose dimensions do not establish each apartment's configuration or daylight; check the actual plan, windows and obstructions. LPC treats the two faces as separate designation records: brick with terra cotta on Broadway, brick with stone and iron on Crosby, the rear elevation classed as Utilitarian and built as a store and warehouse. The building's sidewalk vaults are original cast iron; the cooperative repaired the plates and the supporting steel in 2010–12.
Above the retail, the residential floors run two through six, lettered A through H on the DOB record — consistent with the roughly forty apartments the tax roll now carries and with a subdivision history that took the building well past the thirty-two studios first offered. Ceiling heights, columns, and the deep floorplate are the product; several filings on record cover mezzanine construction, roof access and private roof decks off top-floor apartments, so the upper line may carry features the lower floors do not; confirm what was built for a specific apartment. Because units have been combined and divided repeatedly, square footage and layout here vary far more between apartments than the building's uniform exterior suggests, and the offering plan's Schedule A is not a reliable guide to what exists today.
Building operations and capital posture
The 2019 audited statements describe a solidly capitalized, conservatively run corporation. Cash and equivalents of $1,112,810 sat alongside separately held cash reserves of $2,603,033 — roughly $3.7 million of liquidity against total revenue of $3.5 million. Real estate taxes ran $1,324,854, the single largest line. Repairs and maintenance of $775,824 were spread across general repairs, exterior work, elevator maintenance, water treatment, air conditioning, intercom and sprinklers. An operating assessment of $224,000 was levied that year. Administrative expenses were modest, and payroll of $82,013 indicates a small staff.
The underlying mortgage at that date was $6,701,255 against an original $7,500,000 at 4.38 percent, amortizing over thirty years with a maturity of 2023 and a balloon of roughly $6.2 million in the final year. The cooperative refinanced ahead of that maturity in February 2022. A $1,500,000 line of credit taken alongside the 2013 loan carried a zero balance at year-end 2019; the 2022 recording shows a $500,000 facility.
Two items belong in any buyer's diligence file. First, the auditors note that the corporation has not commissioned a reserve study and has not estimated the remaining useful lives or replacement costs of building components — a standard qualification in co-op reporting, but one that matters more in a 145-year-old landmarked loft with a cast-iron sidewalk vault and an aging elevator. Second, the 2019 statements disclose a lawsuit pending in the Supreme Court of the State of New York, with the board unable to estimate potential damages and no accrual taken. We do not know its subject or its outcome; a buyer's attorney should ask for the current status and any subsequent disclosure.
Filings on record over the past fifteen years cover boiler replacement around 2011, sidewalk vault and cast-iron plate repair in 2010–12, exterior restoration in 2014, mezzanine reconstruction at the second floor in 2015–16, replacement of elevator shaftway windows in 2018, a new sub-cellar slab and an elevator-pit sump pump in 2018, and LPC-approved storefront door replacement in 2018; completion and current condition need confirming from board materials.
Policy framework
The published record establishes three things and leaves the rest to the managing agent, and we would rather say that plainly than guess.
A flip tax exists. The 2019 income statement records $81,000 of flip tax revenue. Neither the rate nor the basis — per share, percentage of price, or percentage of profit — is published.
Subletting is permitted and carries a fee. The same statement records $77,057 of sublet fee income, so some apartments were sublet in that year; the fee alone does not show how many, or for how long. Seasoning, term limits and the current fee are not published.
Purchase is by board package and interview. The application is submitted through an online board-package portal and includes the standard REBNY purchase application, a personal financial statement with two months of bank statements, credit authorization, the contract of sale, employment verification, personal and business references, the New York City cooperative tax abatement form, window guard and lead paint acknowledgments, and — where the purchase is financed — the loan application and commitment letter. The management fee is $750 plus a per-applicant credit-check charge. The board reviews the package and then schedules an interview.
Two questions on the application are worth flagging because they signal board posture rather than mere administration. The form asks whether occupancy will be full-time or part-time and, if part-time, approximately how many days per month the apartment will be used — a pied-à-terre screen. It also asks whether the purchaser plans to sublease, referring the applicant to the building rules. The maximum financing percentage, the post-closing liquidity requirement, the pied-à-terre policy, the pet policy, and the treatment of trusts, LLCs, guarantors, co-purchasers and gifted down payments are not published anywhere in the record we reviewed. Get all of them from the managing agent in writing before you offer.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of July 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $750 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Sublet
2 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $550 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Sublet renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sublet Renewal | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
2 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Financing | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Not stated |
| Financing / Refinancing | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Not stated |
Alteration
2 items
Major alteration
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Major Renovation Application | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Not stated |
Minor alteration
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cosmetic Renovation Application | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $350 | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Guarantors
- Permitted with conditionsBoard Approval RequiredSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Co-purchasing
- Permitted with conditionsBoard Approval RequiredSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Parent buying for an employed child
- Permitted with conditionsBoard Approval RequiredSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Parent buying for a student child
- Permitted with conditionsBoard Approval RequiredSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Purchase or lease by a corporation
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsBoard Approval RequiredSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Permitted with conditionsBoard Approval RequiredSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedBoard Approval RequiredSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $48,274/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $101
- Modeled exposure split equally across 40 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Recent sales
514 Broadway trades as a SoHo loft cooperative, which is a narrower and more idiosyncratic market than the condominium loft stock a few blocks in any direction. Buyers in this building are trading a condominium's liquidity and financing flexibility for cast-iron-district scale, a through-block plan, and a carrying cost supported by commercial income. Recorded transfers here are cooperative share transfers, recorded in ACRIS as property type SP, and they run continuously from the mid-1980s to the present to separate, unrelated purchasers — this is a genuine for-sale cooperative, not a rental in a corporate wrapper. Pricing should be read per room and against the surrounding SoHo co-op stock rather than per square foot against new-development condominiums. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jun 5, 2025 | 4B | 2 BR · 1 BA · 1,420 sf | $2,500,000 | $1,761/sf | +0.0% |
| Dec 20, 2023 | 3E | 1 BR · 1 BA | $1,999,999 | +0.3% | |
| Feb 4, 2023 | 4GH | 3 BR · 3.5 BA | $4,040,000 | +1.0% | |
| Sep 7, 2022 | 5E | 2 BR · 1.5 BA | $2,100,000 | +7.7% | |
| Nov 5, 2021 | 4H | 2 BR · 1.5 BA | $2,440,000 | -9.5% | |
| Oct 5, 2021 | 4G | 1 BR · 1 BA | $1,600,000 | -5.6% | |
| Jul 1, 2021 | 5F | 1 BR · 1 BA · 1,700 sf | $1,875,000 | $1,103/sf | -11.8% |
| Apr 27, 2021 | 3G | 1 BR · 1 BA · 1,400 sf | $1,550,000 | $1,107/sf | -8.6% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2025) cleared a median $1,843/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 0.7% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00483-0013). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 514 Broadway (Soho Plaza) and nearby.
Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with 514 Broadway (Soho Plaza) and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 514 Broadway (Soho Plaza). Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Underwrite the retail, not just the apartment. This is the unusual instruction on this page and it is the important one. On the 2019 statements, commercial rent and tax-escalation income from three commercial tenancies came to roughly 63 percent of building revenue and supported a maintenance level that would otherwise be much higher. Ask for current financials, the rent roll, the lease expirations, the escalation structure, and any tenant credit information the board will share. A single Broadway vacancy has more effect on your monthly carry here than anything happening inside your apartment.
Ask what the certificate of occupancy actually says today. The building was converted as thirty-two studios with accessory living use, the 2021 rezoning changed the underlying district, and we found no filing amending the certificate. Whether that matters to you depends on your lender, your use, and your risk tolerance. It is a five-minute question for the managing agent and a real one for your attorney.
Confirm the whole policy stack in writing. Financing ceiling, post-closing liquidity, pied-à-terre, pets, trusts and LLCs, flip tax rate and basis, sublet terms. The team's reviewed materials do not establish all current terms. Run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator once you have the financing number, not before.
Read the current financials, not ours. The statements we hold are for 2019. The mortgage has been refinanced since, the assessment history has moved, the pending litigation disclosed in 2019 has presumably resolved one way or another, and the retail market has been through a full cycle. Your attorney should review the two most recent audited years and the current budget.
Expect variation between apartments. Forty years of combinations and subdivisions in a through-block loft means the apartment two floors up may share nothing but an address with the one you are seeing. Measure, and price condition and layout rather than the building average.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the carrying cost and explain why it is what it is. The retail income is the story, and buyers who understand it will pay for it. Buyers who do not understand it will assume the maintenance figure is a mistake. Have the explanation ready, sourced to the financial statements, and hand the underlying documents to serious buyers' counsel.
Be first with the occupancy question. JLWQA history, the 2021 rezoning, and the current certificate of occupancy will come up in every attorney review. Obtain the certificate and management's written response early so counsel can assess the occupancy history and applicable legal requirements; no fixed review period is established here.
Price the apartment, not the block. SoHo loft pricing spreads widely on ceiling height, window line, floor, and renovation quality, and this building's unit sizes are genuinely heterogeneous. Run the Renovation Cost Calculator against a realistic buyer scope before setting an asking price on an estate-condition unit.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 514 Broadway, also evaluate:
- 515 Broadway (84 Mercer Street) — directly across Broadway on Block 484; the closest structural peer, another block-through cooperative running to Mercer
- 491 Broadway — the south end of the block shared with 515 Broadway; SoHo loft ownership at smaller scale
- 473 Broadway (The Hohner Building) — one block south on Block 474; the condominium alternative in the same cast-iron stock
- 475 Broadway — its immediate neighbor on Block 474
- 476 Broadway — Broadway loft conversion, comparable vintage
- 543 Broadway — SoHo loft comparison on Broadway
- 583 Broadway (The Astor Building) — the marquee Broadway conversion at the district's northern edge
- 458 Broadway — at Grand Street on Block 232; the lower-priced loft alternative
- 101 Wooster Street — cast-iron cooperative on Wooster Street; the quieter side-street comparison
- 115 Mercer Street — Mercer Street loft ownership at comparable scale
- 10 Greene Street — the cobblestone-block SoHo alternative
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 514 Broadway (Soho Plaza)?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com