Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfHell's Kitchen $1,328/sf ▴0%
Full index →
Condominium · 1965
The Fillmore
525 East 11th Street, New York, NY 10009
Buildings·East Village·Condominium

525 East 11th Street (The Fillmore)

525 East 11th Street, New York, NY 10009

East Village

BBL 1004057504 · BIN 1087059

CorridorEast Village
At a glance
Year built
1965
Type
Condominium
Units
26
Floors
8
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Leasing by owners
Permitted
Doorman
Part-time doorman

The Fillmore sales history: 68 recorded sales

Own an apartment at The Fillmore?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2005–2026

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2025
$1,765
floor-adjusted, 1 sale
Listing discount
1.5%
Recorded sales
68
On record
2005–2026
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Fillmore would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

The Fillmore is one of the more literal buildings in the East Village: it is an apartment house sitting on top of a parking garage, and the garage is still there, still commercial, and still owned by somebody else. That single structural fact explains the building's shape, its economics, and most of what a buyer needs to understand before making an offer.

The site is two old parking structures on the south side of East 11th Street between Avenues A and B. In 2003 the owner filed to merge them, lower and enlarge the cellar, remove the upper parking deck, and build six residential floors on what remained. The work was finished in 2004, the condominium was subdivided in April 2005, and twenty-six apartments closed to twenty-six separate buyers between that June and November. The city's year-built field still says 1965, because that is when the garage went up, and it is the single most misleading number attached to this address.

The vertical enlargement determines where the residential floors begin. The residential floors start at the third level, placing the apartments above the ground and second levels; this does not establish freedom from sidewalk noise or particular sightlines. Most carry private outdoor space. Compare the actual residential starting floor and outdoor space with current alternatives on these blocks.

The trade is scale. Twenty-six homes across about 22,700 square feet of residential area works out to roughly 870 gross square feet per home, not a measurement of individual living area, and the mix runs studios through two-bedrooms. Compare each home's documented interior dimensions, bedroom arrangement, storage and outdoor space with the buyer's needs. It sits closer in character to the small new-construction condominiums that went up around Avenue B in the 2000s than to the loft conversions further west.

The commercial garage under the residences is a separately held interest to review. It is unit lot 1301, it is taxed in class 4 as a commercial parcel, and the sponsor sold it out of the building in 2012 to an unrelated owner. Residents do not own it, the board does not control it, and any parking a resident uses there is a private commercial arrangement. It also means the condominium's common-charge base and its shared building systems are entangled with a commercial operator — a detail worth reading in the by-laws, because the allocation of shared costs between a residential section and a commercial garage section should be established from the declaration and bylaws rather than assumed.

Architecture and unit composition

The building is eight stories on a 75-foot lot, with a two-level garage podium and six residential floors above it. The residential elevations carry punched windows, balconies and terraces rather than a curtain wall, which is consistent both with the R8B zoning envelope and with the constraints of building on top of an existing concrete structure.

The unit stack is legible from the lettering. Floors three, four and five each carry six residences (A through F); floor six carries four; floor seven carries two; and the eighth floor holds two penthouses, PH8A and PH8B. The apartments get larger as the building rises and the count per floor drops, so line and floor matter more here than in most buildings of this size — a PH8 unit and a 3F unit are not variations on a theme, they are different products.

Interior specification, per listing records, runs to oak flooring, double-pane windows, solid-core doors, stainless appliances and limestone bathroom finishes. That is 2004-vintage new construction, not luxury new construction, and twenty years on, individual apartments vary widely depending on whether an owner has renovated. Ask what has been done to the specific unit rather than reading the building's original specification as current.

Building operations

The Fillmore runs a light staffing model: a part-time doorman, an on-site superintendent, a double-height attended lobby, and a fitness room. There is no full-time door staff and no concierge. For a 26-unit building compare actual charges and reserves rather than assume the staffing model establishes an economical budget; but buyers coming from a full-service building should test the actual coverage hours rather than assume them.

The façade and balcony history is the operating story worth pulling. The building has been through repeated exterior cycles: balcony curb-face repair in 2011, sidewalk shed and pipe scaffolding for balcony work in 2011 and 2012, a 2014 filing for Local Law 11 façade repairs that also resolved an Environmental Control Board violation, and a 2020 filing covering façade repairs including balcony and terrace work. A building with this much projecting outdoor space on a masonry elevation will keep having balcony and terrace work; it is inherent to the design. Any buyer should ask for the current FISP cycle status, the last engineer's report, the reserve balance, and whether an assessment is contemplated.

Policy framework

Ownership form: Condominium. Sales pass through the board of managers' right of first refusal rather than a cooperative approval. Thirty to forty-five days is a typical closing estimate.

Pets, subletting, pied-à-terre, LLC and trust ownership, minimum down payment, flip tax: Not documented in public records, and no offering plan for this building was located in either library. Do not assume the standard condominium answers apply until you have read the by-laws and the current house rules. Get them from the managing agent.

Real estate taxes: The FY2021 through FY2027 rolls show no exemption on the billing lot or on any residential unit lot. Abatements are applied at the bill level, so underwrite the specific unit against its current tax bill, not against a projection.

The garage: Confirm, in writing, whether any parking right attaches to the residence you are buying, and on what terms. It is a separately owned commercial condominium unit.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of June 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Purchase

8 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $700Refundable Non-refundable
Capital Contribution FeePaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount Equal to two (2) months months common chargesRefundable Non-refundable
Common Charges & All Sundry ChargesPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount To be determinedRefundable Not stated
Disbursements FeePaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount To be determinedRefundable Not stated
Disbursements FeePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount To be determinedRefundable Not stated
Waiver of First Right Refusal FeePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $250Refundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move In DepositPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $2,500Refundable Refundable
Move Out DepositPaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $2,500Refundable Refundable

Rental or lease

5 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application FeePaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $350Refundable Non-refundable
Lease Review FeePaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $400Refundable Non-refundable
Waiver of Right of First Refusal FeePaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $250Refundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-Out DepositPaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Refundable
Move-In DepositPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Refundable

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Leasing by owners
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of June 2026
Short-term rentals
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of June 2026
Pied-à-terre ownership
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Common charges + taxes, per room
$618 per room a monthMedian of 3 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Common charges + taxes, per square foot
$2.44 per square foot a monthMedian of 3 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026

Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Part-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Attended lobby
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Fitness room, garage (separately owned commercial garage)Source: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$18,346/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $59
Modeled exposure split equally across 26 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
Safe
What this means for you

The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.

Inspection history
2010–15
Safe
2015–20
Safe
2020–25
Safe
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2027
Assessed · 2010–15 to 2020–25
$58,000 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2010–15 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Recent sales

The building sold out from the sponsor in 2005 and has traded on resale continuously since, including through the 2008–2010 correction and the 2020–2021 reset. Turnover is healthy for a building of this size, which matters: with twenty-six homes, the difference between an active and an inactive building is the difference between having same-building comparables and not having them.

Pricing here is a dollars-per-square-foot conversation, and it should be run against the small new-construction and 2000s-vintage condominium stock of the East Village rather than against the surrounding tenement co-ops, whose policies, financing terms and buyer pool are structurally different. The absence of any abatement means the headline price and the true monthly number sit closer together than they do at abated new construction elsewhere — an advantage when comparing, because nothing steps up later. Outdoor space is the building's clearest premium driver, and the penthouse floor is a separate market from the rest of the stack. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.

Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Jan 6, 20254A
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,039 sf
$1,855,000$1,785/sf-3.6%
May 9, 2024PHA
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,040 sf
$2,100,000$2,019/sf+0.0%
Mar 20, 2024PHB
3 BR · 3 BA · 1,579 sf
$3,150,000$1,995/sf-1.6%
Jan 10, 2024PH8B
1,579 sf
$3,115,000$1,973/sf—
Jul 9, 20214A
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,039 sf
$1,675,000$1,612/sf-1.2%
Jun 25, 20214D
1 BA · 433 sf
$640,000$1,478/sf+2.4%
Jun 15, 20215B
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,121 sf
$1,795,000$1,601/sf+5.9%
Apr 30, 20213D
1 BA · 433 sf
$650,000$1,501/sf-13.3%

Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2025): a median $1,765/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 1.5% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

6C · 1,308 sf+80%
$1,323,725 ($1,012/sf) 2005 → $2,385,000 ($1,823/sf) 2017
4A · 1,039 sf+78%
$1,043,706 ($1,005/sf) 2005 → $1,675,000 ($1,612/sf) 2021 → $1,855,000 ($1,785/sf) 2025
PH8B · 1,579 sf+77%
$1,756,481 ($1,112/sf) 2005 → $3,115,000 ($1,973/sf) 2024
7A · 1,039 sf+74%
$891,968 ($858/sf) 2005 → $1,350,000 ($1,299/sf) 2014 → $1,549,000 ($1,491/sf) 2019
4F · 632 sf+74%
$544,763 ($862/sf) 2005 → $950,000 ($1,503/sf) 2016
View all 68 recorded sales, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00405-7504; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at The Fillmore and nearby.

Buying here? Condo closing costs with a mortgage typically run 3 to 6% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with The Fillmore and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Fillmore. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Ignore the 1965 year built. The residences date from 2003–2005. City data describes the garage.

Understand the garage ownership. It is a separate commercial condominium unit in outside hands. Read the by-laws on cost allocation between the residential and commercial sections.

Ask for the balcony and façade file. This building has repeatedly filed exterior repair work involving balconies and terraces. Get the current FISP status and the engineer's most recent report.

There is no offering plan in either library. Every policy question — pets, sublets, pied-à-terre, financing minimums, flip tax — has to come from the managing agent. Budget time for that.

Check the tax bill. The rolls show no exemption; confirm on the apartment's current bill that no abatement applies.

Test the specific unit, not the building spec. Twenty-year-old new construction diverges unit by unit. Renovated and original apartments here are different products.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with the third-floor-and-up plan and the outdoor space. Document those features for the specific apartment without making an unverified exclusion of competing buildings.

Correct the year built in your own materials. If the listing data pulls 1965 from the city, fix it. It costs you buyers who filter on age and it invites a false comparison to the pre-war stock.

Price against 2000s-vintage East Village condominiums, with adjustments when considering Avenue B walk-up cooperatives for ownership, service, condition and monthly costs.

Be straightforward about the garage. Buyers find it. Presenting it as a known, bounded structural feature — with the by-law language in hand — is far better than letting it surface as a surprise in diligence.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering The Fillmore, also evaluate:

  • 311 East 11th Street — 36-residence 2008 condominium on the same street; the nearest peer by street and product type
  • 240 East 10th Street (The New Theatre) — 1999 condominium with a commercial unit in the building; the closest structural analogue for mixed residential-and-commercial ownership
  • 754 East 6th Street — 24-residence 2001 condominium; the same small-building, small-unit East Village model one vintage earlier
  • 1 Avenue B (One Avenue B) — 23 residences plus a commercial unit, completed 2007; the corner-site alternative a few blocks south
  • 215 Avenue B (The Copper) — 17-residence 2008 condominium; the boutique Alphabet City alternative
  • 421 East 13th Street — 84-residence 2008 condominium; the full-amenity, larger-denominator alternative nearby
  • 438 East 12th Street (Steiner East Village) — 82 residences, 2017; the current-generation East Village condominium and a very different cost structure
  • 100 Avenue A — 32 residences completed 2017 directly on Tompkins Square Park
  • 97 Avenue B — 30 residential units in a pre-war structure operating as a condominium; the conversion alternative
  • 298 East 2nd Street — seven full-floor residences completed 2020 with no abatement; the small, newer, no-abatement comparison

More East Village buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across East Village — read The Roebling Team Guide to East Village.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at The Fillmore?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com