77 Bleecker Street (Bleecker Court)
77 Bleecker Street, New York, NY 10012
BBL 1005320020 · BIN 1084761
- Year built
- 1930
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 242
- Floors
- 5
- Amenities
- Full-time doorman, live-in resident manager, bicycle room, private storage, and central laundry per listing and management-sourced records; a landscaped interior courtyard sits within the assembled block
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the NoHo Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Flip tax
- Tiered or formula; see fees
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 1991–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 1BR median, 2023–2026
- $910K
- 27 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $625K – $2M
- Listing discount
- 2.8%
- Recorded transfers
- 415
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Bleecker Court would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
The building's assemblage history requires several records to be read together. PLUTO carries a 1930 construction date and five floors. The Landmarks Preservation Commission's own record for the tax lot describes something else entirely: a group of Italianate store-and-loft buildings put up between 1866 and 1883, attributed to Griffith Thomas and Henry Fernbach, and altered in 1979–81 by Avinash K. Malhotra. What stands today is that assemblage — several nineteenth-century commercial fronts on Bleecker, Broadway and Mercer, stitched to a taller modern volume of stepped massing raised during the alteration. PLUTO records five separate buildings on the lot, which is consistent with the assemblage history.
That history produces a genuinely unusual apartment stock. Because the building is part period loft and part 1980-vintage construction, its 242 residences split between converted loft floors with tall ceilings, deep window openings and cast-iron-era proportions, and newer apartments with conventional post-war layouts and ceiling heights. Buyers who tour two units here and come away with contradictory impressions of the building are not confused; they have seen two different buildings that share one lobby and one balance sheet.
The second thing worth understanding is the commercial estate. When the building converted in 1984, the sponsor did not simply sell the apartments and leave. The cooperative simultaneously entered twenty-four leases with the sponsor covering the building's entire commercial plant — six retail stores, fourteen office spaces described in the leases as art studios, and four storage units — at a minimum aggregate rent of $46,000 a year, running to April 2034 with two further renewal options of twenty-five and twenty-four years. In practical terms, the shareholders sold their own retail frontage on Broadway and Bleecker to the sponsor for a nominal rent through the middle of this century. In May 2015 the corporation and a newly formed subsidiary bought that position back, acquiring the sponsor affiliates' rights in the remaining twenty-three leases for $26,575,653, and refinanced with $45 million of new mortgage debt to pay for it. The building now collects roughly $1.2 million a year in net commercial rent that it had signed away in 1984.
That transaction defines the building's finances today. The cooperative carries an unusually large underlying mortgage for a co-op of this size — over $42 million at the most recent year-end on file — but it also carries a commercial income stream that a co-op of this size would not otherwise have, and the debt does not mature until 2045. Whether the 2015 recapture was a good trade is a judgment; what matters for a buyer is that both halves of it are on the balance sheet, and both should be read.
Architecture and unit composition
The Bleecker Street elevation reads as nineteenth-century NoHo: Italianate store-and-loft fronts of the type Griffith Thomas and Henry Fernbach built across this district in the decades after the Civil War, with the regular bay rhythm and heavy cornice line that made the neighborhood a historic district in 1999. Behind and above, the 1979–81 work introduced a taller stepped volume and organized the assembled parcels around an interior courtyard, so a meaningful share of apartments face inward rather than onto Broadway.
The residences run from studios and alcove studios through one- and two-bedrooms and a smaller number of combined and duplex apartments; DOB filings on the building record vertical combinations and interior stairs added between upper floors over the years. Loft-derived units carry the features buyers come to NoHo for — high ceilings, oversized windows, occasional skylights on top floors — while apartments in the newer portion trade that character for regular layouts and better light on the courtyard side, though renovation risk depends on each apartment's current condition. Exterior alterations, including window replacement, require Landmarks approval; interior alterations require board consent under the proprietary lease and an alteration agreement.
Building operations
The building is staffed with a full-time doorman and a live-in resident manager, with a union workforce under a 32BJ agreement, and offers a bicycle room, private storage and central laundry per listing and management-sourced records. Management is professional and the cooperative's financial reporting is complete: audited statements, budget-to-actual schedules, and a shareholder cost-basis schedule are all on file in The Roebling Research Library.
Two operating facts deserve a buyer's attention. First, real estate taxes were the largest line in the 2022 budget — roughly 37 percent of expenses — because the J-51 benefit that supported the 1979–81 conversion burned off in 1998 and nothing replaced it. Second, the 2022 statements report no commissioned reserve study and no governing-document requirement for funded reserves, with cash, assessments, borrowing or deferral listed as capital-work options. Confirm the current reserve study, funding policy and balances. The 2014 and 2019 assessments are the practical expression of that policy.
Policy framework
The published record here is thin, which is normal for a co-op and worth stating plainly rather than filling in. What is documented: the transfer fee is 3 percent of gross sale price, charged to the seller. The sublet policy on file — a board communication dated October 15, 2012 — requires four years of resident ownership before a first sublet, permits no more than three consecutive one-year terms to the same subtenant, caps building-wide sublets at 12.5 percent of units, provides limited hardship exemptions, and imposes a monthly surcharge equal to 22.5 percent of the unit's maintenance for the duration of a sublet.
Financing ceiling, minimum down payment, post-closing liquidity requirements, pied-à-terre practice, and the board's posture on trusts and limited liability companies are not established by the reviewed material, and none of them should be assumed from the sublet policy or from neighborhood convention. Obtain all of them, in writing, from the managing agent before you make an offer. Treat the 2012 sublet document the same way — its age alone does not establish which provisions remain operative. Have counsel reconcile the lease, bylaws, valid amendments, board authority and current written policy.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- 3 percent of the gross sale price, charged to the selling shareholder, per audited financial statements on file
Source: The Roebling Team's building profile
Purchase
6 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Consumer Credit Report FeePer applicantRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per person | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Management Processing fee to purchase the shares of 77 Bleecker Street Corp. | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-out Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Working ContributionRequired | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount 3% of purchase price | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing Fees | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount Published separately by management | Refundable Not stated |
Sublet
6 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-out Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Co-op Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $350 | Refundable Not stated |
| credit check fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $125.00 per subtenant/Guarantor | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Management Administration Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-in Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Sublet FeeRecurring | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount Monthly surcharge of 25% of the current maintenance to be billed in 12 equal installments | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Refinance/Home Equity Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
Alteration
3 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alteration Processing Fee | Paid by Resident | When With the application | Amount $450 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Washer/Dryer FeeConditionalConditions: If applicable | Paid by Resident | When With the application | Amount 500 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alteration Security Deposit | Paid by Resident | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Parent buying for an employed child
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Parent buying for a student child
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $638 per room a monthMedian of 22 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $2.56 per square foot a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Garden, bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $134,562/yr
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $179,647/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $46 – $62
- Modeled exposure split equally across 243 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Recent sales
ACRIS records more than 400 share transfers on this tax lot since digital recording began. That cumulative count does not establish a district-wide liquidity ranking; review dates, transfer types and apartment characteristics to identify usable comparable sales.
Compare the building’s converted loft floors and newer apartments through dated, matched transactions, documenting layout, ceiling height, windows, floor, exposure and condition. Compare total costs with the district’s condominium inventory, considering board requirements, current underlying debt and verified net commercial income without assuming a discount or assigning its cause. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 21, 2026 | 618 | 1 BR | $700,000 | -12.4% | |
| Sep 16, 2026 | 320 | 1 BR · 2 BA | $1,200,000 | -4.0% | |
| Aug 27, 2026 | 421E | 1 BR · 1 BA · 650 sf | $750,000 | $1,154/sf | -9.1% |
| Aug 24, 2026 | 822 | 1 BR · 2 BA | $1,050,000 | -4.5% | |
| Jun 1, 2026 | 123E | 2 BR · 2 BA | $1,975,000 | +4.2% | |
| May 27, 2026 | 804 | 1 BR · 1 BA | $875,000 | -2.7% | |
| Feb 13, 2026 | 517 | 1 BR · 1 BA | $1,253,000 | -1.7% | |
| Oct 31, 2025 | 311 | 1 BR · 2 BA | $999,000 | -9.2% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $967/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 2.1% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Other recent transfers
| Date | Unit | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Nov 5, 2004 | 821 | $315,000 |
| Jul 29, 2003 | 818 | $495,000 |
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00532-0020). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
Closed rents at Bleecker Court, last 36 months
| Size | Leases | Median / month |
|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | 2 | $7,750 |
3 closed sublet leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease September 2026. Based on few leases. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.
What would your apartment rent for?
The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at Bleecker Court and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $1.02M (16 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 21, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $22,637 to close, or 2.2% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $10,245
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $12,392
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with Bleecker Court and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Bleecker Court. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Read the commercial story before you read the maintenance. The 2015 lease recapture, the $45 million of mortgage debt behind it, and the roughly $1.2 million of annual net commercial rent are one transaction with three faces. Your attorney should read the mortgage note maturity schedule (June 1, 2045, with prepayment restricted) and the commercial rent roll together. A co-op with this much debt and this much non-shareholder income does not underwrite like a conventional prewar house.
Reconcile the city records for this assemblage. Construction, alteration, floor and unit counts can refer to different components and dates. Compare LPC records, DOB approved plans and occupancy records, the offering plan and current financial statements before selecting the figure for a particular purpose.
Get the current policies in writing. Financing ceiling, minimum down, post-closing liquidity, pied-à-terre practice and the board's treatment of trusts and LLCs are not established by the reviewed material; reconcile management's answers with the operative governing documents. Ask the managing agent, in writing, before you commit to a board package. Run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator against the answer you receive, not against a market assumption.
Sublet planning is a four-year decision. If your ownership case depends on being able to rent the apartment, the four-year residency requirement, the three-year cap and the 12.5 percent building-wide ceiling should be confirmed as current before contract. A sublet here is a privilege with a queue behind it.
Landmarks governs the envelope. Window, storefront and other exterior alterations generally require LPC approval as well as applicable board approval; some maintenance is exempt and eligible visible work can be approved by staff. Budget the time, not just the cost.
What to know if you’re selling
Sell the specific apartment, not the building average. With two distinct construction vintages under one roof, the comparable that matters is the one with your ceiling height, your exposure and your window scale — not the last closing in the building. We pull the line-level history from the Research Library rather than arguing from a building-wide average.
Get ahead of the balance sheet. Sophisticated buyers' counsel will find the $42 million mortgage and ask about it. The answer — that it funded the recapture of the building's own commercial frontage from a fifty-year sponsor lease, and that it does not mature until 2045 — is a good one, and it lands far better volunteered than discovered.
Price the 3 percent transfer fee into your net. It is charged to the seller on gross sale price. Run the Seller Closing Cost Calculator with it included.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 77 Bleecker Street, also evaluate:
- 27 Bleecker Street — NoHo loft building a block east; the smaller-scale alternative on the same street
- 54 Bleecker Street (The NoHo Star) — NoHo condominium conversion; the condo alternative at close range
- 40 Bleecker Street — new-development NoHo condominium; compare actual prices and carrying costs
- 36 Bleecker Street (The Schumacher) — loft-scaled condominium conversion in the same historic district
- 10 Bleecker Street — boutique NoHo building; the small-house alternative
- 19 Bond Street — Bond Street loft condominium a short walk north
- 25 Bond Street — full-service Bond Street condominium; the amenitized alternative
- 445 Lafayette Street (Astor Place Tower) — the area's best-known modern tower, a land-lease condop with condominium-style rules
- 200 Mercer Street — Mercer Street loft building; compare the actual loft layouts and ownership terms
More Greenwich Village buildings
- 70 West 3rd Street — condominium
- 71 Washington Place — 1848 co-op
- 74 Fifth Avenue — 1910 co-op
- 80 East 10th Street — 2017 condominium
- 84 Third Avenue — 2012 by Karl Fischer Architects
- 88 Washington Place — 1966 condominium
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Greenwich Village — read The Roebling Team Guide to Greenwich Village.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at Bleecker Court?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com