- Year built
- 1876
- Type
- Condominium
- Units
- 10
- Floors
- 6
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the SoHo-Cast Iron Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Leasing by owners
- Permitted with conditions
Every recorded sale at this building, 2006–2024
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2024
- $1,918
- 2 sales
- Listing discount
- 3.0%
- Recorded sales
- 8
- On record
- 2006–2024
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 77 Mercer Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
Mercer Street between Spring and Broome is one of the few blocks in SoHo where the nineteenth-century commercial street survives more or less whole: Belgian block underfoot, loading platforms and areaways at the sidewalk, cast-iron fronts rising five and six stories on both sides with almost no infill from the twentieth century. 77 Mercer is a working part of that wall rather than a standout on it, and that is the accurate way to describe the building. It was built in 1875–76 to the designs of Jesse W. Powers for John Ruszits as a commercial store building, one of the many mercantile structures thrown up in the district during its dry-goods decades, and it was still a commercial property when the Landmarks Preservation Commission drew the SoHo–Cast Iron Historic District around it in August 1973.
The thing that makes the building legible today is its width. Most SoHo lots are twenty-five feet. This one is fifty — a double lot with a hundred-foot depth — and the facade is composed as two bays with separate entrances, which is why the address confusion exists in the first place. The Department of Finance chose the low house number for its records and calls the lot 73 Mercer Street; LPC designated it as 73–77 Mercer Street; the condominium, the DOB filings and every recorded deed use 77 Mercer Street. A buyer pulling city data on this building will find the tax bill, the assessment, and the PLUTO record filed under an address that does not appear on the front door. It is the same building.
What the fifty-foot width buys residentially is the plan. Ten apartments across five upper floors does not establish an even two-per-floor distribution or the interior area of each home. Confirm floor plates, exposures, ceiling heights and structural configuration in approved and unit-specific plans. Below them, two ground-floor commercial units and the retail frontage account for roughly a third of the building's gross area, which matters to the condominium's budget: a meaningful share of common expense is carried by commercial space rather than by the ten residences alone.
The tax posture is worth stating plainly because it runs against what buyers expect from converted product. The current records show no exemption — no 421-a, no J-51 phasing out, no ICAP — but abatements are applied at the bill level, so check each apartment's tax bill. Buyers comparing against abated new-development inventory elsewhere downtown should compare total carrying costs unit by unit, and future bills still change with assessments and rates.
Architecture and unit composition
The facade is cast iron, per LPC's designation record, on a fifty-foot frontage divided into two bays with separate entrances — a composition that reads as a pair of adjoining store buildings and was likely built to be leased that way. LPC's record does not assign the building a primary style, which is itself informative: it is a competent commercial front of its decade rather than a signature work, and its value in the district is contextual.
Above the ground floor, the building is a five-level residential stack of half-floor lofts, two to a floor, running 2N and 2S through 6N and 6S in the recorded unit schedule. Loft proportions govern: deep floor plates, high ceilings, large window openings on the Mercer Street elevation, and structural columns that dictate where walls can and cannot go. Interior alteration filings on record include the installation of new glass partitions and a spiral stair within one apartment, which is the ordinary vocabulary of loft renovation here. The eleven storage units in the condominium's unit schedule are separately deeded — a buyer should establish at contract whether a storage unit conveys with the apartment or has to be bought.
Building operations and capital posture
Public records show envelope work filed over the years. DOB filings show sidewalk sheds and facade repair in 2000 and again in 2006, a new cornice filed in 2008, and reconstruction of the sidewalk vault — waterproofing membrane, steps, diamond plate — filed in 2009. Interior retail fit-outs at the base were filed in 2013 and 2014. There is no record of an open Alteration Type 1 or of a building running on temporary certificates of occupancy; completion of the filed work and current condition need confirming from recent engineering reports and board materials.
The reviewed records do not establish the condominium's operating budget, reserve position, common-charge history, or whether any assessment is live. Nothing about staffing, amenities, or a service program is documented either. For a building of this size those questions are answered only by the offering plan, the current budget and the most recent financial statement, and they should be requested from the managing agent before an offer is made.
Policy framework
Landmark review is the operative constraint. Exterior alterations — including storefront, windows, ironwork, cornice and rooftop mechanical equipment — generally need LPC approval before the relevant DOB permit. Eligible visible work may be approved by staff, and some maintenance is exempt; confirm whether the proposed scope requires a Certificate of Appropriateness, Certificate of No Effect or Permit for Minor Work. LPC's permit database shows an active filing history for lots across this block. Budget the review time into any renovation schedule.
Confirm the remaining policy terms. Pet rules, sublet terms, pied-à-terre treatment, LLC and trust purchases, minimum down payment, and any resale capital contribution are governed by the offering plan, the by-laws and the house rules, which were not established by the reviewed material. Condominium tenure alone does not establish subletting, non-primary occupancy or entity-purchase permissions. Confirm each with the managing agent.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of August 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
7 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $650 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicantRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $150 per adult applicant/occupant. International credit checks may cost more. Please contact the Property Management for information" in the name or price of the fee. | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move Out Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Transfer Fee | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move Out Deposit | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Refundable |
Rental or lease
9 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move Out Fee | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Sublet Fee | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $4,000 | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing FeeIncludes one free credit check | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $20 per additional applicant after applicant one (1) and any adult occupant. International credit checks may cost more. Please contact the Property Management for information. | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move In Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-Out Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move Out Deposit | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move In Deposit | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Refundable |
Lease renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Leasing by owners
- Permitted with conditionsApplication required for Board approval and waiver. For annual sublet renewals, its $2,500. And for multiple-year leases its $2,500 for the first year and $1,000 for subsequent years thereafterSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $18,855/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $157
- Modeled exposure split equally across 10 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Recent sales
77 Mercer trades as SoHo half-floor loft product: whole-side apartments in a landmarked cast-iron building on a cobblestone block, priced on square footage, ceiling height, exposure and the quality of the last renovation rather than on services, which the building does not sell. Recent activity has centered in the mid-$3 million range. That reported activity does not establish a price rank against full-service condominiums or walk-up cooperatives. Compare date, verified area, condition, floor, exposure and service costs; a renovated and an original-condition unit need separate analysis. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 4, 2024 | 4N | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,864 sf | $3,075,000 | $1,650/sf | -6.8% |
| Feb 7, 2024 | 2N | 1,625 sf | $3,550,000 | $2,185/sf | — |
| Nov 28, 2023 | 5N | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,864 sf | $3,225,000 | $1,730/sf | -2.3% |
| Jan 4, 2023 | 5S | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,944 sf | $3,650,000 | $1,878/sf | -7.6% |
| Sep 11, 2013 | 5S | 2 BR · 1,950 sf | $3,100,000 | $1,590/sf | -3.0% |
| Oct 18, 2012 | 5N | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,744 sf | $2,575,000 | $1,476/sf | — |
| Mar 10, 2006 | 3S | 2 BR · 2,000 sf | $2,500,000 | $1,250/sf | -2.0% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2024) cleared a median $1,918/sf (recorded) across 2 sales. Median listing discount 3.0% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00485-7501; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 77 Mercer Street and nearby.
Buying here? Condo closing costs with a mortgage typically run 3 to 6% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with 77 Mercer Street and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 77 Mercer Street. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Reconcile the address before you order anything. Title, tax bills, assessment records and PLUTO may return 73 Mercer Street. That is this building. Give your attorney the BBL — 1-00485-7501 — rather than the street address.
Underwrite the actual tax bill. The roll shows no exemption to model, no burn-off date, and no step-up; check the current bill for any abatement. Run the True Monthly Carrying Cost Calculator against the actual current tax bill.
Ask for the commercial picture. Roughly a third of the building's gross area is retail, held in two ground-floor commercial units. How that space is owned, what it contributes to common expense, and whether it is vacant are questions the offering plan and the current budget answer and the public record does not.
Landmark status is a renovation cost and a schedule. Windows, storefront and any street-visible rooftop equipment go through LPC. Price the approvals and the delay, not just the work.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the plate and the block. A fifty-foot-wide half-floor loft on a Belgian-block stretch of Mercer inside the Cast Iron District is a specific product with a specific buyer. Photograph the width and the light; that is what is being bought.
Have the documents ready. In a ten-unit building with no published policy stack, the buyers who move fastest are the ones whose attorneys get the offering plan, by-laws, house rules, budget and most recent financial statement without a delay. Assemble them before listing.
Be direct about services. Buyers cross-shopping full-service loft condominiums will ask. A clear answer early is worth more than a vague one late.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 77 Mercer Street, also evaluate:
- 40 Mercer Street — Jean Nouvel's glass condominium a few blocks south; the full-service, contemporary alternative in the same submarket
- 30 Crosby Street — thirteen-residence loft condominium in an 1878 SoHo store-and-loft building; the closest like-for-like in scale and vintage
- 107 Greene Street — boutique cast-iron loft condominium one block west, same district, same half-floor logic
- 105 Wooster Street — small loft condominium in the Cast Iron District
- 139 Wooster Street — SoHo loft condominium at comparable density
- 27 Wooster Street — landmarked loft conversion nearby
- 161 Grand Street — southern-SoHo loft condominium; the value-tier comparison
- 129 Lafayette Street — loft condominium on the district's eastern edge
- 465 West Broadway — SoHo loft cooperative; the tenure alternative at a similar scale
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 77 Mercer Street?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com