9 Barrow Street (The Halloran)
9 Barrow Street, New York, NY 10014
BBL 1005907502 · BIN 1076078
- Year built
- 1895
- Type
- Cooperative
- Floors
- 8
- Ownership structure
- Cooperative; the city classifies the tax lot as a condominium (a condop structure)
- The Roebling Team's building profile
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Greenwich Village Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted with conditions
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Flip tax
- Tiered or formula; see fees
- Doorman
- Requires confirmation
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- Studio median, 2023–2026
- $550K
- 7 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $510K – $5M
- Listing discount
- 1.0%
- Recorded transfers
- 124
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Halloran would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
9 Barrow Street (The Halloran) is an 1897 Charles Rentz design, built for the Hallahan family and extended by John P. Voelker in 1909–11, according to LPC's Greenwich Village Historic District record. The building itself stands apart through its limestone facade, which distinguishes it from the brick inventory that surrounds it, and through the barrel-vaulted 10+ foot ceilings preserved from the original construction.
Architecture and building operations
Charles Rentz's 1897 design, extended by John P. Voelker in 1909–11, produced a limestone-facade building with barrel-vaulted 10+ foot ceilings. The 1985 conversion produced 86-88 cooperative apartments.
Operations: 24-hour doorman; live-in superintendent; private storage; bicycle storage.
Policy framework — verify via The Roebling Research Library
- Type: Cooperative — board interview required
- Minimum down: Verify with managing agent
- Pied-à-terre: Verify with managing agent
- Pets: Verify with managing agent
- Subletting: Board approval required
- Board interview: Required
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- Equal to 3% of the purchase price (if seller owned apt for less than 3 years), equal to 2% of the purchase price (if the seller owned apt. for more than 3 years but less than 5), equal to 1% of the purchase price (if seller owned apt. for more than 5 years)
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Purchase
12 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $725 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Building Review FeePaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit/Background Check FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $150 per applicant/adult occupant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move In FeePaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $150 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move Out FeePaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Power of Attorney Review FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $150 (If applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Recognition Agreement FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $325 (If financing) | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $750 | Refundable Not stated |
| New York State Stamp TaxPer sharePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move In DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move Out DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet
10 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move Out FeePaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Administrative FeePaid to the building | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $150 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $575 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $150 per applicant/adult occupant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move In FeePaid to the building | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $150 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Sublease FeeRecurringPaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount Equal to 30% of the maintenance, billed monthly | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move Out DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move In DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $225 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Sublet FeeRecurringPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount Equal to 30% of the maintenance to be billed monthly | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
5 items
Management's “less refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Recognition Agreement Review FeeConditionalConditions: If ApplicablePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $300 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Recognition Agreement Review FeeConditionalConditions: If ApplicablePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $300 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Guarantors
- Permitted with conditionsMust provide full financial package and we will have to run a credit reportSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Co-purchasing
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for an employed child
- Permitted with conditionsCase by caseSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for a student child
- Permitted with conditionsCase by caseSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Purchase or lease by a corporation
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Permitted with conditionsCase by caseSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $922 per room a monthMedian of 8 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Requires confirmationSources differ. Confirm with building management.
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
- Amenities noted
- Bike storage, storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $40,653/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $39
- Modeled exposure split equally across 86 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the engineer identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — the licensed engineer the city requires to sign the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- Transfer fee 3% (<3 yrs owned) / 2% (3-5 yrs) / 1% (>5 yrs) of purchase price (seller); NYS stamp $0.05/share
- Sublet policy
- Allowed; sublease fee 30% of maintenance billed monthly; subtenant application $575 + $150 bldg admin
- Pied-à-terre
- Allowed case by case; secondary residence case by case
- Notable fees
- Application processing $725 + $600 bldg review; credit/background $150/applicant; move-in/out fee $150 + deposit $500 each; closing fee $750; recognition agreement $325 if financing
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 19, 2026 | 6D | 1 BR · 1 BA · 835 sf | $949,500 | $1,137/sf | +5.6% |
| Jul 22, 2026 | PH8CD | 3 BR · 2.5 BA | $4,975,000 | +0.0% | |
| May 29, 2026 | 2J | 1 BA · 475 sf | $535,000 | $1,126/sf | -20.7% |
| Jan 13, 2026 | 3H | 1 BA | $590,000 | +0.9% | |
| Jan 9, 2026 | 7B | 1 BA | $715,000 | -1.9% | |
| Oct 9, 2025 | 3C | 1 BR · 1 BA | $860,000 | -4.3% | |
| Jul 3, 2024 | 4E | 1 BR · 1 BA · 500 sf | $1,150,000 | $2,300/sf | +0.0% |
| Feb 15, 2024 | 2B | 1 BA | $510,000 | -5.4% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,158/sf (floor-adjusted) across 2 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 1.0% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00590-7502). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
Closed rents at The Halloran, last 36 months
| Size | Leases | Median / month |
|---|---|---|
| 2 bedroom | 2 | $14,100 |
4 closed leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease February 2026. Based on few leases. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.
What would your apartment rent for?
The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at The Halloran and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $788K (6 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 19, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $11,503 to close, or 1.5% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $11,503
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with The Halloran and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Halloran. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
Comparable buildings
- 55 Morton Street — 1900; nearby West Village peer
- The Waywest (380 West 12th) — 1898 conversion; nearby industrial-conversion peer
- 99 Bank Street (The Ross Building) — D&J Jardine 1890; nearby West Village peer
- 720 Greenwich Street (The Towers) — 1898 conversion; nearby West Village peer
- 3 Sheridan Square — Charles C. Platt (LPC) 1958; nearby West Village peer
Sources: The Roebling Research Library (offering plans, house rules, financial statements, board minutes, internal transaction records); NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers; publicly recorded NYC building data.
More West Village buildings
- 5 Charles Street — 1847 co-op
- 8 Bethune Street — 1895 co-op
- 8 Charles Lane, 8 Charles Lane and the associated Charles Street homes — 1979 co-op
- 10 Christopher Street — 1937 condop
- 14 Horatio Street (The Van Gogh) — 1960 co-op by H.I. Feldman
- 15 Charles Street — 1964 condominium
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across West Village — read The Roebling Team Guide to West Village.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at The Halloran?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com