100 West 94th Street (Columbus Park Tower)
100 West 94th Street, New York, NY 10025
BBL 1012240029 · BIN 1084572
- Year built
- 1966
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 162
- Floors
- 26
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Not permitted
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase price
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2010–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 2BR median, 2023–2025
- $883K
- 6 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $720K – $1.5M
- Listing discount
- 2.5%
- Recorded transfers
- 89
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Columbus Park Tower would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
Columbus Park Tower is one of the few Upper West Side buildings whose entire economics were rewritten inside the last twenty years. It went up in the mid-1960s as a Mitchell-Lama limited-equity cooperative under the West Side Urban Renewal Plan — the sweeping and much-argued-over program that cleared and rebuilt the blocks between Amsterdam and Central Park West from the 80s into the 90s. For four decades its apartments could not be sold on the open market at all: a departing shareholder sold back to the corporation at original equity plus a share of amortized principal, and the next name on the waiting list moved in. The building privatized out of that program, and the recorded history places the completion in 2009. ACRIS shows the property conveyed from Columbus Park Corporation to Columbus Park Owners, Inc. in April 2009, the first individual share transfers on the lot in January 2010, and continuous open-market resale activity since. Neighboring cooperatives on the same block carry recorded share transfers back to 1999 and 2003; this lot carries none before 2010, which is exactly the signature a privatization leaves in the record.
That history is not trivia. It explains the building's policy stack, which is the most permissive of any large cooperative in this stretch of the Upper West Side. Financing runs to 80 percent. There is no post-closing liquidity requirement. Pied-à-terre ownership and secondary residences are allowed. Subletting is allowed with board consent. A building that spent forty years unable to sell an apartment at market has every incentive to keep the resale market liquid, and the rules read that way. For a buyer coming from the Central Park West or West End Avenue cooperative market — where 65 percent financing, one-to-two-years-of-carry liquidity tests and pied-à-terre bans are the norm — the underwriting here is a different exercise entirely.
The architecture is a genuine period document and has always divided opinion. It is a dark brown-brick slab on a one-story retail base, with a second-story open frame that makes the tower appear to float, and stacked concrete-balustraded balconies in three vertical bands on the west face. In New York 1960, Robert A. M. Stern, Thomas Mellins and David Fishman treated it as among the more successful of the urban-renewal towers while faulting the program as a whole for shattering neighborhood scale. Architectural critics writing since have generally agreed that it is the best-looking of the Columbus Avenue slabs, helped considerably by what happened at its base: the plaza filled in with restaurants and sidewalk cafés, and the rear became a landscaped, multi-level garden with a stepped pyramidal fountain. The building that was once criticized for its plaza is now defined by it.
Then there is the commercial estate. At 199,500 square feet of building area, the corporation owns roughly 11,000 square feet of Columbus Avenue retail, a 17,700-square-foot garage and a small professional office component alongside its 162 apartments. On a building of this scale that income stream can affect the maintenance number, and it is one of the first things a buyer's attorney should look at. Retail rent rolls, lease expirations and the garage's operating arrangement determine how much of the building's cost is carried by tenants rather than shareholders. Compare the cash-flow impact of a vacancy or rent reset with debt service, reserves and planned capital work.
Architecture and unit composition
The tower rises 26 floors per city records above a one-story commercial base on the Columbus Avenue frontage, with the residential entrance on West 94th Street. The plan is a through-block slab: every apartment carries both east and west exposure, which is the layout's defining virtue and the reason the building's light is better than the surrounding brick tower stock. West-facing lines look over the low Columbus Avenue blockfronts toward the Hudson; east-facing lines look toward Central Park across the roofs of the 94th and 95th Street brownstones. Upper floors on both faces have long open views because the immediate neighbors are low.
Balconies are the west line's signature. They are stacked in vertical bands with concrete balustrades, broken into smaller sections on the top two floors — the gesture that gives the elevation its top. Not every apartment has one; management-sourced descriptions of the building emphasize private terrace space facing Columbus Avenue, and the balcony count should be confirmed line by line rather than assumed.
The apartment mix is postwar middle-income planning at generous mid-1960s dimensions: studios and one-bedrooms through three-bedroom layouts, with several three-bedroom lines running to long living/dining rooms opening onto an eleven-foot balcony and separate windowed kitchens. Ceiling heights are standard for the period. Because the building spent four decades in a limited-equity program, the renovation history is uneven — some apartments were substantially reworked after privatization, others retain original kitchens and baths. Condition variance in this building is wider than in a comparable market-rate cooperative of the same age, and it is the first thing to price.
Building operations
The building runs full-service: 24-hour doorman and concierge, a live-in resident manager, and a porter and handyman staff. The lobby carries white marble walls and a concierge station. Shared spaces include a community room with a fitness area and a children's play area, a second-floor laundry, a second-floor roof terrace, a mezzanine sitting area, and the landscaped rear garden with its stepped fountain — a substantial amount of common space for a building at this price level. The garage is operated for residents, with a waitlist per management-sourced records.
The capital history visible in the Department of Buildings record is a series of filings: façade repair on both the east and west elevations across 2011–2016 with the associated sidewalk sheds, a new steam boiler plant with gas burners filed in September 2017, sprinkler and fire-suppression upgrades through the 2010s, and a lobby renovation filed in 2011. Filings do not confirm completion or current condition; ask for sign-offs and recent engineering reports, starting with the 2017 boiler filing.
The building's underlying financing is with a lender that specializes in cooperative corporations; ACRIS records a 2009 mortgage taken at the time of privatization and a 2021 refinancing. Any buyer should ask for the current underlying mortgage balance, rate and maturity, the reserve position, the commercial rent roll with lease expirations, and the status of the next façade cycle.
Policy framework
Ownership form: Cooperative. Purchase requires a full board package and an interview. New York City Local Law 58 of 2026 now sets acknowledgment and decision timelines for co-op applications, which should shorten the tail end of an approval — but the board's August 1 to September 8 summer recess is a real constraint on a mid-summer contract.
Financing: up to 80 percent of purchase price per management-sourced records. That ceiling is high for a Manhattan cooperative and is one of the building's genuine advantages.
Post-closing liquidity: not required per management-sourced records. Buyers should not read this as an absence of financial scrutiny — the board still reviews the full package — but it removes the reserve test that disqualifies otherwise-strong buyers elsewhere in the corridor.
Purchase structures: co-purchasing and guarantors are permitted. Corporate purchases, diplomatic purchases, and parents purchasing for a child are not. Trusts and LLCs are not addressed in the published policy set; a buyer intending to take title through an estate-planning vehicle must clear it with the managing agent before signing.
Pied-à-terre and secondary residence: permitted.
Subletting: permitted with board approval; short-term rentals and Airbnb prohibited. A surcharge of 25 percent of base maintenance per month applies for the duration of the sublet, plus a shareholder administrative fee. That surcharge is high enough that the building should not be underwritten as a rental hold.
Pets: permitted.
In-unit washer/dryer: not permitted. Central laundry only.
Alterations: the building runs a formal review process with architect and managing-agent review fees and a refundable security deposit, at two tiers for major and minor work. Budget for it on any gut renovation.
Flip tax: not documented in public records. Ask specifically, and ask for the number in writing — privatized cooperatives frequently carry a substantial transfer fee adopted at conversion precisely to hold maintenance down.
Real estate taxes: the building pays full taxes. The shelter-rent payment-in-lieu arrangement that applies to a Mitchell-Lama ends at privatization with no phase-in. The exemption line that appears on the lot in the Department of Finance rolls reflects individual homeowner exemptions administered at the corporation level rather than any building-wide program benefit; no 421-a, J-51 or other program exemption code appears on this lot in any assessment roll from FY2011 through FY2027.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $750 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Sublet
4 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $150 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $75 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Administrative Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount $300 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Monthly FeeRecurringThird Party Payable | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount 25% of the base maintenance for each month shall be added to the current maintenance for the duration of the sublet and is payable starting 1st month of sublet. | Refundable Not stated |
Alteration
6 items
Major alteration
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Architect Review FeeConditional · Recurring | Paid by Resident | When With the application | Amount $1700 (If the renovations require a more substantial review, it will be billed to the Shareholder at the direct cost to the Corporation) | Refundable Not stated |
| Managing Agent's Review Fee | Paid by Resident | When With the application | Amount $150 | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Security Deposit | Paid by Resident | When With the application | Amount $2,500 | Refundable Refundable |
Minor alteration
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Architect Review Fee | Paid by Resident | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Not stated |
| Managing Agent's Review Fee | Paid by Resident | When With the application | Amount $150 | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Security Deposit | Paid by Resident | When With the application | Amount $1,200 | Refundable Refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Guarantors
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Co-purchasing
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for an employed child
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for a student child
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Purchase or lease by a corporation
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsSee sublet policy for more detailsSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $299 per room a monthMedian of 15 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $1.07 per square foot a monthMedian of 3 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, roof deck, garden, garage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $91,729/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $47
- Modeled exposure split equally across 162 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Recent sales
The building trades as one of the more accessible full-service doorman cooperatives on the Upper West Side, and its resale market is a young one — every apartment now on the market came into private ownership after 2009. ACRIS records roughly 116 share transfers across about 90 distinct apartments since January 2010, which is a healthy turnover rate for a 162-apartment building and gives the market a real comparable set line by line.
Pricing sits well below the prewar cooperative stock on West End Avenue and Central Park West and below the corridor's newer condominiums, and the reason is structural rather than qualitative: postwar construction, a Columbus Avenue address rather than a park-front one, and the pricing discipline of a building whose shareholders largely bought in at insider terms. On a per-room basis the building is competitive with the smaller prewar co-ops on the surrounding side streets while offering a doorman, a garage, an elevator bank and common amenities that those buildings do not have.
The dispersion within the building is wide. Line, floor, exposure, balcony and — above all — renovation condition separate the top of the range from the bottom by more than they would in a market-rate building of the same vintage, because the privatization left a mixed inventory of untouched and fully renovated apartments. Total monthly carrying cost is the number to compare, not the asking price: maintenance here is supported by a substantial commercial rent roll, and the utilities and services included should be checked against any building being weighed alongside it. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 29, 2026 | 20G | 3 BR · 1.5 BA | $1,349,000 | +0.0% | |
| Mar 10, 2026 | 9D | 1 BR · 1 BA | $720,000 | -6.5% | |
| Jan 27, 2026 | 5C | 1 BR · 1 BA | $720,000 | -4.0% | |
| Dec 15, 2025 | 15A | 3 BR · 1.5 BA | $1,295,000 | -7.2% | |
| Sep 4, 2025 | 8G | 3 BR · 2 BA · 1,215 sf | $1,425,000 | $1,173/sf | -9.5% |
| Jun 17, 2025 | 9E | 2 BR · 1 BA | $885,000 | +0.0% | |
| Jan 8, 2025 | 18G | 3 BR · 1.5 BA | $1,320,000 | -5.0% | |
| Sep 10, 2024 | 21A | 3 BR | $1,500,000 | -1.3% |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2025): a median $1,094/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 2.1% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01224-0029). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
Closed rents at Columbus Park Tower, last 36 months
| Size | Leases | Median / month |
|---|---|---|
| 2 bedroom | 2 | $4,997 |
3 closed sublet leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease December 2025. Based on few leases. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.
What would your apartment rent for?
The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at Columbus Park Tower and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $1.29M (7 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 21, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $26,356 to close, or 2.0% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $12,950
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $13,406
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with Columbus Park Tower and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Columbus Park Tower. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Underwrite the commercial income. The corporation owns roughly 11,000 square feet of retail, a 17,700-square-foot garage and a small office component. Review the retail rent roll, lease expiration schedule and garage agreement alongside debt service, reserves and planned capital work. Compare the cash-flow impact of a vacancy or rent reset on a large retail lease with those other obligations.
The financing and liquidity terms are the reason to be here. Eighty percent financing with no post-closing liquidity requirement is close to condominium-grade underwriting inside a cooperative. Run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator against the actual terms rather than against the corridor default.
Ask about the privatization's residual structure. Cooperatives that privatize out of Mitchell-Lama typically make provision for shareholders who did not or could not purchase — long-term leaseholds, protected occupancies, or similar. Ask the managing agent how many apartments remain in any such category and how the corporation accounts for them. It is a legitimate question and it affects the share count and the sellout picture.
Get the flip tax in writing. It is not in the public record, and privatized buildings very often carry a large one. It belongs in your seller-side math on the way in, not on the way out.
Read the condition, not the address. Renovation quality varies more here than in almost any comparable building, and estate-condition apartments price accordingly. Run the Renovation Cost Calculator before bidding on an original apartment.
Time the board around the recess. August 1 to September 8 is a documented board recess. A July contract can sit.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the policy stack. Eighty percent financing, no post-closing liquidity requirement, pied-à-terre permitted, pets permitted — that combination is rare in a Manhattan cooperative and it materially widens your buyer pool. Put it in the first paragraph of the marketing, not the last.
Sell the through-block light. Every apartment has east and west exposure. Very little of the surrounding postwar stock does. Photograph both ends of the apartment at the right time of day.
Present the total monthly, not the maintenance line alone. The commercial rent roll subsidizes carrying cost here in a way that competing buildings cannot match; buyers comparing monthlies across the neighborhood will not know that unless you show them.
Be direct about condition. The inventory in this building splits cleanly between renovated and original. Renovated apartments clear at real premiums; original apartments clear when priced honestly against the work. Trying to bridge the gap in the asking price is what stalls listings here.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 100 West 94th Street, also evaluate:
- 100 West 93rd Street — a 1972–73 middle-income rental converted to condominium in 2006, one block south; the closest structural analogue in the neighborhood and the condominium alternative
- 110 West 94th Street — a 1936 Art Deco cooperative on the same block; the small, low-cost, no-doorman opposite of this building
- 250 West 94th Street — Sugarman & Berger, 1925; the prewar full-service cooperative alternative on the same street
- 175 West 93rd Street — a Rosario Candela cooperative nearby; prewar prestige at a different price and a different policy posture
- 123 West 93rd Street — 1926 cooperative, the mid-size prewar alternative
- 220 West 93rd Street — Jacob M. Felson, 1926, run as a condominium; prewar architecture without cooperative board approval
- 275 West 96th Street — 1983 ground-up condominium; the postwar-scale, full-service condominium comparison to the north
- 12 West 96th Street and 50 West 96th Street — prewar cooperatives on the 96th Street corridor
- 245 West 99th Street (Ariel West) — COOKFOX new-construction condominium; the high end of the uptown Broadway corridor
More Upper West Side buildings
- 100 West 80th Street (The Orleans) — 1899 condominium
- 100 West 81st Street — 1920 co-op
- 100 West 93rd Street (100 West / Leader House) — 1972 condominium
- Claremont Hall (100 Claremont Avenue) — 2024 condominium by Robert A.M. Stern Architects
- 101 West 78th Street (The Evelyn) — 1886 condominium
- 101 West 81st Street (The Endicott) — 1889 co-op
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper West Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper West Side.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at Columbus Park Tower?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com