- Year built
- 1920
- Type
- Condominium
- Units
- 12
- Floors
- 7
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Leasing by owners
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted with conditions
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Permitted
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase price
- Doorman
- Virtual doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2005–2024
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2024
- $1,252
- floor-adjusted, 1 sale
- Listing discount
- 1.3%
- Recorded sales
- 16
- On record
- 2005–2024
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The SoCa Building would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
Start with the address, because on this block it is the whole problem. Tax block 595 carries six other buildings — 459, 465, 471 and 481 Washington Street, and 474 and 482 Greenwich Street — plus a further lot on Washington Street that the Department of Finance classes as a condominium rental rather than an ownership building. They are distinct properties; confirm each ownership structure, governing documents and financials rather than infer condominium tenure from proximity or a shared tax block. The SoCa Building is none of them. It is condominium number 1103, on billing lot 7502, with twelve unit lots numbered 1101 through 1112, standing at the corner of Watts and Greenwich Streets. City records and search results that group buildings by street name will conflate it with its neighbors; they should be disregarded.
The building itself is a 1920 masonry loft on a 4,000-square-foot corner parcel, seven stories, converted to residential condominium ownership at the end of the 1990s. The conversion sequence is legible in the record even though the governing alteration job predates the department's published database: a March 2000 fire-protection filing cites Alteration Type 1 job number 101790377 as the parent application, and the twelve unit lots then closed to twelve separate individual purchasers over fourteen weeks between June and September 2000. That staggered pattern of closings to unrelated buyers is what a genuine sellout looks like. Every one of the twelve lots is classed R4 on the current assessment roll, each in a different owner's name.
What distinguishes the building operationally is that it is genuinely boutique rather than nominally so. Twelve residences, no doorman, a superintendent and a virtual-doorman entry system, and a common roof deck with a pool that the condominium filed for and permitted in 2006 — an unusual amenity for a building this size, and one that carries real maintenance and insurance weight against twelve owners.
The corner position is the other structural fact. Frontage on both Watts and Greenwich means two exposures on the north and west sides of the building and, per the 2006 sidewalk-shed filings, ninety linear feet of Watts Street and seventy linear feet of Greenwich Street to maintain. It is a block from West Street and Hudson River Park, two blocks from the Holland Tunnel approach, and served by the 1 at Canal and the A/C/E at Canal and Sixth.
Architecture and unit composition
The lot is 50 feet by 80 feet and irregular, and the building fills it across seven floors at a roof height of about 84 feet. PLUTO records roughly 23,090 square feet of residential area; the DOF roll carries the base lot at 24,850 gross square feet. Recorded floor area works out to a FAR of 5.77 against the district's 6.02 residential maximum; that simple comparison does not establish legal zoning floor area or what further work is permitted.
The residences vary widely. The current assessment roll records unit sizes from about 1,439 square feet at the smaller end to 1,982 and 3,479 square feet at the top of the stack, with most falling between 1,400 and 2,000 square feet. Twelve homes across seven floors means the typical floor carries two residences, north and south, with the largest home occupying the top of the building. Because the plates differ this much, a building average carries almost no information; price the specific residence.
The filings describe exterior repair rather than replacement. A 2006 roof filing covered removing the membrane, rebuilding portions of the parapet, and installing the roof deck and pool; facade repair filings followed in 2007 and again in 2011, the latter described in the filing as crack repair, repointing, flashing, sealant and stucco. Sidewalk sheds and pipe scaffold were filed across both frontages during both cycles. Completion and the facade's current condition need confirming from recent inspection reports and board materials ahead of the next Local Law 11 cycle.
Building operations
The staffing model is a superintendent plus a video-intercom and virtual-doorman entry system, not a doorman roster. Shared elements are practical: elevator, central air conditioning, basement storage cages, and the common roof deck. Package handling and access run through the entry system.
The finances are not published and no readable financial statement for this condominium was available for this page. A buyer should ask the managing agent three questions directly and in writing: the current reserve balance, whether any assessment is live or contemplated, and the status of the facade under the periodic inspection cycle. A twelve-unit condominium with an elevator, a masonry corner exterior and a rooftop pool spreads real capital cost across a small owner base, and without statements there is no basis to judge whether future capital work would be funded from reserves, common charges, assessments or borrowing.
Real estate taxes — no exemption on the roll. No exemption of any kind appears on the twelve residential unit lots on the fiscal 2027 assessment roll; the exemption line is zero on every one. There is no 421-a, no 485-x, and no J-51. The historical J-51 roll for this tax block records benefits on three other lots — 6, 16 and 48 — all initiated in 1982 on twelve-year terms and expired by the mid-1990s. It records none for this property. There is no exemption step-up schedule to model; abatements apply on the bill, so underwrite the actual current bill on the specific unit.
Policy framework
Everything below comes from management-sourced records on file, current as of August 2026, and should be confirmed with the managing agent before contract.
Ownership form: Condominium. Transfers proceed through a board application and a right of first refusal exercised after a complete purchase package has been submitted and reviewed by the managing agent.
Financing: 80 percent maximum, 20 percent minimum down. Post-closing liquidity is not required — a genuinely permissive posture and a meaningful advantage over the cooperative alternatives in the same submarket.
Buyer capital contribution: An amount equal to five months' common charges, payable by the purchaser at closing. Model it into the closing statement; on a loft-sized residence it is not a rounding error.
Subletting: Permitted with board approval. Short-term rentals and hosting-platform stays are prohibited. The lease application carries a $1,200 application fee plus a $700 processing fee, a $20 per-applicant credit check, and a $1,000 refundable move-in deposit, with a $1,000 refundable move-out deposit from the owner.
Pied-à-terre, secondary residence, co-purchase, guarantors, parents purchasing for a child, corporate and diplomatic purchase: All permitted with board approval.
Pets and in-unit laundry: Pets are permitted with board approval; in-unit washers and dryers are permitted without qualification. Smoking is prohibited.
Sale and alteration fees per management-sourced records: buyer application processing $700, non-refundable; credit check $20 per applicant; refundable move-in deposit $1,000; refundable move-out deposit $1,000 from the seller; alteration application $500 with a $5,000 refundable security deposit.
Flip tax: No flip tax appears in the material reviewed. The five-month capital contribution is buyer-paid and is not a substitute for a seller-side transfer fee — confirm with the managing agent before setting a net-proceeds expectation.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of August 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
5 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $700 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Capital Contribution | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount Requires confirmation: the published schedule's figure is incomplete or inconsistent | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $20 per Applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move Out Deposit | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Refundable |
Rental or lease
5 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $1,200 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $700 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $20 per Applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move Out Deposit | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move In Deposit | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Refundable |
Alteration
2 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Resident | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Security Deposit | Paid by Resident | When Upon approval | Amount $5,000 | Refundable Refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
- Guarantors
- Permitted with conditionsWith board approvalSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
- Co-purchasing
- Permitted with conditionsWith board approvalSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
- Parent buying for an employed child
- Permitted with conditionsWith board approvalSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
- Parent buying for a student child
- Permitted with conditionsWith board approvalSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
- Purchase or lease by a corporation
- Permitted with conditionsWith board approvalSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Leasing by owners
- Permitted with conditionsWith board approvalSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Permitted with conditionsWith board approvalSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedWith board approvalSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Virtual doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Virtual or video entry
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Pool, roof deck, storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
This building is below the 25,000 sq ft threshold at which LL97 limits apply to a building on its own. It is still covered if it shares a tax lot or condominium board with buildings totaling over 50,000 sq ft; confirm on DOB’s covered-buildings list.
See full Local Law 97 analysis →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Recent sales
The SoCa Building prices as boutique northern-Tribeca loft product: real plates, a low unit count, minimal staffing, and a full unabated tax bill. Per square foot it belongs in the band occupied by converted loft condominiums between Canal and Houston rather than the band set by full-service Tribeca new construction, and that distinction should drive the comparable set.
Three adjustments matter. First, unit sizes range from roughly 1,400 to nearly 3,500 square feet across only twelve homes, so building averages mislead — price the plate and the exposure. Second, common charges spread a superintendent, an elevator, a masonry corner facade and a rooftop pool across twelve owners, but the count alone does not establish higher per-foot carry than a larger loft building; compare actual budgets, charges and included services. Third, the absence of any abatement means the monthly number is fully loaded from day one, which is an advantage in underwriting even though the starting figure is higher than abated inventory nearby.
Comparables should come from converted loft condominiums in Hudson Square, northern Tribeca and western SoHo of similar vintage and scale — including, carefully, the several separate buildings on this same tax block. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mar 14, 2024 | 1S | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,543 sf | $1,975,000 | $1,280/sf | -1.2% |
| Oct 28, 2022 | 4S | 1 BR · 1 BA · 1,576 sf | $2,665,000 | $1,691/sf | -0.9% |
| Dec 1, 2021 | 4S | 1 BR · 1 BA · 1,576 sf | $2,460,000 | $1,561/sf | -1.4% |
| Jan 14, 2020 | 1N | 3 BR · 2 BA · 2,000 sf | $2,675,000 | $1,338/sf | -0.7% |
| Apr 6, 2018 | 3N | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,982 sf | $3,100,000 | $1,564/sf | -4.6% |
| May 19, 2017 | 2S | 2 BR · 1 BA · 1,551 sf | $2,650,000 | $1,709/sf | +0.0% |
| Jan 29, 2015 | 1S | 1 BR · 1,543 sf | $2,295,000 | $1,487/sf | +0.0% |
| Jan 30, 2012 | 1SOUTH | 1 BR · 1,543 sf | $1,375,000 | $891/sf | -1.8% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2024) cleared a median $1,252/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 1.3% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00595-7502; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at The SoCa Building and nearby.
Buying here? Condo closing costs with a mortgage typically run 3 to 6% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with The SoCa Building and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The SoCa Building. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Confirm the lot before anything else. This is block 595, lot 7502, condominium number 1103, unit lots 1101 through 1112. Six other buildings on this block are separate condominiums and one further lot on the block is a rental. Have your attorney pull the declaration for this lot.
The building answers to two addresses. 130 Watts Street and 468–470 Greenwich Street are the same building. Title, tax bills and listing records may use either.
Budget the five-month capital contribution. It is buyer-paid at closing; compare its actual amount with transfer taxes, financing and other transaction charges before ranking the costs. Run the Buyer Closing Cost Calculator with it included.
Twelve owners carry a pool. The roof deck and pool were permitted in 2006 and they carry maintenance, insurance and eventual replacement cost against a very small owner base. Ask for the reserve balance, the assessment history and the facade cycle status in writing.
No exemption on the roll and no landmark constraint. The assessment roll shows no exemption on the unit lots; check the unit's tax bill. Exterior alterations run through the Department of Buildings without a Certificate of Appropriateness — a real cost advantage over comparable buildings inside Tribeca's designated districts.
Financing runs to 80 percent. There is no co-op board admission; purchases run through the condominium's application and right-of-first-refusal process. Confirm any post-closing liquidity requirement in the current declaration, bylaws and house rules.
What to know if you’re selling
Sell the corner and the plate. Two frontages, two exposures, a full loft floor plate and a rooftop pool. A twelve-unit building will never win on services, and it does not need to.
Distinguish the building explicitly in your marketing. Buyers searching this block surface half a dozen unrelated condominiums. Name the condominium, the lot and the two addresses so the diligence conversation starts in the right place.
Present the tax posture up front. The roll shows no exemption, now or historically; confirm with the unit's tax bill. A carrying-cost analysis presented early beats the same fact surfacing in a buyer's attorney's review.
Have the capital answers ready. Facade cycle, reserve balance, assessment history, pool maintenance. A seller who has already sourced them from the managing agent controls the conversation. Run the True Monthly Carrying Cost Calculator against your asking strategy.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering the SoCa Building, also evaluate:
- 481 Washington Street — the Spice Warehouse; a separate condominium on the same tax block and the closest structural analogue
- 459 Washington Street — separate condominium on the same block; useful for micro-location calibration
- 471 Washington Street — separate condominium on the same block
- 482 Greenwich Street — separate condominium on the same block, on the same avenue frontage
- 474 Greenwich Street — separate building on the same block; the immediate neighbor
- 475 Greenwich Street — loft condominium a block north; comparable vintage and scale
- 505 Greenwich Street — Hudson Square condominium; comparable position, different product
- 443 Greenwich Street — the benchmark Tribeca warehouse conversion; the ceiling of the loft-conversion comparable set
- 92 Laight Street — Tribeca loft building; similar bones at a different scale
- 195 Hudson Street — converted Tribeca warehouse condominium; a close structural analogue
- 330 Spring Street — Hudson Square condominium a few blocks north; the newer, full-amenity alternative
- 15 Renwick Street — Hudson Square new construction; the new-development alternative at a higher price point
More Tribeca buildings
- 112 Hudson Street — 1886 condominium
- 116 Hudson Street — condominium
- 124 Hudson Street — 2000 condominium by BKSK Architects
- 134 Duane Street (Main Duane) — 1859 co-op
- 137 Duane Street — 1864 condominium
- 138 Reade Street — 2005 condominium
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Tribeca — read The Roebling Team Guide to Tribeca.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at The SoCa Building?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com