Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfHell's Kitchen $1,328/sf ▴0%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1927
170 East 79th Street
170 East 79th Street, New York, NY 10075

170 East 79th Street

170 East 79th Street, New York, NY 10075

Lenox Hill, Upper East Side

BBL 1014130045 · BIN 1043253

At a glance
Year built
1927
Type
Cooperative
Units
23
Floors
15
Amenities
Doorman, live-in resident manager, central laundry, private storage, bike room, roof deck, and a landscaped residents' garden per management-sourced and listing records
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Dogs and cats
Permitted with conditions
Washer/dryer
Permitted
Maximum financing
Requires confirmation
Flip tax
1.5% of the purchase price, paid by the seller
Doorman
Doorman (hours not stated)

170 East 79th Street sales history: 26 recorded transfers

Own an apartment at 170 East 79th Street?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2026

Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.

3BR median, 2025–2026
$1.6M
2 qualifying sales
Recent range
$1.6M – $3M
Listing discount
14.6%
Recorded transfers
26
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 170 East 79th Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

The Lexington-to-Third stretch of East 79th Street is the Upper East Side's quiet middle register: prewar apartment houses of twelve to sixteen stories, built through the 1910s and 1920s, mid-block, without the Fifth and Park addresses and without the pricing that goes with them. 170 East 79th Street sits in the middle of that stretch and is one of its smallest: twenty-three apartments in a fifteen-story building, which works out to fewer than two homes per floor.

That ratio is the building. It is achieved by duplexing. The A line runs as a stack of duplexes — the recorded transfer index shows apartments designated 1-2A, 3-4A, 5-6A, 7-8A and 11-12A — while the B line runs mostly as simplexes, with at least one B-line duplex created later. What a buyer gets is a prewar seven-room floor plan with internal stairs, wood-burning fireplaces, real entry galleries and, on most lines, a private or semi-private elevator landing. That is a house-like plan in a full-service building, and it is scarce enough on the Upper East Side that the building trades on it.

The two street numbers need to be reconciled when searching records. The Department of Finance, PLUTO and HPD all carry the tax lot as 168 East 79 Street, and ACRIS records apartments here under both numbers. Two other buildings on this tax block are separate properties: 120 East 79th Street is Lot 64, and 124 East 79th Street is Lot 7501, a 1985 ground-up condominium. Neither is this building, and neither shares its structure.

What most distinguishes 170 East 79th Street for a buyer today, though, is not the plans. It is the balance sheet — and here we are reading the cooperative's own audited statements rather than market lore.

Architecture and unit composition

Fifteen stories of brown brick over a four-story limestone base, mid-block on a 43-by-102-foot lot, with a balustraded roofline and balustraded openings at the lower floors that were the subject of a 2016–17 Department of Buildings repair filing; confirm completion and current condition. The building carries about 52,000 square feet of residential area — roughly 2,260 square feet per apartment across twenty-three homes, before common areas.

The mix is narrow by design: predominantly seven-room simplexes and duplexes, with a small number of much smaller apartments at the base and the top. Recorded transfers over the last two decades have moved 1B, 2B, 4B, 7B, 8B, 10B, 11B, 12B, 13B, 14B, PH-B, 9/10B and the full A-line duplex stack, which is essentially the whole building turning over once. City records count 26 units; the cooperative's audited statements count 23. The gap does not alone establish combinations; compare the dated records, amended share schedule, approved alteration plans and current legal occupancy before resolving it.

Building operations

Full-service at boutique scale: doorman, live-in resident manager, a union staff under the Service Employees International Union Local 32BJ contract, central laundry, private storage, a bike room, a roof deck, and a landscaped garden. The house rules on file are strict in the ways small prewar houses tend to be — an 80 percent carpeting requirement in every room but kitchens and baths, service-entrance delivery for packages and groceries, move-ins and move-outs limited to weekday hours with seven working days' notice and a refundable deposit, front-door keys issued only to permanent residents, and a formal alteration agreement approved by the board, the managing agent and the superintendent before any work begins.

The building still heats with fuel oil, which is why a fuel surcharge appeared as a separate assessment in 2022 and 2023 before being dropped from the following budget. Real estate taxes are the dominant line: at roughly $745,000 in the most recent year on file, they run close to 46 percent of total expenditures. The assessment roll shows no exemption; abatements apply at the bill level, so check the tax bill. Maintenance rose 4.75 percent in one recent year and 4.50 percent the next, and the cooperative operated close to break-even before depreciation in both.

Two items in the financial statements deserve a buyer's attention. First, the cooperative has not conducted a study of the remaining useful lives of its building components, and the auditor's report expressly notes that management omitted the supplementary information about future major repairs and replacements that accounting standards call for. The missing study and supplementary disclosure do not establish that no capital plan exists; request current budgets, engineering reports and board planning records. Second, the reserve fund fell by roughly $120,000 across the most recent year on file, funding about $121,000 of building improvements. The $275,000 credit line was undrawn at the cited year-end; verify current availability, borrowing terms and repayment obligations rather than treating it as cash reserves.

Policy framework

Ownership here is by shares and proprietary lease, and the board reviews every purchaser. Expect a full financial and personal board package and an interview. The flip tax is 1.5 percent of the sale price, payable by the seller, per management-sourced records; the buyer pays an application processing fee, a package reproduction fee, and a separate financing fee where a mortgage is involved, with refundable move-in and move-out deposits on both sides.

The published financing ceiling is where the record breaks down. The management-sourced portal's structured policy field says 70 percent; the building description on the same portal says 50 percent. Those imply very different buyers, and the difference is not something to resolve from a website. Confirm it in writing with the managing agent before you make an offer, and confirm the post-closing liquidity expectation at the same time — the reviewed materials do not establish the current liquidity requirement or which qualification most often limits purchases.

Pets are permitted with written board consent, capped at one dog and two cats. Non-family occupancy without the shareholder in residence requires prior written board consent, which is the mechanism through which the board controls pied-à-terre use; purchases through trusts, LLCs and other entities are similarly a matter of board policy rather than published rule. Short-term rentals are prohibited. The house rules on file are dated October 25, 2013 and are amendable by board resolution at any time, so treat them as the framework and the managing agent as the authority.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Flip tax (transfer fee on resale)
Terms
Equal to 1.5% of the sales price
Rate
1.5% of the purchase price
Paid by
Seller

Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Purchase

10 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Non-refundable
Financing FeeConditionalConditions: If applicablePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $450 (if applicable)Refundable Non-refundable
Package Reproduction FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $195Refundable Non-refundable
Disbursement FeePaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount To be determinedRefundable Non-refundable
Move-In FeePaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount To be determinedRefundable Non-refundable
Closing FeePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $750Refundable Non-refundable
Disbursement FeePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount To be determinedRefundable Non-refundable
Move-Out FeePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount To be determinedRefundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-In DepositPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable
Move-Out DepositPaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Financing and purchase requirements

Maximum financing
Requires confirmationSources differ. Confirm with building management.

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Subletting by shareholders
Not verified
Short-term rentals
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Pied-à-terre ownership
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Dogs and cats
Permitted with conditionsPermitted with written board consent; no more than one dog and two cats per apartment, per the house rules on fileSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
In-unit washer/dryer
PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Maintenance, per room
$923 per room a monthMedian of 5 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026

Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Doorman (hours not stated)Source: The Roebling Team's building profile
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Roof deck, garden, bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟠
Material — penalties in current period, escalating in 2030
2024–2029 annual penalty
$16,698/yr
2030–2034 annual penalty
$68,859/yr
Per unit / month range
$54 – $221
Modeled exposure split equally across 26 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
Unsafe
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as Unsafe — conditions requiring prompt corrective action. The owner must install any public protection the inspector specifies (a sidewalk shed, construction fence or structural netting, depending on the condition) and make the repairs. Review the subsequent filings, the repair status, and the building’s board and financial materials — we pull the repair scope and funding picture for you.

Inspection history
2005–10
SWARMP
2010–15
Safe
2015–20
Safe
2020–25
Unsafe
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2029
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Recent sales

The reviewed share-transfer history spans more than two decades and includes separately named individuals, couples and estate sales. Names and transfer frequency do not establish unrelated beneficial ownership or absence of common control; verify current holdings and share allocations. Compare seven-room duplexes, larger B-line simplexes and smaller base or top-floor apartments using actual area, layout, floor, condition and dated prices. Estimate renovation costs from the particular scope; no fixed price ratio or renovation premium is established here.

Read the carrying cost with the underlying mortgage in view. The building's debt is interest-only at 3.00 percent until September 1, 2031, which means no principal is being amortized and the full $2,275,000 balance comes due at maturity, to be refinanced or repaid on terms not yet known. That is a dated event; model it as a range of scenarios. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Apr 20, 202612B
3 BR · 2.5 BA
$1,700,000-5.3%
Nov 18, 20259
4 BR · 4.5 BA
$2,995,000-16.7%
Oct 10, 2025MAIS
2 BR · 2 BA
$840,000-9.2%
Jul 7, 20255
4 BR · 3 BA
$2,800,000-20.0%
Feb 25, 202513B
3 BR · 3 BA
$1,575,000-12.5%
Jul 2, 20151B
1 BR · 1,000 sf
$520,000$520/sf-2.8%
Feb 23, 20158B
3 BR · 1,800 sf
$2,650,000$1,472/sf+39.5%
Aug 21, 201411
3 BR
$2,720,200-1.1%

Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2015): a median $996/sf (recorded) across 2 sales. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 4.8% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

8B · 1,800 sf+36%
$1,950,000 2007 → $1,900,000 2012 → $2,650,000 ($1,472/sf) 2015
2B · 1,700 sf+17%
$1,325,000 ($779/sf) 2004 → $1,545,000 ($909/sf) 2011
7-9%
$2,300,000 2005 → $2,100,000 2010
View all 26 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01413-0045). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 170 East 79th Street and nearby.

Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with 170 East 79th Street and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 170 East 79th Street. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Model the 2031 refinance. The underlying mortgage is interest-only at 3.00 percent and matures September 1, 2031. Nothing is being paid down. The replacement rate is not known; if it is higher, debt service on the same balance rises with it. Model more than one rate — it is the fact most listings will not mention.

Settle the financing ceiling in writing. Fifty percent and seventy percent are different buildings. Get the answer from the managing agent, in writing, before you offer — and ask for the post-closing liquidity expectation in the same email.

Ask for the current capital plan. The cited statements lack a reserve study and the auditor flagged missing future-repair disclosure; that does not establish no planning exists. Also request the specific ages of the boiler, elevators, roof and facade, the most recent Local Law 11 filing and its findings, and any assessment the board has discussed. The reserve balance alone will not tell you what you need.

Understand the annual June assessment. It is not a capital assessment. It offsets the co-op/condo property tax abatement credits the corporation passes through to eligible shareholders, and it recurs. Read it alongside the abatement credit, not on its own.

Verify the unit count and the plan. City records say 26 units; the audited statements say 23. The count difference alone does not establish its cause. Review the current share schedule and DOB approval/sign-off history for the specific apartment alongside the original Schedule A.

Budget the insurance. Shareholders are required to carry $3,000,000 in personal liability coverage and at least $100,000 in all-risk property coverage. That is above the Upper East Side norm and it is a real annual line.

Search under both street numbers. The city addresses this lot as 168 East 79th Street; ACRIS records the apartments under 168 and 170. Your attorney should run both.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with the plan, not the address. A seven-room prewar duplex with a wood-burning fireplace and a private elevator landing, in a twenty-three-unit full-service house, is the product. Market it against the prewar cooperatives on East 78th, 79th and 80th Streets — not against the newer condominiums on the same block, which serve a different buyer.

Get ahead of the mortgage question. Sophisticated buyers' counsel will find the 2031 interest-only maturity in the financials. Hand it over early with the reserve position, the line of credit and the recent maintenance history alongside it, and you control the narrative instead of answering it under pressure.

Assemble the diligence file before you list. Recent audited financials, house rules, proprietary lease, alteration agreement, facade and Local Law 11 history, and the Department of Buildings sign-off record for your apartment. Buyers' counsel in this corridor reads all of it.

Price condition honestly. Compare renovated and estate-condition sales and estimate the specific work required; condition alone does not guarantee a premium or sale. Run the Renovation Cost Calculator against your asking strategy before you set it.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 170 East 79th Street, also evaluate:

  • 156 East 79th Street — Schwartz & Gross, 1917; prewar cooperative on the same block face, converted 1967
  • 161 East 79th Street — Rouse & Goldstone, 1915; converted to cooperative in 1962, the same year as 170
  • 151 East 79th Street — Rouse & Goldstone, 1925; prewar cooperative across the street
  • 173 East 79th Street — 1928 prewar masonry cooperative directly opposite
  • 139 East 79th Street — Louis Allen Abramson, 1928; converted in 1946, one of the corridor's earliest cooperatives
  • 170 East 78th Street — 1927 cooperative one block south; the closest peer on vintage
  • 167 East 78th Street — Robert P. Rogers and Alfred Easton Poor, 1928; boutique prewar cooperative
  • 162 East 80th Street — 1926 prewar red brick and limestone cooperative
  • 124 East 79th Street — the 1985 ground-up condominium on this same tax block; the condominium alternative and the building most often confused with this one
  • 135 East 79th Street — Studio Sofield's 2013 condominium; the new-construction alternative at a higher price tier
  • 177 East 79th Street — 1980 postwar infill cooperative; the lower-priced alternative on the block

More Upper East Side buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper East Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper East Side.

Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at 170 East 79th Street?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com