275 West 10th Street (The Shephard)
275 West 10th Street, New York, NY 10014
BBL 1006317503 · BIN 1011743
- Year built
- 1896
- Type
- Condominium
- Units
- 38
- Floors
- 13
- Landmark status
- Requires confirmation
- City records and our profile differ. Confirm with building management.
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2017–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2026 to date
- $3,312
- floor-adjusted, 3 sales
- Listing discount
- 2.5%
- Recorded sales
- 67
- On record
- 2017–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Shephard would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
The Shephard is a 2017 boutique Romanesque Revival conversion of the 1896 Everard Storage Warehouse (Martin V.B. Ferdon original) — by Naftali Group and Starwood with Beyer Blinder Belle architecture and Gachot Studios interiors.
Few 2017-era Manhattan conversions assembled as institutional a roster as the Naftali / Starwood / Beyer Blinder Belle / Gachot team pedigree behind this one. Their work sits atop the 1896 Romanesque Revival Everard Storage Warehouse provenance, which grounds the building in genuine architectural history, and the result reads as intimate — a boutique 38-unit configuration at a Far West Village waterfront-adjacent location.
Architecture and building operations
Original 1896 building by Martin V.B. Ferdon as the Everard Storage Warehouse. The Naftali Group / Starwood 2017 conversion preserved the Romanesque Revival exterior while integrating Beyer Blinder Belle interior architecture and Gachot Studios interior design.
Operations: 24-hour doorman; concierge; fitness center; spa; private storage; landscaped roof terrace.
Policy framework — verify via The Roebling Research Library
- Type: Condominium
- Pets: Permitted under condominium framework
- Pied-à-terre: Permitted
- Subletting: Permitted under condominium procedures
- Financing: Standard condominium LTV
- LLC/trust/foreign buyers: All permitted
- Right of first refusal: Procedural only
- West Village Historic District — LPC permits required for facade work
Specific policy framework should be verified against the Roebling Research Library's offering plan and house rules at engagement.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
10 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $700, $750 if no broker | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Background Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant over 18 years old | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeeConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $75 per applicant and all occupants over the age of 18 (If purchasing in an LLC please pay an additional credit check fee for the business credit check report) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Messenger Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $65 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Working Capital Contribution | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount Equal to 12 months' Common Charges | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing Document Preparation Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-Out Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $1,250 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-Out Deposit | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $1,250 | Refundable Refundable |
Rental or lease
12 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Condo Lease FeeRecurring | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount 5% of the annual rent per year of the lease | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-Out FeeConditional | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount 500 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Processing FeeConditional | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $700 ($750 if no broker) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Background Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant and all occupants over the age of 18 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeeConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $75 per applicant and all occupants over the age of 18 (If purchasing in an LLC please pay an additional credit check fee for the business credit check report) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Pre-paid move out fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-Out DepositConditional | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount 1000 (if applicable) | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Refundable |
| Pre-Paid Move-Out Deposit | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Not stated |
Lease renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Condo Lease FeeRecurring | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount 5% per year of the annual rent | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, spa, roof deck, storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $10,230/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $16
- Modeled exposure split equally across 54 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.
- At the 38 residences in our building profile: $0 – $22. The two counts differ; confirm the count with the building.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. Facade inspections run on a fixed five-year cycle; future inspection, repair, and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — the licensed engineer the city requires to sign the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
Recent sales
Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jun 17, 2026 | 4C | 4 BR · 4.5 BA · 3,809 sf | $16,000,000 | $4,201/sf | -1.5% |
| Mar 16, 2026 | 8C | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,757 sf | $6,100,000 | $3,472/sf | -2.4% |
| Jan 8, 2026 | 7BSponsor Sale | 789 sf | $1,300,000 | $1,648/sf | off-mkt |
| Jul 28, 2023 | 11C | 1 BA · 630 sf | $1,575,000 | $2,500/sf | -1.3% |
| Jan 6, 2023 | 8D | 1 BA · 705 sf | $1,550,000 | $2,199/sf | -8.8% |
| Dec 5, 2022 | 6A | 4 BR · 2,932 sf | $10,350,000 | $3,530/sf | off-mkt |
| Nov 1, 2022 | 8HSponsor Sale | 876 sf | $1,800,000 | $2,055/sf | off-mkt |
| Jul 1, 2022 | 4C | 4 BR · 4.5 BA · 3,809 sf | $12,600,000 | $3,308/sf | +0.0% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $3,312/sf (floor-adjusted) across 3 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 2.5% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00631-7503). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.
Closed rents at The Shephard, last 36 months
| Size | Leases | Median / month |
|---|---|---|
| 2 bedroom | 2 | $20,000 |
3 closed leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease September 2026. Based on few leases. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.
What would your apartment rent for?
The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at The Shephard and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $6.1M (3 sales since 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $290,279 to close, or 4.8% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $137,250
- Mortgage recording tax: $88,069
- Title insurance: $27,450
- Attorneys, lender, building fees, reserves and filings: $37,510
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with The Shephard and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Shephard. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The Naftali / Starwood / Beyer Blinder Belle / Gachot Studios team pedigree is real institutional context.
The 1896 Everard Storage Warehouse provenance anchors architectural-history positioning.
The boutique 38-unit configuration supports operational intimacy.
The Romanesque Revival exterior is LPC-protected.
Roebling cross-references the offering plan through the Roebling Research Library during diligence.
Comparable buildings
- 150 Charles Street — CookFox / Witkoff 2015; nearby West Village trophy peer
- 165 Charles Street — Meier 2006; nearby West Village trophy peer
- 173 & 176 Perry Street — Meier 2002; nearby West Village trophy peer
- Superior Ink (400 W 12th) — Stern 2009; nearby West Village trophy peer
- 160 Leroy Street — Herzog & de Meuron 2018; nearby West Village trophy peer
Sources: The Roebling Research Library (offering plans, house rules, financial statements, board minutes, internal transaction records); NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers; publicly recorded NYC building data.
More West Village buildings
- 256 West 10th Street (Hudson Mews) — 1911 co-op
- 259 West 4th Street — 1905 condop
- 270 West 11th Street (Tudor Arms) — 1915 co-op
- 281 West 11th Street — 1901 co-op
- 295 West 11th Street — 1920 co-op
- 296 West 10th Street — 1998 condominium
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across West Village — read The Roebling Team Guide to West Village.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at The Shephard?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com