Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfMidtown East $1,279/sf ▾9%
Full index →
Condominium · 2014
Sixty East Eighty-Sixth
60 East 86th Street, New York, NY 10028

60 East 86th Street

60 East 86th Street, New York, NY 10028

Upper East Side

BBL 1014977502 · BIN 1090328

At a glance
Year built
2014
Type
Condominium
Units
14
Floors
19
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Doorman
Full-time doorman

Sixty East Eighty-Sixth sales history: 18 recorded sales

Own an apartment at Sixty East Eighty-Sixth?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2017–2026

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2026 to date
$2,836
1 sale
Listing discount
0.6%
Recorded sales
18
On record
2017–2026
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Sixty East Eighty-Sixth would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

60 East 86th Street is a small condominium with individual floor allocations to confirm in the middle of Carnegie Hill — and it is one of the clearest case studies in New York of why a buyer at this price point should read the audited financial statements before the floor plan.

The building itself is a straightforward proposition. Glenwood Management, a company built over decades on rental development, filed a New Building application in June 2013 for a nineteen-storey tower with fourteen residences on a mid-block site between Madison and Park. Thomas Juul-Hansen designed the interiors and the public spaces; Stephen B. Jacobs Group was architect of record. The declaration was recorded in 2016, and the first closing took place on March 3, 2017. The cited March 2017–September 2018 transfers should be reconciled by unit and grantor with current sponsor interests and amendments before concluding that sellout was complete or assigning any pricing effect.

The 47,683 square feet of building area divided across fourteen residences gives a gross-area ratio near 3,400 square feet, not measured interior living area or proof of full-floor layouts. Confirm each plan and assess noise directly at the mid-block and avenue exposures. The amenity package — library, fitness room, playroom, wine room, individual storage — is scaled to fourteen families rather than to a marketing brochure, and the operating budget reflects that.

What makes this building unusual, and what a buyer needs to understand, is the capital history of its first decade.

Architecture and unit composition

The building is a contemporary nineteen-storey tower with setbacks at the upper levels and terraces on the top floors. The exterior reads as grey limestone; the cladding system is the element that has been the subject of the repair programme described above, and a buyer should confirm with the managing agent exactly which elevations have been completed and which remain.

Confirm the fourteen residences' floor allocations, private-landing arrangements, window orientations and measured interior areas from approved plans; building-area averages do not establish those features. Interiors were designed by Thomas Juul-Hansen in a restrained Scandinavian idiom — pale timber, stone, and long uninterrupted sightlines across the plate. Fireplaces and terraces appear in parts of the stack. Compare floor, terrace rights, layout, area, exposure, condition and monthly costs across dated sales; the reported unit count does not isolate the causes of price differences.

Building operations

Staffing is the largest line in the budget by a wide margin — attended lobby coverage plus a resident superintendent for fourteen homes is a high service ratio, and it is what the common charge is chiefly buying. Insurance is the fastest-growing line, forecast up sharply again for the current year, which is a normal experience in a building carrying an open construction-defect history. Utilities are modest relative to payroll.

Common charges rose 4.73 percent for 2024 and 8.00 percent for 2025. A buyer should ask for the current year's budget and for any board communication on further increases, and should read the professional-fee line to see what the litigation is still costing, if anything, after settlement.

The revenue statement carries a line for sublet and other fees, which suggests leasing carries a fee; confirm the amount and terms. The by-laws require each initial purchaser to make a working capital contribution equal to two months of common charges. Beyond that, the current policy stack — the right-of-first-refusal notice period, the sublet rules and any minimum lease term, pet policy, alteration deposits and move-in rules — should be taken from the managing agent's current requirements package rather than from any listing summary.

The façade, the assessments, and the settlement

This is the material fact about 60 East 86th Street, and it is documented in the building's own audited financial statements and in the public court record.

In 2022 the condominium approved a $500,000 special assessment to fund a façade restoration project and to pay professional fees. In December 2022, the condominium commenced an action in New York County Supreme Court against the sponsor entity and related parties (Index No. 654781/2022), seeking damages for alleged building and construction defects. The trade press reported the filing in December 2022, describing claims that included water infiltration, balcony corrosion, venting problems, and a spalling façade cladding system.

In 2023 the condominium approved a further special assessment of $13,880,490 — an extraordinary figure for a fourteen-unit building — to fund the façade restoration, an HVAC project, and the continuing professional fees. Unit owners were to be billed their proportionate share across twenty-four monthly installments beginning April 1, 2024.

In August 2024 the matter settled. Under the settlement agreement recorded in the audited statements, the sponsor agreed to make all necessary repairs to the building's façade cladding system at its own cost and expense, and to pay the condominium $275,000 for repairs the condominium had already made. The $13.88 million special assessment was discontinued in September 2024, and a portion of the funds already collected was refunded to unit owners.

The filings point to active work. DOB records show a façade recladding filing in July 2023, followed by a dense run of sidewalk-shed, pipe-scaffold, roof-protection, plywood-fence and overhead-protection filings through 2024 and 2025, including scaffold from the tenth floor to the nineteenth-floor setback. Anyone touring the building may find protection on the sidewalk and on the elevations, and should ask the managing agent for the current status, schedule and the sponsor's remaining scope.

The financial position at the last year-end on file reflects all of this. The reserve fund stood above $500,000 at December 31, 2024, up from roughly $121,000 a year earlier, and the condominium carried approximately $684,000 of deferred special-assessment revenue to be recognised as the remaining repair work progresses. Operations run at a modest deficit before assessments, which is why common charges rose in each of the last two budget years. The statements on file show no association mortgage or other building debt; as a condominium the building has no cooperative-style underlying mortgage.

Two governance points follow from the same statements. The condominium has not commissioned a reserve study, and its governing documents do not require funds to be accumulated in advance of need — which means future capital work may be funded by assessment, operating charges or borrowing rather than from a reserve. And the auditors note the omission of the required supplementary information on future major repairs and replacements.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of August 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Purchase

12 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Additional Processing FeeConditionalPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $200 if there is a 2nd Applicant or GuarantorRefundable Non-refundable
Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to managementRequiredPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $125 for each applicant, guarantor, and adult occupantRefundable Non-refundable
Credit Report Rerun FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $100 per applicant (if required for time due)Refundable Not stated
Move-In FeePaid to the buildingPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $2,000Refundable Non-refundable
Package Resubmission FeeConditionalPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $150 (if applicable)Refundable Not stated
Processing FeePaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $700Refundable Non-refundable
Rush Package Review FeeConditionalPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500 (if applicable)Refundable Not stated
Working Capital ContributionPaid to the buildingPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount Two month's common chargesRefundable Non-refundable
Move-Out FeePaid to the buildingPaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $2,000Refundable Non-refundable
Transfer Agent Closing FeeConditionalConditions: If Orsid's attendance is requiredPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $1,000Refundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-In DepositPaid to the buildingPaid by BuyerWhen At move-out and move-inAmount $2,500Refundable Refundable
Move-Out DepositPaid to the buildingPaid by SellerWhen At move-out and move-inAmount $2,500Refundable Refundable

Rental or lease

16 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Lease FeePaid to the buildingPaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount Equal to the the one (1) month of common chargesRefundable Non-refundable
Move-Out FeePaid to the buildingPaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount $2,000Refundable Non-refundable
Additional Processing FeeConditionalPaid to managementPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $200 if there is a 2nd Applicant or GuarantorRefundable Non-refundable
Application Processing FeePaid to managementPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $650Refundable Non-refundable
Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid to managementPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per applicant, guarantor and adult occupantRefundable Non-refundable
Credit Report Rerun FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to managementPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $100 per applicant (if required for time due)Refundable Non-refundable
Move-In FeePaid to the buildingPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $2,000Refundable Non-refundable
Package Resubmission FeeConditionalConditions: If ApplicablePaid to managementPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $150 (if applicable)Refundable Non-refundable
Rush Package Review FeeConditionalPaid to managementPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $500 (if applicable)Refundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-Out DepositPaid to the buildingPaid by LandlordWhen At move-out and move-inAmount $2,500Refundable Refundable
Move-In DepositPaid to the buildingPaid by TenantWhen At move-out and move-inAmount $2,500Refundable Refundable

Lease renewal

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Package Resubmission FeeConditionalPaid to managementPaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount $150 (if applicable)Refundable Not stated
Processing FeePaid to managementPaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount $250Refundable Non-refundable
Sublet FeePaid to the buildingPaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount One (1) month of common chargesRefundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-Out DepositConditionalPaid to the buildingPaid by LandlordWhen At move-out and move-inAmount $2500 (if changing apartments)Refundable Refundable
Move-In DepositConditionalPaid to the buildingPaid by TenantWhen At move-out and move-inAmount $2500 (if changing apartments)Refundable Refundable

Alteration

2 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Alteration Processing FeePaid to managementPaid by ResidentWhen Upon approvalAmount Decorative $250, Standard $1000, Major $2500. Please confirm with the Alteration Processor for the correct amountRefundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Alteration Security DepositConditionalPaid to the buildingPaid by ResidentWhen Upon approvalAmount $1000 (if applicable)Refundable Refundable

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: recent listing records
Attended lobby
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Fitness room, playroomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$17,070/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $102
Modeled exposure split equally across 14 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
Unsafe
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as Unsafe — conditions requiring prompt corrective action. The owner must install any public protection the inspector specifies (a sidewalk shed, construction fence or structural netting, depending on the condition) and make the repairs. Review the subsequent filings, the repair status, and the building’s board and financial materials — we pull the repair scope and funding picture for you.

Inspection history
2020–25
Unsafe
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2028
Assessed · 2020–25
$1,000 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Recent sales

Compare dated Carnegie Hill condominium trades using reliable interior areas and confirmed layouts rather than assume every home is full-floor or assign a market-wide price ranking. Reconcile the cited 2017–2018 transfers by unit and grantor with current sponsor interests, and establish actual resale volume from dated records rather than infer it from the fourteen-residence count.

Three things shape value here in a way that is specific to this building. The building is fully taxable with no abatement, so the real-estate tax line is what it appears to be. The construction-defect claim has been settled with the sponsor bearing the cost of the façade cladding repair, which removes the largest identifiable capital liability from the unit owners — the $13.88 million assessment that would otherwise have run through 2026 was discontinued. And the repair programme is still under way, which means the building is trading while it is under scaffold.

Indexed to the last complete year, the Upper East Side condominium market above the ten-million-dollar line is concentrated in a handful of new and near-new buildings, and buyers in that band underwrite capital risk closely. A settled claim with a funded remediation is a materially better position than an open one, and it is worth confirming the settlement's current performance rather than assuming it.

Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.

Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Jan 20, 20266
4 BR · 4.5 BA · 3,209 sf
$9,100,000$2,836/sf-4.2%
May 22, 2023T
4 BR · 4.5 BA · 4,850 sf
$12,400,000$2,557/sf-8.1%
Sep 7, 20184Sponsor Sale
4 BR · 4.5 BA · 3,209 sf
$8,400,000$2,618/sf-11.1%
Aug 2, 2018—
4 BR · 4.5 BA · 4,841 sf
$12,450,000$2,572/sf-15.6%
Dec 13, 20179Sponsor Sale
4 BR · 4.5 BA · 3,209 sf
$9,600,000$2,992/sf-3.5%
Aug 3, 2017—Sponsor Sale
4 BR · 4.5 BA · 4,841 sf
$12,450,000$2,572/sf+0.0%
Jun 30, 201716Sponsor Sale
3 BR · 3.5 BA · 2,225 sf
$7,555,924$3,396/sf-1.2%
May 11, 2017DUPLEXSponsor Sale
4 BR · 4.5 BA · 4,313 sf
$13,500,000$3,130/sf-6.9%

Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $2,836/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. Median listing discount 0.6% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

6 · 3,209 sf-2%
$9,250,000 ($2,883/sf) 2017 → $9,100,000 ($2,836/sf) 2026
View all 18 recorded sales, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01497-7502; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at Sixty East Eighty-Sixth and nearby.

Buying here? Condo closing costs with a mortgage typically run 3 to 6% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with Sixty East Eighty-Sixth and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Sixty East Eighty-Sixth. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Get the settlement, not the summary. Ask the managing agent for the board's current reporting on the sponsor's remaining façade scope, the completion schedule, and whether the sponsor is performing. The financial statements on file record the settlement terms as of March 2025; a buyer in 2026 needs the position today.

Read the assessment history in full. A fourteen-unit building that approved a $13.88 million assessment and then discontinued it is a building whose per-unit exposure to a single capital decision is very large. Understand what the deferred assessment revenue on the balance sheet is still earmarked for.

There is no reserve study and no required reserve funding. Model future capital as assessment risk, not as a reserve draw.

There is no abatement. Underwrite the tax line at its full amount.

What to know if you’re selling

Address the history directly and with documents. The construction-defect action is a matter of public record and has been reported in the trade press. A seller who provides the settlement position, the repair schedule and the discontinued-assessment record up front controls the narrative; a seller who lets a buyer's counsel discover it in the financial statements does not.

The scaffold is a timing question. Where the remediation stands relative to your marketing period is a real variable. Ask the managing agent for the expected completion of work on your elevation before you set a launch date.

Lead with the plate. Document the specific apartment’s measured size, floor allocation, entry arrangement and actual noise on this Carnegie Hill mid-block. Explain the stated sponsor-funded façade work with the current agreement and project records.

Comparable buildings

More Upper East Side buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper East Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper East Side.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at Sixty East Eighty-Sixth?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com