Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfMidtown East $1,279/sf ▾9%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1963
175 East 74th Street
175 East 74th Street, New York, NY 10021

175 East 74th Street

175 East 74th Street, New York, NY 10021

Lenox Hill, Upper East Side

BBL 1014090033 · BIN 1043089

At a glance
Year built
1963
Type
Cooperative
Units
96
Floors
21
Amenities
24-hour doorman, live-in superintendent, central laundry, landscaped roof deck
Land
Ground lease; the building sits on leased land
The Roebling Team's building profile
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditions
Pied-à-terre
Permitted
Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
Maximum financing
70% of the purchase price
Flip tax
Requires confirmation
Sources differ. Confirm with building management.
Doorman
Full-time doorman

175 East 74th Street sales history: 85 recorded transfers

Own an apartment at 175 East 74th Street?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026

Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.

2BR median, 2024–2026
$1.2M
2 qualifying sales
Recent range
$455K – $4.5M
Listing discount
3.2%
Recorded transfers
85
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 175 East 74th Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

Third Avenue above 60th Street was rebuilt in a single generation. The elevated railway came down in 1955, and within a decade the avenue's tenement blockfronts were replaced by white- and gray-brick apartment towers built to the new zoning. The offering plan for this building, written in 1969, describes that change while it was still happening: "Third Avenue in the 60's and 70's has been changing rapidly through the construction of modern high-rise" buildings. 175 East 74th Street is one of them — a 21-story corner tower completed in 1963, sitting at the Third Avenue end of a block whose western half is prewar townhouses and prewar cooperatives running toward Park.

That position is the building's structural argument. Buyers get a Lenox Hill address, a full-service staffed building, and an avenue-corner site with two exposures and open sky above the low-rise mid-block houses — at postwar co-op pricing rather than Park Avenue pricing. The trade is avenue noise on the Third Avenue lines and the ordinary character of early-1960s construction: gray brick, functional plans, ceilings that do not compete with prewar.

The conversion history is worth knowing. This was a 1969–70 conversion, one of the earliest waves — done under the 1969 law, with sitting tenants offered their apartments at a discount and the sponsor's principals standing behind the unsold shares. The building's documented terms are 70 percent financing, pied-à-terre use permitted, subletting permitted with conditions, and management-sourced reports of no flip tax; reconcile any tiered-or-formula fee account against the operative governing documents and valid amendments. Those terms are the facts most likely to matter to a buyer choosing between this building and its prewar neighbors.

One structural point deserves attention from counsel. The plan as originally offered was a leasehold cooperative: the corporation was to acquire "the leasehold estate in the land and title to the building," under a ground lease running roughly 99 years to September 30, 2009, with no renewal option, at a net rent of $49,000 per year. ACRIS shows both the underlying fee and the ground lease conveyed to the sponsor in January 1970, and the property conveyed to the cooperative corporation that March — the pattern of a leasehold merging into the fee at conversion. There is no ground-lease activity of record after 2009, and the corporation has financed the property with conventional building mortgages throughout. We read the record as showing a fee cooperative today, but this is a title question, and any buyer's attorney should confirm it directly from the corporation's documents rather than from a summary.

Architecture and unit composition

The building rises 21 stories in gray speckled semi-glazed brick on a corner lot of roughly 7,666 square feet, with about 107,600 square feet of building area above it. The entrance is on East 74th Street under a canopy, with a black polished granite surround and tempered-glass doors trimmed in bronze; the lobby is gray marble with a terrazzo aisle to the elevators, wood wainscot, and mirrored ceiling panels — a period interior that has been refreshed rather than replaced. Six stores and a professional office occupy the Third Avenue base.

The stack changes at the sixteenth floor. Floors 2 through 15 were built with six apartments per floor; floors 16 through 21 with three, which produces larger plates, better light on all sides, and the building's most desirable lines. Apartments were offered from two rooms to six-room duplexes, and decades of combinations — several of them documented in Department of Buildings alteration filings from 2000 onward — have shifted the mix upward. The building was centrally air-conditioned from construction, which is why the elevations read as unbroken brick rather than the through-wall sleeve grid typical of its neighbors. Two passenger elevators serve the full height, both operating automatically.

Building operations

Full-service, with a 24-hour doorman, live-in superintendent, and a resident staff — the conversion plan budgeted a superintendent plus six employees. Amenities are practical rather than programmatic: central laundry, a landscaped roof deck, and no garage. Capital work of record includes filings for a boiler replacement in 2002, a rooftop cooling-tower replacement in 2007, a cellar and ground-floor commercial reconstruction in 2012, and an exterior facade restoration with parapet repair, pointing and waterproofing filed in 2016 under a sidewalk shed; confirm completion and the current Local Law 11 status.

The corporation refinanced its underlying mortgage in August 2024, satisfying the loan it had carried since 2014. The refinancing date alone does not establish current leverage or the next maturity; obtain the executed terms and current balance. Recent audited financial statements and the building's alteration and decoration agreements are on file in The Roebling Research Library. The lot carries no J-51 abatement — none appears for Block 1409, Lot 33 anywhere in the city's J-51 record — and no 421-a or other building-level exemption. The only exemptions on the parcel are individual veteran and senior exemptions attaching to particular shareholders, which do not transfer on sale.

Policy framework

Ownership form: Cooperative. Purchase requires a full board package and an interview. Confirm the building's financing, liquidity and occupancy requirements from its application instructions, and allow time for board review.

Financing: 70 percent maximum per management-sourced records. Underwrite 30 percent down, and expect the board to look for post-closing liquidity beyond the down payment; a common Upper East Side benchmark is one to two years of maintenance and debt service held in reserve after closing, though this building publishes no figure. Confirm both with the managing agent before offering.

Flip tax: The management-sourced no-fee account conflicts with a tiered-or-formula account. Verify the current schedule and its authority under the governing documents and valid amendments before calculating seller proceeds.

Subletting: Permitted per management-sourced records, subject to board approval. The original proprietary lease set a two-thirds-of-shares consent standard for assignment and subletting; current practice, seasoning requirements, term limits and fees are not published here and must be reconciled with the operative lease, bylaws, valid amendments and any delegated board authority.

Pied-à-terre: Permitted per management-sourced records — a meaningful differentiator against most cooperatives in this corridor.

Trusts, LLCs and foreign purchasers: Not published. Recorded share transfers show purchases titled in revocable trusts, which suggests trusts are entertained; LLC ownership is a separate question and should be raised with the managing agent before an offer is made.

Pets: Permitted per management-sourced records; weight or breed limits, if any, appear in the house rules.

None of the above is published by the cooperative. Every line should be confirmed with the managing agent, and the house rules, current financial statements, and any pending assessment reviewed by your attorney before contract.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of August 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Flip tax (transfer fee on resale)
Terms
Requires confirmationSources differ. Confirm with building management.

Purchase

9 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeeConditionalPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $600 or $1,000 (Trust Purchase - if permitted by Corporation)Refundable Not stated
Application Processing Fee for Co-applicant or GuarantorPer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $250 per Co-applicant/ GuarantorRefundable Not stated
Appraisal Research and Co-op SupplementConditionalPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $250 (if financing)Refundable Not stated
Background Report FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per applicant (additional $75 for criminal check if required by the Board)Refundable Not stated
Corporate Financial Review FeeConditionalConditions: If applicablePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500 (check payable to John Hirst)Refundable Not stated
Lead Based Paint Disclosure FeePaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $75Refundable Not stated
Financing FeeConditionalPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $300 (if financing)Refundable Not stated
Closing FeePer sharePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $800 ($850 without a Broker) plus $0.05 per shareRefundable Not stated
Sale by an Estate or Trust - Closing FeePer sharePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $1,000 plus $0.05 per shareRefundable Not stated

Sublet

5 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Lead Based Paint Disclosure FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $75Refundable Not stated
Subletting FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $250Refundable Not stated
Application Processing FeePaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $300Refundable Not stated
Background Report FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per applicant (additional $75 for criminal check if required by the Board)Refundable Not stated

Sublet renewal

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $300Refundable Not stated

Refinance

6 items

Management's “less refinance” schedule

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Appraisal Research and Co-Op Supplement/Certification FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $250Refundable Not stated
Background Report FeePer applicantPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per applicantRefundable Not stated
Financing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $400Refundable Not stated

Management's “more refinance” schedule

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Appraisal Research and Co-Op Supplement/Certification FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $250Refundable Not stated
Background Report FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per applicant (additional $75 for criminal check if required by the Board)Refundable Not stated
Financing FeePer applicantPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $75 per applicantRefundable Not stated

Ownership transfer

4 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Background Report FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per applicant (additional $75 for criminal check if required by the Board)Refundable Not stated
Corporate Counsel FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount To be determinedRefundable Not stated
Estate TransferPer sharePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $1000 plus 0.05 cents per shareRefundable Not stated
Closing FeePer sharePaid by ShareholderWhen At closingAmount $500.00 plus $.05 per shareRefundable Not stated

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Financing and purchase requirements

Maximum financing
70% of the purchase priceSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditionsBoard approvalSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Pied-à-terre ownership
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
In-unit washer/dryer
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Maintenance, per room
$666 per room a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance, per square foot
$2.44 per square foot a monthMedian of 3 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026

Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Roof deck, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟠
Material — penalties in current period, escalating in 2030
2024–2029 annual penalty
$9,144/yr
2030–2034 annual penalty
$114,168/yr
Per unit / month range
$8 – $100
Modeled exposure split equally across 95 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
SWARMP
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.

Inspection history
2005–10
SWARMP
2010–15
SWARMP
2015–20
SWARMP
2020–25
SWARMP
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2027
Assessed · 2005–10 to 2020–25
$500 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Recent sales

The building trades as a full-service Lenox Hill cooperative at the value end of its corridor. ACRIS carries 86 recorded share transfers on this lot, covering 53 distinct apartment designations, running from 2004 through mid-2026 — a steady, unremarkable rate of turnover for a 96-unit building, and enough same-building history to price a line properly. Co-op pricing here is best read per room rather than per square foot: the two- and three-room lines are the volume product and the entry point to the neighborhood, while the high-floor three-per-floor plates above the sixteenth floor and the combination apartments sit in a different tier entirely and should never be priced off the building average.

Compare floor, exposure and condition without assuming a fixed ranking. Test noise in the specific apartment, including East 74th Street and interior exposures, and assess renovation costs against actual comparable transactions. The reported 70 percent financing cap, permitted pied-à-terre use and conditional subletting affect purchaser eligibility and costs. The flip-tax accounts conflict; verify the operative fee terms without assuming a resale-liquidity effect. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Jul 13, 202615A
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,200 sf
$1,375,000$1,146/sf+5.9%
Oct 17, 20259D
1 BA
$455,000-3.2%
May 23, 202511A
5 BR · 5 BA · 3,200 sf
$4,475,000$1,398/sf+0.6%
Apr 17, 20252E
1 BR · 1 BA · 925 sf
$790,000$854/sf-4.7%
Apr 24, 202415C
2 BR · 2 BA
$1,030,000-20.8%
Jul 20, 202315B1
1 BA
$560,000+0.9%
Sep 20, 20223A
2 BR · 2 BA
$1,360,000-2.5%
Jul 27, 202212C
2 BR · 2 BA
$1,361,000-13.6%

Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,036/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 0.0% from the last ask.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

2D+111%
$185,000 2004 → $381,000 2007 → $390,000 2020
4B+92%
$250,000 2004 → $510,000 2014 → $480,000 2019
2B+91%
$270,000 2004 → $515,000 2017
3C+85%
$799,000 2003 → $1,475,000 2019
11E · 910 sf+78%
$495,000 ($544/sf) 2004 → $715,000 ($786/sf) 2006 → $882,000 ($969/sf) 2016

Other recent transfers

DateUnitPrice
Nov 14, 20038A$699,000
View all 85 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01409-0033). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 175 East 74th Street and nearby.

Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with 175 East 74th Street and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 175 East 74th Street. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Do not confuse this building with 125 East 74th Street. Both sit on Block 1409, which runs the full length from Park Avenue to Third. 125 East 74th Street is Lot 9 — a nine-story, 30-unit 1928 cooperative at the Park-to-Lexington end. This building is Lot 33 — 21 stories, 96 apartments, 1963, at the Third Avenue corner. Different era, different scale, different economics, different board. Automated valuation tools that match on block will conflate them.

Ask counsel to confirm fee title. The 1969 plan was structured as a leasehold with a ground lease expiring in 2009. The recorded chain indicates the fee and the leasehold came together at conversion, and nothing in the record suggests a live ground lease today — but this is exactly the kind of question that should be answered from the corporation's own documents, not inferred.

Resolve the conflicting flip-tax accounts and verify the 70-percent-financing term in writing. Obtain the operative fee provision and current financing terms, and have counsel check their authority under the governing documents and valid amendments before pricing your offer, and run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator against them.

Compare the upper-floor layouts. The original stack narrows from six apartments per floor to three beginning at the sixteenth. Check actual area, light and exposure and use sale evidence to assess any price difference.

Test the Third Avenue exposure at rush hour. The building is a corner site on a bus and truck route. Some lines face it directly and some do not, and the difference is not visible on a floor plan.

The building is not landmarked. Nothing on this lot is protected, which simplifies renovation approvals relative to the historic-district blocks a few streets west — but also means the low-rise buildings along Third Avenue nearby are developable.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with the policy stack. Financing to 70 percent, permitted pied-à-terre use and subletting with conditions widen the buyer pool. Say it in the first line, not the last.

State the capital posture. Records show the underlying mortgage refinanced in 2024 and two facade cycles filed; confirm completion and current condition in the board materials. Buyers' attorneys look for exactly this; presenting it up front shortens diligence.

Price the line, not the building. With six apartments per floor below the sixteenth and three above, plus combinations, building averages mislead. We price against same-line and same-tier history from the Research Library.

Be honest about condition. The 1963 stock renovates well but renovates fully — kitchens, baths, and often electrical. Buyers price that work in; run the Renovation Cost Calculator and meet them at a real number.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 175 East 74th Street, also evaluate:

  • 1296 Third Avenue — the closest like-for-like: a 1961 postwar cooperative on the same block at the Third Avenue corner of East 75th Street
  • 157 East 74th Street — the boutique condominium alternative on the same block, at a very different scale and price
  • 201 East 74th Street — postwar full-service alternative directly across Third Avenue
  • 200 East 74th Street — postwar tower on the same corner pairing, one block east
  • 168 East 74th Street — the prewar cooperative alternative on the same street toward Lexington
  • 112 East 74th Street — prewar Lenox Hill cooperative closer to Park; the step-up in tenure character
  • 33 East 74th Street — the Fifth-to-Madison prewar comparison for buyers testing how far east to go
  • 255 East 74th Street — the condominium alternative further east for buyers who want condo mechanics
  • 207 East 74th Street — smaller-scale cooperative alternative on the same street

More Upper East Side buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper East Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper East Side.

Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at 175 East 74th Street?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com