- Year built
- 2013
- Type
- Condominium
- Units
- 83
- Floors
- 12
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Dogs and cats
- Permitted with conditions
Every recorded sale at this building, 2012–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2026 to date
- $1,117
- floor-adjusted, 1 sale
- Listing discount
- 0.0%
- Recorded sales
- 126
- On record
- 2012–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Adeline would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
The Adeline contains 83 market-rate condominium residences and has a 421-a partial exemption covering roughly 96% of assessed value on the reviewed 2026 roll. Those facts do not establish a corridor size ranking or a total-cost advantage over other buildings. Reconcile the differing reported final benefit years against the unit’s official award and compare current and projected taxes, common charges and assessments with specific alternatives.
The second thing to understand is structural, and it is not visible from the sidewalk. The Adeline is not the building. The Adeline is one of eight units inside a larger entity called the West 116-117 Master Condominium, which also contains a residential rental component addressed to West 117th Street, two parking units holding roughly 113 spaces between them, and three retail units — one of which is itself carried in DOF's records as a separate 421-a unit and another as an ICAP unit. The Adeline elects its own board and controls its own residential amenities, but it also pays master-condominium common charges, shares building-wide systems, and casts a defined block of votes at the master level. A buyer's attorney needs to read two sets of governing documents here, not one.
The third is the development itself. The site was assembled and built through the block from West 116th to West 117th Street by L&M Development Partners, a developer whose Harlem work has consistently paired market-rate ownership housing with an affordable rental component on the same parcel. That pairing is why the master condominium exists, why the 421-a benefit is as generous as it is, and why the retail base is carved into separate tax units. The New York City Department of City Planning also required the recording of a restrictive declaration over the site.
The architecture is more considered than the massing suggests. The offering plan on file credits S9 Architecture and Engineering, P.C., and the design uses a light brick field, dark window surrounds and a stepped setback to break a long block into a rhythm. Several published accounts credit Perkins Eastman instead; neither the offering plan nor any DOB filing on this project supports that, and we go with the documents.
Architecture and unit composition
Twelve stories of light brick over a retail base, with the residential entrance on West 116th Street and the amenity program split between the ground floor and the roof. The offering plan describes the development in three parts: a structure containing the residential rental component on the 117th Street side, the structure containing The Adeline's 83 residences on the 116th Street side, and a ground-level and cellar structure holding the retail and the parking. The Adeline's residents use the 116th Street building and its dedicated amenities; the rental component has its own.
The 83 residences run from one-bedroom to four-bedroom. Because the building is a mid-rise on a through-block site rather than a tower, exposure is the principal variable in the stack — north over West 116th Street, south into the block, and upper floors gaining outlook over the surrounding low-rise fabric. Thirty-four cellar-level storage bins were licensed under the plan, and forty-two of the master condominium's parking spaces are available to owners at market rents, which is an unusual and genuinely useful feature this far from the FDR.
Building operations
The Adeline runs its own board of managers and its own budget, and simultaneously carries a share of the master condominium's. Owners see both: Adeline common charges fund the residential staff, the residential amenities and the residential portion of the building; master-condominium charges fund shared systems, the master managing agent's fee, and the building-wide items that serve every component. The offering plan on file sets out an allocation for shared heating and cooling expense in which The Adeline carries the large majority of the cost, with the retail and parking units taking defined smaller shares.
The practical consequence for a buyer is that the common charge on a listing is not the whole picture, and the reserve question has two answers. Ask for The Adeline's current operating budget and reserve position, and then ask for the master condominium's. Ask specifically what capital work has been done or is planned at the master level, because that is where the roof, the façade and the shared mechanical plant live.
Policy framework
Ownership form: Condominium — but with more procedure than most. The by-laws give the board a right of first refusal on both purchases and leases, and the building maintains separate application packages for sales and for leases, including intro letters, credit authorization and window-guard and arrears documentation. Budget more time than a typical condominium closing.
Real estate taxes: An active 421-a exemption covers roughly 96 percent of assessed value on the residential unit lots in the current DOF roll. Management-sourced records describe a 25-year benefit running through the 2038/39 tax year; the city-record schedule on this page shows FY2040. Until the unit's official 421-a award reconciles the two, do not rely on either final year. Every 421-a benefit phases out at the end of its term, and the step-up is steep when it comes. Get the benefit schedule in writing and model the post-phase-out tax before you buy — that is the single most consequential piece of underwriting on this building.
Pets: Up to two common household pets per residence, subject to board rules on size and noise, per the rules and regulations on file. Dogs must be carried or leashed in the common elements.
Subletting and pied-à-terre: Not documented; confirm in the declaration, bylaws and house rules. Leases are subject to the board's right of first refusal and the lease application process; transient, hotel and motel use is prohibited outright.
LLC, trust and foreign ownership: Not documented; confirm in the declaration, bylaws and house rules.
Flip tax: Not documented in public records. Confirm with the managing agent before pricing a sale.
House rules worth reading before renovation: 80 percent of the floor area of any residence above another must be covered to control impact sound, and construction is confined to weekdays between 9:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of August 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
7 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $700 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report FeePer applicantRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $200 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Waiver of Right of First Refusal Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $350 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing Administrative Fee | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $225 | Refundable Not stated |
| Working Capital Contribution | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount Equal to two (2) month's common charges | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing Administrative Fee | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $225 | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $750 | Refundable Refundable |
Rental or lease
5 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sublet Fee | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $350 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report FeePer applicantRequired | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $200 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move In Deposit | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $750 | Refundable Refundable |
Lease renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lease Renewal FeeRecurring | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $250 per year | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Dogs and cats
- Permitted with conditionsPermitted — up to two dogs, cats or other common household pets per residence, subject to board rules on size and noise, per the rules and regulations on fileSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Common charges + taxes, per room
- $246 per room a monthMedian of 5 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Common charges + taxes, per square foot
- $0.90 per square foot a monthMedian of 5 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Common charges alone, per square foot
- $0.82 per square foot a monthMedian of 5 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
- Real estate taxes alone, per square foot
- $0.08 per square foot a monthMedian of 5 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. The split into common charges and taxes comes from the listings that also give the annual tax, a different sample, so the two lines need not add up exactly to the combined median; a tax abatement can hold taxes below the full amount until it expires. A summary of recorded sales and listings, not a current bill; charges change.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $32,895/yr
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $149,246/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $33 – $150
- Modeled exposure split equally across 83 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2015–20 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
421-a Tax Abatement
- Last year of benefit
- FY2040
- Years remaining
- ~15 yrs
- Program
- 421-a (25-year)
A long-dated tax benefit still in place — a meaningful carrying-cost advantage today. Note the eventual step-up toward full taxes when the abatement ends.
Source: NYC Dept. of Finance property-tax exemption records (421-a), refreshed 2026-09-06 · The Roebling Research Library. Confirm the exact step-up schedule on the building’s DOF tax bill. Years shown are NYC tax years, which start July 1 — FY2041 runs July 1, 2040 to June 30, 2041.
The 421-a Expiration Wave — our study of when these benefits expire citywide, and what the resale record shows about pricing as they do.
Recent sales
Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jun 25, 2026 | 12D | 4 BR · 2 BA · 1,912 sf | $2,500,000 | $1,308/sf | -5.7% |
| Jun 17, 2025 | 3D | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,046 sf | $1,215,000 | $1,162/sf | -0.8% |
| Mar 31, 2025 | 3B | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,107 sf | $1,215,000 | $1,098/sf | -6.5% |
| Nov 26, 2024 | 3J | 3 BR · 2 BA · 1,448 sf | $1,450,000 | $1,001/sf | -6.5% |
| Oct 15, 2024 | 7E | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,072 sf | $1,200,000 | $1,119/sf | +0.0% |
| Jul 25, 2023 | 3B | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,107 sf | $1,150,000 | $1,039/sf | -9.8% |
| May 16, 2023 | 5D | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,046 sf | $1,075,000 | $1,028/sf | +2.4% |
| Sep 1, 2022 | 2J | 3 BR · 2 BA · 1,448 sf | $1,400,000 | $967/sf | -12.5% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,117/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 0.0% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01600-7503; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.
Closed rents at The Adeline, last 36 months
| Size | Leases | Median / month |
|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | 3 | $3,600 |
| 2 bedroom | 4 | $5,200 |
9 closed leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease August 2026. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.
What would your apartment rent for?
The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at The Adeline and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $1.33M (4 sales in the past 24 months, since October 21, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $57,903 to close, or 4.3% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $13,325
- Mortgage recording tax: $19,238
- Title insurance: $5,996
- Attorneys, lender, building fees, reserves and filings: $19,344
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with The Adeline and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Adeline. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The 421-a is the deal. DOF records confirm the exemption is live and near-full on the current roll, and management-sourced records put the term at 25 years (through 2038/39, against FY2040 on the city-record schedule). Get the official schedule in writing, confirm the phase-out years, and run the post-abatement number through the True Monthly Carrying Cost Calculator before you decide what the apartment is worth.
Read both sets of governing documents. The Adeline's declaration and by-laws, and the West 116-117 Master Condominium's. Your monthly obligation and your building's capital exposure both live in two places.
The board has a right of first refusal on leases, not just sales. If you are buying as an investor, that changes your timeline and your certainty. Get the lease application package and the current practice from the managing agent before you commit.
Parking is available but not owned. Forty-two of the master condominium's spaces are offered to unit owners at market rents. That is a rental right, not an appurtenant space, and it prices separately.
Verify the architect if it matters to you. The offering plan credits S9 Architecture; several published sources credit Perkins Eastman. The plan and the DOB filings agree with each other.
The delivery date is not 2013. PLUTO's year-built field reflects the structure. Sales closed from January 2015 and the new-building job was signed off in August 2015. Use the closing record, not the PLUTO field, in any appraisal conversation.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the carrying cost, not the price. The abatement is the strongest argument this building has against every unabated comparable in Harlem, and most buyers will not find it on their own.
Be straight about the phase-out. Sophisticated buyers and their attorneys will ask. Presenting the schedule and the modeled post-abatement number up front is a better outcome than having it discovered in diligence.
Explain the master condominium simply. It is unfamiliar to most buyers and it reads as a complication until it is explained. Frame it as what it is: a shared-systems structure over a mixed-use through-block development, with The Adeline governing its own residential affairs.
Price by exposure and floor. In a twelve-story mid-rise on a through-block site, outlook is the variable that separates otherwise identical layouts.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering The Adeline, also evaluate:
- The Kalahari (40 West 116th Street) — the corridor's other large market-rate condominium of the same generation, directly across the street; the closest peer by scale and location
- 2101 Eighth Avenue — larger Harlem condominium west of the corridor; comparable new-construction ownership product
- 380 Lenox Avenue — Harlem condominium with a 421-a abatement running into the 2030s; the closest analogue on tax posture
- 301 West 118th Street — Harlem condominium of the same development cycle
- 111 Central Park North — park-facing Harlem condominium; the step up on outlook and price
- 145 Central Park North — park-front condominium at the northern edge of Central Park
- 1485 Fifth Avenue — Fifth Avenue Harlem condominium; the nearest comparable on the avenue
- 1399 Park Avenue — East Harlem condominium of similar vintage and scale
- 100 West 119th Street — Harlem condominium a few blocks north; smaller building, different operating model
- 88 Morningside Avenue — Harlem condop fronting Morningside Park; the alternative ownership structure
- Graham Court (1923 Adam Clayton Powell Jr. Boulevard) — the corridor's landmark pre-war cooperative; the historic alternative with entirely different economics
More Harlem buildings
- 10 Lenox Avenue — 2018 condominium by Isaac & Stern Architects
- 11 Hancock Place (Eleven Hancock) — 2020 condominium by Isaac & Stern Architects
- Morningside Park Condominium, 18 Morningside Avenue — 2007 condominium
- Kalahari, 40 West 116th Street — 2006 condominium
- 45 West 131st Street (West 131 Plaza Condominium) — 1880 condominium
- Parc Vues, 61–63 Lenox Avenue at West 113th Street · Harlem — 1900 condominium
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Harlem — read The Roebling Team Guide to Harlem.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at The Adeline?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com