255 West 84th Street (The Alameda)
255 West 84th Street, New York, NY 10024
BBL 1012327501 · BIN 1033104
- Year built
- 1914
- Type
- Condop
- Units
- 75
- Floors
- 13
- Amenities
- Attended lobby, live-in resident manager, central laundry, private storage, bicycle storage. Canopied step-up lobby entrance on West 84th Street. Retail tenancies occupy the Broadway base and belong to the Commercial Unit, not to the cooperative
- Ownership structure
- Cooperative; the city classifies the tax lot as a condominium (a condop structure)
- The Roebling Team's building profile
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Riverside-West End Historic District Extension I
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Not permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- Tiered or formula; see fees
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 1BR median, 2025
- $675K
- 3 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $650K – $3.5M
- Listing discount
- 3.0%
- Recorded transfers
- 91
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Alameda would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
Dr. Charles Paterno's construction company commissioned Gaetano Ajello in June 1914 to put a first-class apartment house on the northwest corner of Broadway and 84th Street, and the Alameda opened in 1915. Ajello was then producing the Renaissance Revival apartment houses that still define the blocks between Broadway and Riverside Drive, and the Alameda is one of the larger ones: a rusticated stone base under a long brick shaft, cornices and balconettes breaking up the mass, and a corner site that gives the building both a Broadway frontage of shops and a quieter residential entrance on 84th Street.
Among the first tenants in 1915 was Samuel Goldfish, then newly divorced and a partner in the Jesse L. Lasky Feature Play Company. He moved out well before he took the name Samuel Goldwyn in 1918 and before his studio became part of Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, but the address belongs to that early chapter of the film business, per historical records.
What a buyer actually needs to understand about the Alameda today is its ownership structure. In 1989 the building was divided into a two-unit condominium — the apartments and their common areas as one condominium unit, the Broadway retail as the other — and the residential condominium unit was then converted to cooperative ownership. That is a condop. You buy shares and sign a proprietary lease, you go through a co-op board, and the co-op in turn pays common charges to a condominium whose other member is a commercial landlord. It is a structure that shows up on the Upper West Side wherever a prewar building carries meaningful retail, and it has real consequences: two layers of governance, a common-charge line inside the co-op's budget, and a commercial neighbor whose interests are not yours.
The second thing to understand is taxes. The conversion-era rehabilitation carried a 34-year J-51 exemption, and it has now run out. That is the single most consequential number at this address for anyone underwriting monthly carry, and it is set out below.
Architecture and unit composition
The building runs 134 feet along West 84th Street on a 14,000-square-foot corner lot, with roughly 134,000 square feet of residential floor area ; gross residential floor area includes shared space and does not establish individual apartment interiors. Layouts run from three rooms to nine, with high ceilings, entry foyers, decorative fireplaces, crown moldings and parquet floors surviving in many lines, per management-sourced records. The line letters recorded in share transfers run A through F on the residential floors, with ground-floor apartments designated GRA, GRC and GRF; recorded combinations such as 7C/8C, 9B/9C and 2A/2E show that the larger apartments in the building are frequently assembled rather than original.
The Broadway elevation carries the retail. The 84th Street elevation carries the residential entrance under a canopy, up a short flight of steps. The west facade, facing a gated service alleyway, is undesigned brick. Windows and storefronts have been replaced and the roof cornice removed — all of which now falls under Landmarks jurisdiction for any future work, since the 2012 designation.
Building operations
The cooperative employs a union staff under the Building Service 32BJ collective bargaining agreement, with an attended lobby and a live-in resident manager. Wages and union benefits were the largest single operating line in the most recent audited statements on file. Laundry, storage and bicycle storage are in the basement. Management is a large third-party firm; the board is controlled by resident shareholders and has been since the sponsor surrendered control in November 1991.
The condominium layer is thin but real: the cooperative pays common charges to The Alameda Condominium — roughly $177,000 in the most recent year on file, plus a supplemental common-charge assessment of about $22,000 that year — and its share of condominium-level major repairs flows through as capitalized building improvements.
Capital position and the J-51 burn-off
The J-51 exemption is gone. Department of Finance records show a benefit initiated in 1990–91 on both condominium tax lots with a 34-year exemption term, tied to the rehabilitation performed around the conversion. The city's historical J-51 file carries it through fiscal 2018. Current exemption records show the residential unit's exemption at roughly $77,000 in fiscal 2021, stepping down through fiscal 2022, 2023 and 2024 to about $16,000 in fiscal 2025, and to zero in fiscal 2026 — the standard end-of-term phase-out, now complete. The commercial unit's parallel benefit ran the same course.
That matters because real estate taxes were already the dominant expense here before the last steps of the burn-off. In the most recent audited year on file, real estate taxes ran about $1.54 million against maintenance revenue of about $2.87 million, and the following year's budget forecast raised the tax line again. A buyer comparing this building's maintenance per share against a non-J-51 peer is comparing two different tax regimes; a buyer comparing it against its own history from five or ten years ago is comparing against a subsidy that no longer exists. Ask for the current tax bill, not last year's.
Underlying mortgage. The audited statements on file describe a $6,000,000 mortgage held by Valley National Bank, interest only at 3.7 percent, monthly payments of $18,500, with a stated maturity of November 1, 2025, alongside an undrawn $500,000 line of credit with the same lender and a mortgage covenant requiring a minimum $100,000 reserve account. ACRIS then records a further Valley National Bank mortgage and consolidation in June 2021, which supersedes those stated terms. The current principal balance, rate and maturity should be obtained from the managing agent — this is a building where the underlying debt has been refinanced more than once and where an interest-only structure means no principal has been amortized away.
Assessments and capital work. The board imposed a $1,000,000 capital assessment in 2019 — $15.75 per share, payable over twenty-four months from October 2019 — on top of a recurring operating assessment of roughly $4 per share per year. Capitalized work in that period included an exterior restoration campaign, a laundry room project, an elevator upgrade, electrical and lighting upgrades, basement flooring and plumbing, and a superintendent's unit renovation. Reserves stood near $900,000 at the most recent year-end on file, down from about $1.67 million the year before as that work was funded. The cooperative's governing documents do not require reserve accumulation and no reserve study has been performed, which the auditors note.
Policy framework
The transactional stack here is unusually well documented for a co-op and unusually restrictive in two places. Financing is capped at 75 percent. Pied-à-terre purchases are not permitted — this is a primary-residence building. Subletting is capped at two years in any five, with a sublet fee of 15 percent of annual maintenance in year one and 20 percent in year two. The flip tax is 1.5 percent of gross sale price or $3.00 per share, whichever is greater, paid by the seller. Short-term rentals are prohibited. The board takes a summer recess in July and August, which should be built into any contract timeline.
Post-closing liquidity requirements, debt-to-income thresholds and the board's posture on co-purchase and guarantors are not published. They are set by the board and applied case by case, ; the profile does not establish how often each requirement affects board decisions. Get them from the managing agent before you sign a contract, not after.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- Equal to 1.5% of Sale price or $3.00 per share (whichever is greater)
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Purchase
21 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Additional Processing FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $200 if there is a 2nd Applicant or Guarantor | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $700 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid to managementRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| LL58 Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Rush Package Review FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Expedited Closing Fee Expedited Closing FeeConditionalConditions: Within 10 business days of approvalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When Before closing | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Financing FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When Before closing | Amount $400, only if purchase is being financed | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Power of Attorney Review FeeConditional · Per applicantConditions: If ApplicablePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When Before closing | Amount $200 Per POA (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing FeePaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $850 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing FeeConditionalConditions: Closing in other location; closing by mailPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $1100 (closing in other location; closing by mail) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Estate Sale feeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Expedited Closing Fee Expedited Closing FeeConditionalConditions: Within 10 business days of approvalPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Power of Attorney Review FeeConditional · Per applicantConditions: If ApplicablePaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $200 Per POA (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Additional Closing FeeConditionalConditions: WITHOUT a Bank Attorney PresentPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500, if applicable | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Estate Transfer Additional Closing FeeConditionalConditions: WITHOUT the attorney presentPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $200, if applicable | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Postponement FeeConditionalConditions: Less than 48 Hours' NoticePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500, if applicable | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Trust Transfer Additional Closing FeeConditionalConditions: WITHOUT the attorney presentPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $200, if applicable | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Undertaking FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $100 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| International Consumer Report FeeConditionalPaid to a third party | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $275 payable to Interpro Investigations (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move In DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When At move-out and move-in | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move Out DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Seller | When At move-out and move-in | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet
10 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $650 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid to managementRequired | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Rush Package Review FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Additional Processing FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $200 if there is a 2nd Applicant or Guarantor | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Sublet FeeRecurringPaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount Equal to 15% of annual maintenance (1st year), 20% of annual maintenance (2nd year) | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sublet DepositAt the end of the term of the leasePaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Equal to one (1) months maintenance | Refundable Refundable |
| Move Out DepositPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When At move-out and move-in | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move In DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Subtenant | When At move-out and move-in | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Sublet FeeRecurringPaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount Equal to 20% of annual maintenance | Refundable Non-refundable |
Refinance
8 items
Management's “less refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Incomplete Package FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Rush Package Review FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to managementRequired | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report Rerun FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant (if required for time due) | Refundable Not stated |
| Incomplete Package FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Rush Package Review FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
Alteration
2 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Electrical Upgrade FeePaid to the building | Paid by Resident | When Upon approval | Amount 1st Floor: $3750, above 1st Floor: $400 per floor | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alteration Security DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Resident | When Upon approval | Amount Decorative $1000, Standard $2500, Major $2500 | Refundable Refundable |
Ownership transfer
7 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Estate TransferConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| LL58 Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Name change/spouse add/removalConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Transfer into a TrustConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Transfer to a Family Member and a Third PartyConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing Fee for all TransfersPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $850 | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase priceSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsBoard approvalSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Not permittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $631 per room a monthMedian of 11 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: recent listing records
- Attended lobby
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
- Amenities noted
- Bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $33,923/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $37
- Modeled exposure split equally across 76 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Recent sales
The Alameda trades as a prewar Upper West Side co-op with genuine room counts, whose consistent room and share counts can be compared alongside reliable square footage, total prices and layout. Value in the building sorts by exposure — 84th Street and courtyard lines are quieter than the Broadway side — by floor, by whether the apartment is an original layout or a combination, and by renovation condition. For an analysis indexed to the last complete year, compare matched sales by renovation, light and size; a change in the estate-condition discount over five years requires a defined historical sample.
Two structural facts sit in the pricing. The first is the sponsor's remaining position: roughly 16 percent of the shares are held as unsold shares occupied by rent-regulated tenants, which is disclosed in the offering plan amendments and which some lenders and some buyers' attorneys will ask about. The second is the tax step-up from the J-51 burn-off, which lands in maintenance rather than in the purchase price. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 6, 2026 | 3E | 3 BR · 3 BA | $2,331,363 | +17.4% | |
| Jan 26, 2026 | 9D | 3 BR · 2 BA | $1,325,000 | +0.0% | |
| Nov 13, 2025 | 2D | 2 BR · 2 BA | $1,250,000 | -3.8% | |
| Jul 31, 2025 | 1F | 1 BR · 1 BA | $757,500 | -2.3% | |
| Jul 22, 2025 | 7F | 1 BR · 1 BA | $675,000 | +4.2% | |
| Jun 25, 2025 | 8DD | 3 BR · 1.5 BA | $1,695,000 | +0.0% | |
| May 19, 2025 | 1A | 4 BR · 3 BA · 2,500 sf | $3,450,000 | $1,380/sf | -8.0% |
| Feb 4, 2025 | 12F | 1 BR · 1 BA | $650,000 | -3.7% |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2025): a median $1,483/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 2.3% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01232-7501). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at The Alameda and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $1.29M (8 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 22, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $26,253 to close, or 2.0% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $12,875
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $13,378
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with The Alameda and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Alameda. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Understand that you are buying shares, not a condominium unit. The RM building class in city records describes the tax lot. The Residential Unit of the condominium is owned by a cooperative corporation, and you will buy shares, sign a proprietary lease, assemble a board package and sit for an interview. Underwrite this as a co-op purchase in every respect. Run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator before offering.
Price the taxes forward, not backward. The J-51 exemption reached zero in fiscal 2026. Ask for the current tax bill and the current year's budget, and model maintenance from those, not from a listing's stated figure that may predate the final step-down.
Get the underlying mortgage terms in writing. The debt is interest only and has been refinanced. Principal balance, rate and maturity all belong in your diligence file, because refinancing an interest-only underlying note near maturity can raise maintenance, depending on the balance, rate and terms at that time.
Confirm the assessment status. The 2019 capital assessment ran twenty-four months; recurring operating assessments have been layered on top of maintenance in multiple years. Ask what is currently being billed and what the board has authorized but not yet imposed.
No pied-à-terre. If this is a second home, this is not your building. Confirm the current policy with the managing agent, but plan on primary occupancy.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the room count and the light. Prewar proportions, foyers and fireplaces are what this building sells; condition is priced on top of the layout.
Have the answer to the tax question ready. Every serious buyer's attorney will ask about the J-51 expiry and the underlying mortgage. Assemble the current tax bill, the current budget and the most recent audited financials before you list. A prepared answer converts a red flag into a neutral fact.
Budget the flip tax honestly. 1.5 percent of gross price, or $3.00 per share if that is greater, comes out of your proceeds. Model it with the Seller Closing Cost Calculator.
Time the board. The July–August recess can add two months to a closing timeline. Contracts signed in June should be planned around it.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 255 West 84th Street, also evaluate:
- 225 West 83rd Street (The Bromley) — the full-service condominium two blocks south on a different tax block; the condominium alternative in the same catchment
- 215 West 84th Street — the immediate prewar neighbor on the same street
- 300 West 83rd Street — another Ajello Renaissance Revival house nearby
- 310 West 85th Street — Ajello, two blocks north; a close like-for-like in age and register
- 498 West End Avenue — the West End Avenue condominium on the 83rd Street block; a different tax block despite the proximity
- 480 West End Avenue — prewar West End Avenue cooperative at 83rd Street
- 505 West End Avenue — Ajello on West End Avenue at 84th Street, directly west
- 150 West 82nd Street (The Marlow) — a recently converted Upper West Side apartment house; the new-conversion comparison
- 2730 Broadway — Ajello's Broadway-corner cooperative uptown; the closest structural analogue for a Broadway building with retail at the base
- 160 Riverside Drive — Ajello on Riverside Drive; the park-facing step across
More Upper West Side buildings
- 252 West 85th Street — 1914 co-op by Schwartz & Gross
- 253 West 73rd Street (The Level Club) — 1925 condominium
- 255 West 108th Street (The Manchester) — 1910 co-op by Neville & Bagge
- 255 West 90th Street — 1909 co-op by Neville & Bagge
- 255 West 98th Street — 1913 co-op by Gaetano Ajello
- 255 West End Avenue — 1916 co-op
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper West Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper West Side.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at The Alameda?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com