50 Sutton Place South
50 Sutton Place South, New York, NY 10022
BBL 1013660025 · BIN 1040353
- Year built
- 1955
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 194
- Floors
- 19
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
- Maximum financing
- 65% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- Tiered or formula; see fees
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 2BR median, 2023–2026
- $935K
- 14 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $378K – $2.2M
- Listing discount
- 2.9%
- Recorded transfers
- 208
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 50 Sutton Place South would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
Sutton Place is a corridor of small pre-war cooperatives — Candela and Cross & Cross houses of forty and sixty apartments, most of them built for a specific kind of buyer and still sold to that buyer's descendants. 50 Sutton Place South is the exception in scale. It takes the entire west blockfront between East 54th and East 55th Streets, carries roughly 194 apartments, and was built in the mid-1950s as a rental by one of New York's large postwar development families. That difference in origin produces almost every difference in how the building trades today.
The ownership history is unusually legible because the conversion documents survive. The offering plan on file names Larry and Zachary Fisher — of Fisher Brothers — as the sponsor's predecessors in interest, and records that the sponsor, SB Investors, Ltd., took title in February 1978. The plan that followed was a 35-percent-threshold conversion of a rent-stabilized building, presented to tenants in occupancy under the Rent Stabilization Law framework then in force. That is a different animal from a pre-war building organized as a cooperative from the day it opened: shares were allocated against an existing rent roll, the corporation inherited a garage lease and a unionized staff, and the building has spent the near half-century since converting a rental asset into a shareholder-owned one.
What that leaves a buyer today is a large, professionally run, unglamorous cooperative on Sutton Place South, to be compared with the corridor's prewar buildings using dated matched sales. The trade is legible: you do not get a Candela plan or a landmark address, and the maintenance carries a real estate tax line that runs above half the operating budget. You do get scale, a fitness center, a garage, balconies, and — for the east-facing lines — river-facing exposures whose noise conditions should be assessed on site.
The single most important number on this page is not a price. It is September 1, 2029 — the maturity date of the corporation's $12,900,000 underlying mortgage, refinanced in 2019 at 3.5 percent interest-only. Anyone buying here should model maintenance under several refinancing scenarios, because the maturity falls inside a normal ownership horizon and the outcome depends on rates and terms at the time.
Architecture and unit composition
The building is red brick with white trim and limestone, stepping back from a nineteen-story maximum height, with a balconied elevation along Sutton Place South. The 1956 survey in the offering plan describes it as a sixteen-to-nineteen-story building with basement and penthouse — the range reflecting the setbacks rather than any inconsistency, though it does not reconcile cleanly with the twenty-first-floor unit designations that appear in ACRIS or with the twenty-two stories cited in some listing records. There is no thirteenth floor.
Apartment plans are postwar rather than pre-war: defined foyers, real closets, straightforward room shapes, and — on a substantial share of the inventory — private terraces or balconies, which is rare in the corridor's pre-war stock. Listing records describe an inventory running from large studios through four-bedroom configurations, with many of the largest homes produced by combination rather than by original design. DOB records on this BIN show a long run of apartment-combination filings across the 2000s and 2010s, which likely explains why PLUTO's unit count and the audited statements' figure of 193 apartments do not agree.
Because the building sits on the west side of the street, the premium is directional. East-facing lines above the neighboring roofline take the river outlook; west-facing lines look back into the block. Line and floor matter more here than they do in a small pre-war house where every apartment is a full or half floor.
Building operations
Full service, and institutionally run. The corporation employs a unionized staff under the Local 32BJ agreement, maintains a live-in resident manager, runs a fitness center and a central laundry, offers resident storage, and leases its 20,000-square-foot garage to a commercial operator on a long-term lease that generates roughly $290,000 a year in base rent plus a real estate tax escalation. There is one professional office unit in the building, owned by the corporation.
The audited financial statements on file describe a corporation that runs close to break-even on operations and has been closing the gap with assessments rather than with maintenance increases alone. Operating assessments were levied in each of the two most recent years covered by the statements on file, at roughly $3.92 and $4.11 per share. The corporation's stated practice is to refund the New York City cooperative shareholder real estate tax abatement to shareholders at approximately the same time the assessment is charged — a mechanic worth understanding, because it means the abatement credit and the assessment charge tend to appear on the same statement and partially offset one another.
Two other things belong in a buyer's file. First, the corporation's governing documents do not require the accumulation of reserves, no reserve study has been commissioned, and the auditors noted the omission of the required supplementary information on future major repairs. The reserve fund nonetheless stood above $2.4 million at the most recent year-end on file, with an undrawn $1.5 million credit line behind it. Second, the corporation recorded professional fees in a recent year in connection with its opposition to a New York City Economic Development Corporation bridge project on the waterfront — a reminder that this stretch of the East River shoreline has an active public-works agenda.
Policy framework
Ownership form: Cooperative. Purchase is by assignment of shares and proprietary lease, with a full board package and an in-person board interview. The board's approval is discretionary and it does not have to give reasons.
Financing: 65 percent maximum, 35 percent minimum down, per management-sourced records. Confirm it first, because it sets the size of the deal you can actually do.
Post-closing liquidity: Not published. Large postwar Sutton Place cooperatives typically want to see meaningful liquid reserves after closing, expressed either as a dollar figure or as a multiple of annual maintenance plus debt service. Ask the managing agent for the current standard before you write an offer, and run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator against it.
Flip tax / transfer fee: 2 percent of gross sales price. The audited statements on file describe the fee as charged to the transferring shareholder; some listing records describe it as buyer-paid. That is a real dollar difference on a seven-figure trade and it should be settled in writing before contract, not at closing.
Subletting: Obtain the current written policy and reconcile it with the operative proprietary lease and amendments. Confirm any seasoning requirement, term cap and approval process before underwriting rental use; no unverified limit is assumed here.
Pied-à-terre: Not published. Some listing records describe pied-à-terre purchases as considered here; that is not the same as a stated policy, and a large converted cooperative that has been shareholder-controlled since 1978 will have a settled practice one way or the other. Ask.
Trusts, LLCs, co-purchase, guarantors and gifting: Not published. If your purchase structure is anything other than an individual buying in their own name, resolve it with the managing agent before you spend money on a board package.
Pets: Permitted with board approval per management-sourced records.
Application and transaction fees
- Terms
- 2 percent of the gross sales price. The audited financial statements on file describe it as "charged to stockholders upon the transfer (sale) of their respective shares"; some listing records describe it as buyer-paid. Confirm which side pays before you price a deal
- Paid by
- Buyer
Source: The Roebling Team's building profile
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 65% of the purchase priceSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedPermitted with board approval per management-sourced recordsSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $686 per room a monthMedian of 29 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $2.49 per square foot a monthMedian of 16 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Attended lobby
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, garage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $153,983/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $66
- Modeled exposure split equally across 194 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2025–30. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 24, 2026 | 11L | 2 BR · 2 BA | $995,000 | -9.5% | |
| Jun 2, 2026 | 8G | 3 BR · 3.5 BA | $1,375,000 | -4.5% | |
| May 1, 2026 | 5E | 3 BR · 2 BA | $995,000 | +0.0% | |
| Apr 15, 2026 | 14K | 1 BR · 1.5 BA | $683,000 | -2.3% | |
| Mar 27, 2026 | 8H | 1 BR · 1.5 BA | $725,000 | -5.2% | |
| Mar 10, 2026 | 11H | 1 BR · 2 BA | $810,000 | +1.4% | |
| Dec 19, 2025 | 16F | 1 BR · 2 BA · 1,050 sf | $1,355,000 | $1,290/sf | -2.9% |
| Oct 21, 2025 | 14G | 3 BR · 3 BA · 2,300 sf | $1,450,000 | $630/sf | -13.4% |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2025): a median $755/sf (floor-adjusted) across 8 sales. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 5.5% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01366-0025). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 50 Sutton Place South and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $995K (18 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 21, 2024), a buyer putting 35% down would pay about $11,784 to close, or 1.2% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $11,784
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage at the building's 65% financing limit.
Keep up with 50 Sutton Place South and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 50 Sutton Place South. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Underwrite the 2029 refinancing. A $12.9 million interest-only loan at 3.5 percent matures September 1, 2029. The replacement terms are not known. Model the maintenance under more than one debt-service scenario, including a materially higher one, before you decide what the apartment is worth to you, and use the True Monthly Carrying Cost Calculator to see the whole number.
Read the assessment and abatement mechanic together. The corporation assesses and then refunds the city's cooperative shareholder tax abatement at roughly the same time. Looked at separately, either line will mislead you.
Taxes are the budget. Real estate tax runs above half of total operating expense here. That is structural for a large Manhattan cooperative on a high-value lot, and it means the building's costs are substantially outside the board's control.
Confirm who pays the 2 percent. The audited statements and the listing records disagree. Settle it in writing.
Get the policy stack from the managing agent, not from a listing. Obtain the current financing ceiling, post-closing liquidity requirements, sublet terms and rules for pied-à-terre, trust and LLC ownership. Have counsel reconcile management's answers with the operative 1978 plan, proprietary lease, bylaws and amendments before preparing the board package; the age of a document does not by itself remove its legal effect.
Line and floor decide the price. Balconies, east exposure and combined layouts drive the spread. Walk the specific apartment at the hour you would actually be home.
What to know if you’re selling
Sell the building's liquidity. Two hundred-plus recorded transfers on this lot is a real argument. Buyers worried about a thin resale market in a small Sutton Place house should be shown what turnover looks like here.
Get ahead of the mortgage question. Sophisticated buyers and their attorneys will find the 2029 maturity in the financials. Present it, with the reserve position and the credit line, rather than letting it surface as a surprise in diligence.
Present the outdoor space properly. Terraces and balconies are the inventory's clearest differentiator against the corridor's pre-war stock, and they photograph as an amenity rather than as a floor plan feature.
Price the renovation math honestly. Postwar plans reward renovation and punish deferred maintenance. Estate-condition apartments clear when they are priced against what the buyer will spend — run the Renovation Cost Calculator before setting an ask.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 50 Sutton Place South, also evaluate:
- 45 Sutton Place South (Cannon Point South) — Paul Resnick's 1958 river-facing cooperative; the closest peer by vintage, scale and postwar plan vocabulary
- 60 Sutton Place South — the immediate cooperative neighbor one block south; same corridor, different plan tradition
- 25 Sutton Place South — Sutton Place cooperative; compare the specific plans and current policies
- 20 Sutton Place South — cooperative on the same street; smaller house, tighter board culture
- 14 Sutton Place South — pre-war Sutton Place cooperative at the southern end of the enclave
- 415 East 54th Street — the condominium on the same tax block; the condo alternative for buyers who need permissive financing, sublet and ownership-structure rules
- 1 Sutton Place South — the corridor's riverfront pre-war trophy cooperative; the prestige benchmark
- 2 Sutton Place South — Emery Roth & Sons cooperative on the river
- Plaza 400 (400 East 56th Street) — the corridor's other large postwar full-service cooperative with a garage; the closest analogue by scale and operating model
- 447 East 57th Street — small pre-war cooperative nearby; the opposite end of the corridor's size spectrum
- River House (435 East 52nd Street) — Bottomley, Wagner & White's 1931 landmark cooperative; the corridor's defining pre-war house
More Sutton Place buildings
- 36 Sutton Place South — 1949 co-op by Boak & Paris
- 40 Sutton Place — 1966 condominium
- 45 Sutton Place South (Cannon Point South) — 1958 co-op
- 60 Sutton Place South — 1951 co-op
- One Beacon Court (151 East 58th Street) — 2005 condominium by Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects
- 235 East 57th Street — 1960 co-op
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Sutton Place — read The Roebling Team Guide to Sutton Place.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 50 Sutton Place South?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com