Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfHell's Kitchen $1,328/sf ▴0%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1940
Colonial Court
35-36 76th Street, Jackson Heights, NY 11372
Buildings·Cooperative

35-36 76th Street (Colonial Court)

35-36 76th Street, Jackson Heights, NY 11372

Jackson Heights, Queens

BBL 4012750020 · BIN 4029566

At a glance
Year built
1940
Type
Cooperative
Units
114
Floors
6
Amenities
Full-length landscaped rear garden with seating; laundry room; recreation room; basement exercise room; bicycle room; children's playroom; storage; live-in superintendent
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Maximum financing
80% of the purchase price
Doorman
Doorman (hours not stated)

Colonial Court sales history: 109 recorded transfers

Own an apartment at Colonial Court?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2026

Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.

1BR median, 2025–2026
$455K
2 qualifying sales
Recent range
$450K – $950K
Listing discount
0.0%
Recorded transfers
109
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Colonial Court would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

Start with the name, because the record is wrong about it. This building is routinely circulated as "Hawthorne Court," and it is not. Hawthorne Court is the 1922 Queensboro Corporation garden complex of fourteen five-story neo-Georgian walk-ups around a private interior garden, on the other side of 76th Street — the odd-numbered addresses on 76th and the even numbers on 77th, one block east. Each of those fourteen buildings is separately incorporated; there is no single Hawthorne Court corporation, and none of them is this one. City records show a 1940 building, six stories, one structure, 114 apartments, owned by 76th Street Owners Corp. Comping this address against Hawthorne Court sales means comping a 1940 elevator building against a 1922 walk-up under a different board.

The second distinction concerns the historic-district boundary across the street. The Landmarks Preservation Commission's 1993 Jackson Heights Historic District begins at 76th Street and runs east to 88th, and its boundary takes in the east blockfront. Hawthorne Court is inside it. This building, on the west blockfront, is outside — every lot across the street carries the district in city records, and not one lot on this block does. Exterior work here needs the board's approval and whatever Department of Buildings permits the scope requires, and no Landmarks review: no Certificate of Appropriateness, no Commission review schedule, no outside specification standard. For this 114-unit corporation, absence of LPC review removes one approval layer, but project cost and timing still depend on scope, condition, board and DOB requirements, procurement and funding. What the address does carry is the 1999 State and National Register district, roughly 69th to 93rd Streets between Northern Boulevard and Roosevelt Avenue — recognition and a tax-credit designation, restricting nothing a private owner does to a privately funded building. Distinguish the city designation from State and National Register status when evaluating the applicable review requirements.

Third, the corporation is much younger than the building — a 1940 physical plant inside a forty-year-old legal entity, the neighborhood norm. The offering plan, not the construction date, explains the balance sheet: conversion terms, engineer's report, and what the sponsor kept.

Architecture and unit composition

One continuous six-story mass running the full 306-foot blockfront: about 108,000 square feet on a 30,600-square-foot lot, built to a floor area ratio of 3.53 in an R7-1 district. It is the plainer, later cousin of the garden apartments opposite — brick, restrained, an elevator building from the tail of the pre-war period rather than a 1920s walk-up group. The building occupies an 80-foot depth on a 100-foot lot, leaving a landscaped garden with seating along the full length of the rear. That is private land belonging to the corporation, not a public park; access runs with the shares.

The mix reads predominantly one- and two-bedroom: the corporation's energy filing reports 143 bedrooms across 114 units, about 1.25 per apartment, with 90 percent of floor area both heated and cooled. Room dimensions are pre-war generous for the square footage, and layouts of this vintage carry foyers and separate dining areas that newer product of the same footprint does not.

Building operations

The single-building operation uses gas heat and a live-in superintendent rather than doorman staff. Compare its actual maintenance and assessments with specific doorman co-ops on the Queens Boulevard corridor. Amenity space is basement-level and functional: laundry, recreation room, exercise room, bicycle and general storage, children's playroom.

Review the reported energy performance. The building carries a B grade with an ENERGY STAR score of 84 under Local Law 33, on a block where the neighboring lots run C, D and F, at about 75 kBtu per square foot on natural gas with no fuel oil reported. The energy grade does not establish the cost or timing of compliance with the Local Law 97 limits that tighten in 2030. Reported emissions intensity sits modestly above the cited 2030 threshold; ask for the engineer's calculation, applicable limits and exceptions, and the board's scoped and funded work plan. Reserve balance, assessment history and underlying mortgage maturity were not established in the reviewed materials; request current audited statements before an offer.

Policy framework

Financing. Listing and brokerage records report a 20 percent minimum down payment — the neighborhood's common term and plausible, but not verified against an offering plan or purchase application on file. Confirm it in writing.

Subletting. Reported as permitted with board approval. Duration limits, waiting periods and sublet fees are not documented, and those three, not the yes-or-no, decide whether an apartment has an exit other than resale.

Pets, pied-à-terre use, flip tax and post-closing liquidity requirements are not documented in materials on file. Do not assume a Jackson Heights default; these terms vary corporation to corporation and should be confirmed from the current governing documents and application instructions.

Financing and purchase requirements

Maximum financing
80% of the purchase priceSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Maintenance, per room
$221 per room a monthMedian of 5 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026

Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Doorman (hours not stated)Source: The Roebling Team's building profile
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Fitness room, playroom, garden, bike storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟢
Strong — under cap in both periods
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
Per unit / month range
—

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Recent sales

Compare room count and usable layout alongside verified interior area, condition, exposure and carrying costs. Check how any advertised square footage was measured before relying on per-foot comparisons. The 114-unit count does not establish turnover or the availability of same-line sales. Review the actual dated record here and at the individually incorporated walk-ups opposite, where each corporation contains ten or eleven apartments, before choosing the comparison set.

Three variables drive the internal spread: floor and exposure, with garden-facing upper-floor lines carrying a premium over street-facing lower floors; renovation state, where original kitchens and baths trade at a clear discount; and the all-in monthly read net of the city's cooperative and condominium tax abatement. Against the immediate peer set the case here is the absence of Landmarks jurisdiction, the B energy grade, and the apartment-specific sales evidence available at the time of analysis. Market statements are indexed to the last complete year.

Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Jul 21, 2026121
3 BR · 2 BA
$950,000+0.0%
Jul 1, 2026207
1 BR · 1 BA · 768 sf
$450,000$586/sf+0.0%
Feb 4, 2026521
2 BR · 1 BA
$730,000+0.0%
Jan 3, 2025123
1 BR · 1 BA
$460,000-2.1%
Nov 2, 2023626
2 BR · 1 BA
$660,000+0.0%
Sep 13, 2023426
2 BR · 1 BA
$660,000-1.3%
Nov 18, 2022322
1 BR · 1 BA
$430,000-4.4%
Oct 31, 2022320
1 BR · 1 BA
$460,000-1.1%

Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $586/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. Median listing discount 0.2% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

122 · 900 sf+80%
$242,000 2014 → $375,000 2017 → $435,000 ($483/sf) 2019
204 · 1,150 sf+73%
$375,000 ($313/sf) 2013 → $648,500 ($564/sf) 2018
322+65%
$261,000 ($290/sf) 2013 → $429,000 ($536/sf) 2018 → $430,000 2022
429 · 800 sf+40%
$280,000 ($350/sf) 2014 → $391,500 ($489/sf) 2016
521+18%
$620,000 2021 → $730,000 2026
View all 109 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 4-01275-0020). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at Colonial Court and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $595K (4 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 21, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $10,781 to close, or 1.8% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $0
  • No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $10,781

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with Colonial Court and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Colonial Court. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know at Colonial Court

Confirm the building's identity before comping it. A comparable described as Hawthorne Court is across the street, in a different corporation, in a landmarked district, in a 1922 walk-up.

The address is outside the 1993 city district. Verify that against the Commission's own boundary data, then evaluate the actual project scope, approvals and budget without assuming a cost advantage.

Get the offering plan, the last two audited statements and the current house rules. The down payment ceiling, sublet terms, flip tax and pet policy above are either unverified or undocumented, and all four are deal-determining.

Ask what the garden costs. The full-length rear yard is what people buy for, and it is a permanent operating expense sitting in the maintenance line, an assessment, or a reserve that is drawing down.

Sellers: lead with the energy grade and the absence of Landmarks review. Both are checkable and both are uncommon on these blocks.

Comparable buildings

  • Montclair Gardens (35-35 75th Street) — the near-mirror building on the same block: 1941, six stories, 114 units, same non-designated status
  • The Warwick (76-12 35th Avenue) — 1940, 82-unit elevator cooperative one block east, also outside the city district
  • Hawthorne Court (35-33 76th Street) — the 1922 Queensboro garden complex directly opposite, inside the 1993 district
  • 35-25 77th Street — 1936 elevator cooperative inside the district, at similar scale
  • Washington Plaza (73-12 35th Avenue) — the neighborhood's largest cooperative, also outside the city district, on very different terms
  • 110-11 Queens Boulevard (Kennedy House) — the Forest Hills full-service alternative

More Jackson Heights buildings

The neighborhood

For the full neighborhood — its buildings, character, and market — read The Roebling Team Guide to Jackson Heights.

Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at Colonial Court?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com