Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfHell's Kitchen $1,328/sf ▴0%
Full index →
Condominium · 2007
408 Greenwich Street
408 Greenwich Street, New York, NY 10013
Buildings·Tribeca·Condominium

408 Greenwich Street

408 Greenwich Street, New York, NY 10013

Tribeca

BBL 1002177502 · BIN 1087757

At a glance
Year built
2007
Type
Condominium
Floors
9
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; in the Tribeca North Historic District
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
Leasing by owners
Permitted with conditions
Dogs and cats
Not permitted
Doorman
Doorman (hours not stated)

408 Greenwich Street sales history: 13 recorded sales

Own an apartment at 408 Greenwich Street?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2008–2026

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2026 to date
$2,760
2 sales
Listing discount
10.2%
Recorded sales
13
On record
2008–2026
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 408 Greenwich Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

Building new inside a New York City historic district is a narrow path, and this building is one of the clearer Tribeca examples of it being walked well. The Landmarks Preservation Commission approved a new building on the site in June 2003, after the 1929 garage that had occupied the lot. Morris Adjmi Architects designed what followed: nine stories at 114 feet, organized around broad arched openings and rounded terracotta columns, arguing in the material and proportional language of the district's warehouse buildings rather than in a glass one. LPC signed off with a Notice of Compliance in November 2010.

The building's more consequential feature for a buyer is structural rather than architectural. It was not built as a residential building. The new-building application proposed four dwelling units above a commercial base, and the offering plan sold eleven units — six residential on floors six through nine, four commercial units, and one retail unit at the base. The plan then gave the non-residential units unusually broad latitude: they "may be used for any purpose permitted by Law, including, without limitation, additional residential units." That single clause has driven the building's evolution ever since.

It has been converting upward, floor by floor, for fifteen years. A 2011 alteration converted the fourth and fifth floors to residential dwelling units and took the certificated count from four to six, receiving a final certificate of occupancy in April 2013. A further alteration filed in 2015 proposed seven dwelling units and received its final certificate of occupancy on April 29, 2025 — seven. The Department of Finance has not followed. Its FY2027 roll still classifies four of the nine unit lots as commercial condominium units in tax class 4, alongside four residential lots in tax class 2 and one retail lot.

The gap between those two records is the single most important thing to understand here. Tax class 4 is assessed and taxed on a different basis and at a different rate than tax class 2. A residence occupying a unit lot that the city still carries as commercial can therefore have a materially different — and generally higher, and differently calculated — real estate tax bill than an apparently comparable residence on the floor above it. ACRIS shows those "commercial" lots trading at residential prices. Any buyer looking at a unit on the lower residential floors should pull the actual tax bill for that specific lot rather than reasoning from the building or from a per-foot average, and should have counsel confirm the certificated use of the specific unit against the April 2025 certificate.

The tax abatement question, by contrast, is clean. The building carried a ten-year 421-a exemption beginning in 2012, applied across every unit lot. It expired. Exempt value appears through the FY2021 roll and is zero from FY2022 forward. There is no benefit left to inherit and no step-up schedule ahead; the taxes on any unit are what they are today.

Architecture and unit composition

The elevation is masonry and terracotta rather than curtain wall, with arched window openings carried on rounded columns at the base and a regular punched rhythm above. It sits at the scale of its neighbors on a small, irregular corner lot of 4,329 square feet, with roughly 32,600 square feet of built area — a floor-area ratio of about 7.54 on a lot whose residential maximum is 6.02, which reflects the site's mixed-use zoning within the Special Tribeca Mixed Use District rather than a violation.

Internally the building is a stack of one-unit floors. ACRIS designations run RETL1 at the ground, COM 1 through COM 4 above it, and RES 6 through RES 9 at the top, and at least one lot is deeded as a combination — recorded as "7A&B." The top-floor residence carries the building's only terrace as an exclusive right. The offering plan places mechanical equipment on floors two, five and six as well as the cellar and roof, which is worth locating relative to any specific unit, and records lot-line windows on the north and west façades — openings that depend on the neighboring properties remaining unbuilt at that height.

One provision in the offering plan deserves a buyer's attention because it is not standard: the non-residential unit owners hold a right, with sponsor consent, to alter, modify or restore the exterior façade abutting their units and to create new means of ingress and egress. In a nine-unit building where four or five of the units are non-residential, that is a meaningful allocation of control over the street elevation, subject in practice to Landmarks review.

Building operations

This is a very small operating entity, and the audited financial statement on file makes that concrete. Total operating expenses ran $323,505 in 2018 against $313,190 in 2017, on common charge income of $352,800 in both years — a budget roughly the size of a single large apartment's annual carrying cost in some Tribeca buildings. The largest lines were services, utilities and maintenance, and staffing costs are consistent with a small crew rather than a full doorman roster, notwithstanding the plan's provision for a lobby attended around the clock.

Three facts from the audited statement are worth carrying into any diligence:

No capital reserve fund was reported at the 2017 or 2018 year-end. The statements record explicitly that no capital reserve fund was established at either of those dates, and that the only restricted balance was a working capital fund of $24,661, unchanged year over year. Total fund balances stood at $2,442 at the end of 2018 against $10,432 a year earlier. The board elected to omit the reserve-study supplementary information ordinarily required, on the reasoning that it makes capital repairs on an ongoing basis. Those disclosures do not establish present funding adequacy or how future work will be financed. Obtain current reserves, a capital plan and any proposed assessments.

No underlying mortgage or line of credit was reported in the 2017–2018 statements. No mortgage, note payable or credit facility appears in those balance sheets or notes; obtain current financials and debt information before assessing present obligations or refinancing exposure.

No assessment was levied in either year, and the statements carry no litigation note. Capital spending in 2018 ran through below-the-line charges — a Local Law 11 façade item, pump room and boiler room repairs, and an intercom replacement — totalling roughly $44,000, which produced a small net loss for the year.

Because real estate taxes are billed directly to unit owners rather than run through common charges, the common charge figure quoted for any unit here is not comparable to a building where taxes are pooled. Add the specific unit's tax bill before comparing.

Policy framework

Ownership form: Condominium. No board approval of purchasers; the Condominium Board holds a right of first refusal to purchase or lease a residential unit on the same terms, with an express exception for leases of less than one year. Sponsor and non-residential unit owners are exempt from that restriction.

Use: Residential units are restricted to residential use by one family, plus zoning-permitted home occupation. Entity-owned units are limited to designated principals, their families and guests.

Working capital contribution: Two months' common charges at closing.

Flip tax: None in the offering plan on file. Confirm with the managing agent whether one has been adopted since.

Washer/dryer: Hookups provided; equipment is the owner's. No common laundry room.

Financing: Not a purchase contingency under the plan; a 20 percent deposit was required.

Real estate taxes: No abatement. The ten-year 421-a exemption expired after FY2021 and no exemption appears from FY2022 forward. Taxes are billed directly to owners. Confirm the tax class of the specific unit lot before underwriting.

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Leasing by owners
Permitted with conditionsBoard approvalSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Pied-à-terre ownership
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Dogs and cats
Not permittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
In-unit washer/dryer
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Doorman (hours not stated)Source: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
Amenities noted
GarageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$21,314/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $444
Modeled exposure split equally across 4 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
Safe
What this means for you

The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.

Inspection history
2015–20
SWARMP
2020–25
Safe
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2028
Assessed · 2015–20 to 2020–25
$23,000 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2015–20 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See the full facade history →

421-a Tax Abatement

421-a exemption · full taxation began FY2022
Abatement ended
Abatement ended after FY2021
Last year of benefit
FY2021
Fully taxed from
FY2022 (2021–22)
Program
421-a (10-year)
What this means for you

The 421-a benefit has run its term, so taxes on these units have stepped up toward the full assessed amount. Get the current tax bill for the specific apartment and compare its tax component with any older listing: an earlier carrying-cost figure may reflect the benefit, or different common charges and assessments. Treat a comparable sale made while the abatement was still running as priced under different taxes.

Source: NYC Dept. of Finance property-tax exemption records (421-a), refreshed 2026-09-06 · The Roebling Research Library. Confirm the exact step-up schedule on the building’s DOF tax bill. Years shown are NYC tax years, which start July 1 — FY2022 runs July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2022. The benefit last appears on the 2021 assessment roll, which is what dates the end of the term.

The 421-a Expiration Wave — our study of when these benefits expire citywide, and what the resale record shows about pricing as they do.

Recent sales

The sponsor's residential closings ran through 2008, with the four upper-floor residences conveyed between April and May of that year and the commercial units transferred separately. Resales have been steady but sparse, as they must be in a building with fewer than ten unit lots: recorded conveyances appear in 2012, 2015, 2021, 2023, 2025 and 2026, generally one at a time.

The pricing frame here is full-floor Tribeca residential space in a small, architect-signed building with an attended lobby and essentially no amenities. That is a specific buyer: someone paying for floor plate, light, location and the Adjmi elevation rather than for services. The right comparable set is the small Tribeca North conversions and boutique new-construction buildings within a few blocks — not the larger full-service condominiums with fitness centres and staff, whose common charges and buyer pool are different. Two variables should be resolved before any offer: the tax class of the specific unit lot, and the current reserve position, since no capital reserve fund was reported at the 2017 or 2018 year-end. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.

Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
May 14, 20264
4 BR · 3.5 BA · 3,457 sf
$9,500,000$2,748/sf-7.3%
Feb 6, 20263
5 BR · 4.5 BA · 3,428 sf
$9,500,000$2,771/sf—
Jun 11, 20253
5 BR · 4.5 BA · 3,457 sf
$8,250,000$2,386/sf-8.3%
May 2, 20236
4 BR · 4 BA · 3,644 sf
$8,750,000$2,401/sf-12.1%
Nov 19, 2021PH
4 BR · 3.5 BA · 4,200 sf
$20,000,000$4,762/sf+5.3%
Jul 16, 20214
4 BR · 2.5 BA · 3,457 sf
$6,850,000$1,981/sf-19.4%
May 14, 20217
4 BR · 4 BA · 3,722 sf
$7,300,000$1,961/sf-14.1%
Apr 8, 20157
4 BR · 3,650 sf
$9,250,000$2,534/sf-14.0%

Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $2,760/sf (recorded) across 2 sales. Median listing discount 10.2% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

PH · 4,200 sf+89%
$10,589,800 ($2,736/sf) 2008 → $20,000,000 ($4,762/sf) 2021
4 · 3,457 sf+39%
$6,850,000 ($1,981/sf) 2021 → $9,500,000 ($2,748/sf) 2026
3 · 3,428 sf+15%
$8,250,000 ($2,386/sf) 2025 → $9,500,000 ($2,771/sf) 2026
8 · 3,616 sf+7%
$7,850,000 ($2,105/sf) 2008 → $8,400,000 ($2,323/sf) 2012
7 · 3,722 sf-4%
$7,636,875 ($2,052/sf) 2008 → $9,250,000 ($2,534/sf) 2015 → $7,300,000 ($1,961/sf) 2021
View all 13 recorded sales, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00217-7502; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 408 Greenwich Street and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $9.5M (3 sales in the past 24 months, since October 21, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $443,406 to close, or 4.7% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $213,750
  • Mortgage recording tax: $137,156
  • Title insurance: $42,750
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees, reserves and filings: $49,750

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with 408 Greenwich Street and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 408 Greenwich Street. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Pull the tax bill for the specific unit lot. Four of the nine lots are still classified as commercial in tax class 4. A residence on one of them is taxed on a different basis than a residence on a class 2 lot. This is the largest single variable in the carrying cost here.

Ask which certificate covers your unit. The final certificate of occupancy of April 29, 2025 records seven dwelling units. Have counsel confirm that the specific unit's residential use is covered by it.

Establish the current reserve position. The 2017–2018 statements reported no capital reserve fund. Ask for the most recent audited statement, the current fund balances, and the board's plan for the next Local Law 11 cycle. In a nine-unit building a façade cycle is a per-unit number, not a line item.

Bring your own washer and dryer, and check the hookups. There is no common laundry room in the building.

Locate the mechanicals and the lot-line windows. Equipment sits on floors two, five and six; the north and west façades carry lot-line windows that depend on the neighbors.

Do not read PLUTO or the LPC building record literally. PLUTO says four residential units; LPC's building record describes a 1929 garage. The building has seven certificated dwelling units in a 2008 structure.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with the architecture and the district. New construction approved inside the Tribeca North Historic District is not a thing that can be repeated on demand, and the Adjmi elevation is the building's most durable differentiator.

Get ahead of the unit-count confusion. A buyer's counsel will find four different unit counts across four public records within an hour. Assemble the certificate of occupancy, the tax roll entry and the plan's unit schedule and present them together.

Be direct about taxes. The 421-a is gone and has been since FY2022. Present the current bill for the specific lot with True Monthly Carrying Cost analysis rather than a per-foot common charge figure, which understates the number here because taxes are billed separately.

Price against boutique Tribeca, not full-service Tribeca. There is no gym, no laundry room and no roof deck. The comparable set is the small buildings, and the pitch is floor plate and light.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 408 Greenwich Street, also evaluate:

More Tribeca buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Tribeca — read The Roebling Team Guide to Tribeca.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at 408 Greenwich Street?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com