510 East 80th Street (The Carriage House)
510 East 80th Street, New York, NY 10075
BBL 1015767501 · BIN 1050774
- Year built
- 1986
- Type
- Condominium
- Floors
- 15
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Doorman
- Doorman (hours not stated)
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2026 to date
- $965
- floor-adjusted, 4 sales
- Listing discount
- 3.5%
- Recorded sales
- 105
- On record
- 2003–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Carriage House would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
The Carriage House is what mid-1980s Yorkville produced when a developer put a full-service building on an interior block lot rather than an avenue. It sits on the south side of East 80th between York and East End — a block of small prewar walk-ups and one 1970s slab — and rises fifteen stories above them, with recorded floor area nearly twice what a simple comparison with the block's present contextual zoning suggests — a comparison that does not establish legal zoning floor area or what could be built on the block.
The proposition is straightforward. It is a condominium in a corner of Yorkville that is otherwise dominated by cooperatives, so there is no co-op board admission of the kind at 200 East End Avenue or the East End Avenue prewar tier; confirm pied-à-terre, entity and leasing rules in the declaration and bylaws. It has a 24-hour doorman, a roof deck and a garage on the property. It is two short blocks from Carl Schurz Park, John Jay Park and the river esplanade, and within reach of the Second Avenue subway at 86th Street. And it prices below the East End Avenue and Gracie Square addresses that share the same park.
The building was drawn by Schuman, Lichtenstein, Claman & Efron — the practice that by the mid-1980s was doing more New York residential work than almost anyone and that became SLCE Architects a decade later. The offering plan on file names the firm directly, which settles an attribution that circulates in secondary sources under the later firm name. The design is characteristic of the office in that decade: a masonry tower with projecting balconies punctuating the elevation, a granite-faced entrance, and an efficient plan that gets a full-service building onto a mid-block lot.
What a buyer needs to underwrite here is not the architecture. It is the balance sheet and the façade.
Architecture and unit composition
Roughly 76,800 square feet of residential area over fifteen floors, on a lot of about 12,800 square feet, with a further 8,800 square feet of garage and a small office component. The plan offered 92 residences; the current audited statements count 94; the city's land-use file records 91. The differing figures may reflect different dates or unit populations. Reconcile the approved occupancy schedule, plan amendments and current unit matrix before treating any one count as conclusive.
Apartments run from studios through three-bedrooms, on lettered lines with balconies and terraces distributed across the elevation rather than uniformly. Those terraces and balconies are limited common elements under the declaration — appurtenant to the unit they serve, but common property for maintenance and alteration purposes, which matters when a buyer starts planning outdoor work. Several ground-floor units carry greenhouse structures projecting into the rear yard, filed with DOB across 2005 and 2017; these are unusual and should be inspected carefully for water and glazing condition.
Original kitchen and appliance specifications were mid-1980s builder-grade and each unit's renovation history requires confirmation. Ceiling heights and window proportions are of their decade rather than prewar. Compare exposures alongside condition, layout and monthly costs: north-facing lines look over East 80th Street and the low-rise blocks beyond; upper floors on the east open toward East End Avenue and, on the highest floors, glimpses of the river.
Building operations and capital posture
The Carriage House runs on approximately $1.25 million a year in common charges — a figure that was identical in each of the two most recent years reported in the audited statements on file, alongside about $33,600 of rental income and roughly $23,400 of laundry income. Staff are unionized under the building services agreement, and the condominium contributes to the industry multiemployer pension fund, which the statements disclose as being in critical status. Management is professional and off-site.
The unusual operating feature is the superintendent's housing. At the first closing in 1986 the condominium board purchased Unit 3G from the sponsor to house the superintendent, financing it with a mortgage. Four decades on, the arrangement has inverted: the condominium still owns Unit 3G and rents it to a tenant, while separately leasing a unit from the sponsor to house the superintendent. Both facts appear in the statements on file. It works, but a buyer should understand that the condominium is a landlord and a tenant simultaneously, and that a change on either side would move the budget.
Reserves are thin and the board has not commissioned a study. The designated reserve fund stood in the mid-$250,000s at the most recent year-end on file, with total cash just above $500,000 and members' equity under $460,000 — against a fifteen-story, 90-plus-unit building. The auditors note both that the condominium has not conducted a study to determine the remaining useful lives of building systems and has not developed a plan to fund future major repairs, and that the required supplementary information on future major repairs has been omitted from the statements entirely. That is a disclosure, not an allegation, and it is the single most important thing on this page for a buyer.
The recent capital history shows why it matters. The board approved a special assessment totalling approximately $445,000, collected monthly over four years from February 2018 through November 2021, to service a $400,000 term loan taken to fund capital projects and replenish reserves. The loan was repaid in full in November 2021 and the assessment concluded with it. In the two years covered by the statements on file, common area improvements were the city's periodic façade work, a booster pump system replacement, and a standpipe tank replacement then still in progress.
The façade record is the live issue. Under the city's periodic inspection programme the building filed unsafe in the cycle beginning in 2007, resolved to safe in 2008; filed unsafe again in the cycle beginning in 2017, amended to safe in mid-2018; and filed safe with a repair and maintenance programme in its most recent cycle, in September 2021. A 251-foot sidewalk shed has been permitted repeatedly — 2012, 2013 and 2016. This is a building that has spent real money on its envelope on a recurring basis, with modest reserves behind it and no reserve study. Ask the managing agent, in writing, for the current cycle status, the engineer's scope, the estimated cost, and how the board intends to fund it.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
6 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Credit Check FeePer applicantRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 for each applicant | Refundable Not stated |
| Move In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $750 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move Out Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move Out Deposit | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
Rental or lease
7 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move Out Fee | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicantRequired | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $250 for each applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move In Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Processing Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move Out Deposit | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move In Deposit | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
Lease renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Common charges + taxes, per room
- $666 per room a monthMedian of 12 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Common charges + taxes, per square foot
- $2.80 per square foot a monthMedian of 13 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Common charges alone, per square foot
- $1.50 per square foot a monthMedian of 12 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
- Real estate taxes alone, per square foot
- $1.12 per square foot a monthMedian of 12 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. The split into common charges and taxes comes from the listings that also give the annual tax, a different sample, so the two lines need not add up exactly to the combined median; a tax abatement can hold taxes below the full amount until it expires. A summary of recorded sales and listings, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Doorman (hours not stated)Source: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
- Amenities noted
- Roof deck, garage, bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $49,446/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $45
- Modeled exposure split equally across 91 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Recent sales
The Carriage House trades as the full-service condominium value entry to the far-east Upper East Side. Its buyers are typically choosing between it and either the cooperative stock on East End Avenue — where carrying costs, qualification, pied-à-terre and entity rules are set building by building — or the newer condominium product further west and south at materially higher pricing. Within the building, pricing is set by exposure, outdoor space and renovation condition; a renovated upper-floor unit with a usable terrace is a different asset from an unrenovated lower-floor interior line, and the spread is wide.
Indexed to the last complete year, the Yorkville condominium market has been transacting on carrying cost and on capital certainty. The building's unabated taxes, its flat common charges, its recently concluded assessment and its recurring façade programme all belong in that conversation. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
The ownership base is healthy and dispersed, which is worth stating plainly because it is not true everywhere in this vintage. Every residential unit lot has transferred by deed, none is classed as a rental unit by the Department of Finance, recorded transfers since 2016 run to roughly a hundred distinct unrelated purchasers, and no owner other than the sponsor's residual holding controls more than two apartments.
Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 8, 2026 | 8C | 1 BR · 1.5 BA · 910 sf | $870,000 | $956/sf | -13.0% |
| Apr 23, 2026 | 12E | 1 BR · 1 BA · 708 sf | $750,000 | $1,059/sf | -6.0% |
| Feb 13, 2026 | 2E | 1 BR · 1 BA · 720 sf | $650,000 | $903/sf | -1.5% |
| Jan 9, 2026 | 4F | 3 BR · 2 BA · 1,523 sf | $1,625,000 | $1,067/sf | -7.1% |
| Aug 14, 2025 | 7A | 2 BR · 1 BA · 791 sf | $885,000 | $1,119/sf | +0.0% |
| Jul 22, 2025 | 14A | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,044 sf | $1,475,000 | $1,413/sf | -7.8% |
| Jun 25, 2025 | 4D | 1 BR · 692 sf | $820,000 | $1,185/sf | -1.8% |
| Apr 24, 2025 | 10C | 1 BR · 2 BA · 910 sf | $1,060,500 | $1,165/sf | -9.7% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $965/sf (floor-adjusted) across 4 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 3.5% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01576-7501; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.
Closed rents at The Carriage House, last 36 months
| Size | Leases | Median / month |
|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | 5 | $4,300 |
6 closed leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease June 2026. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.
What would your apartment rent for?
The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at The Carriage House and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $885K (11 sales in the past 24 months, since October 21, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $32,814 to close, or 3.7% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- Mortgage recording tax: $12,777
- Title insurance: $3,982
- Attorneys, lender, building fees, reserves and filings: $16,055
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with The Carriage House and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Carriage House. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Underwrite the reserve position, not the common charge. Common charges here have been flat, which looks like discipline and may be. But with reserves in the mid-six figures, no reserve study, no funding plan, and a façade programme that has repeatedly required work, the next capital cycle could be funded by an assessment, higher charges or borrowing. Price that scenario in.
Ask what the current façade cycle requires. The last filing was safe with a repair and maintenance programme. Get the engineer's report, the scope and the board's funding plan before contract.
Read the commercial and garage disclosure. The plan gives the residential owners no approval right over how the commercial units and the garage unit are used, and expressly contemplates uses producing heavy traffic or noise. Walk the block at different hours. Ask the managing agent what the units are currently leased for and for how long.
Note the sponsor's residual position. The sponsor retained a small percentage of common interests and leases a unit to the condominium for the superintendent. It is not a control position, but a lender may ask about it — have the answer ready.
The taxes are unabated. The 421-a benefit expired in the 1990s. Buyers arriving from newer, abated condominiums will find the tax line higher than they expect. Run the True Monthly Carrying Cost Calculator against the actual bill on the specific unit.
Terraces are limited common elements. Any work on outdoor space runs through the board and the declaration, not through your contractor alone.
What to know if you’re selling
Sell the tenure and the service package. In this pocket of Yorkville a condominium with a 24-hour doorman, a roof deck and a garage is a scarcer product than the price band suggests. Buyers who need pied-à-terre, LLC or trust ownership have very few alternatives within walking distance of Carl Schurz Park.
Get ahead of the reserve question. A buyer's attorney will read the auditor's note about the omitted reserve information. A seller who supplies the current financials, the current budget and the board's façade plan up front gives the buyer's advisers the records needed to assess the reserve and façade questions; no fixed delay reduction is established.
Say plainly that the assessment ended. The four-year debt-service assessment concluded in November 2021 and the underlying loan was repaid. That is a positive fact and it is easy to miss.
Price the outdoor space honestly. Terraces and balconies are the building's differentiator against the surrounding stock, and comparables should come from units with equivalent outdoor space, not from the building average.
Condition decides the outcome. Original 1986 kitchens and baths clear only when priced against the cost to replace them. Run the Renovation Cost Calculator against your asking strategy.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 510 East 80th Street, also evaluate:
- 507 East 80th Street — the boutique condominium directly across the street; the small-building alternative on the opposite block face
- 525 East 80th Street — condominium further east on the same street toward East End Avenue
- 2 East End Avenue — on the same tax block at the East End Avenue corner; the prewar comparison
- 10 East End Avenue — also on the same block; the postwar full-service cooperative alternative
- 515 East 79th Street — the 1981 tower on the same block's southern frontage; the closest like-for-like on vintage and scale
- 502 East 81st Street — one block north; the smaller-building comparison
- 301 East 80th Street — the same street at Second Avenue; the transit-adjacent alternative
- 345 East 80th Street — mid-block East 80th Street between First and Second; a different block character
- 200 East End Avenue — the full-blockfront cooperative on the park nine blocks north; the co-op step across into the East End corridor
- 25 East End Avenue — prewar cooperative on the East End Avenue corridor; the prestige comparison
More Upper East Side buildings
- 502 East 81st Street — condominium
- 505 East 79th Street (East River House) — 1963 co-op by Philip Birnbaum & Associates
- 507 East 80th Street — 1925 condominium
- 510 East 86th Street — 1958 co-op
- 515 East 72nd Street — 1985 condominium
- 515 East 79th Street (Asten House) — 1981 co-op by Philip Birnbaum & Associates
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper East Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper East Side.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at The Carriage House?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com