Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfHell's Kitchen $1,328/sf ▴0%
Full index →
Condominium · 1835
77 Horatio Street
75–77 Horatio Street, New York, NY 10014
Buildings·West Village·Condominium

77 Horatio Street

75–77 Horatio Street, New York, NY 10014

West Village

BBL 1006437501 · BIN 1012169

CorridorWest Village
At a glance
Year built
1835
Type
Condominium
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; in the Greenwich Village Historic District
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
Leasing by owners
Permitted
Pied-à-terre
Permitted
Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
Washer/dryer
Permitted
Maximum financing
80% of the purchase price

77 Horatio Street sales history: 16 recorded sales

Own an apartment at 77 Horatio Street?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 77 Horatio Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

Two Greek Revival row houses went up on the north side of Horatio Street in 1835 and 1836, built by William R. Halsey for Henry J. Wyckoff, part of a short terrace that also produced 71 and 73 next door. They stood for a century and a half as houses. In 1984 a general partnership bought them, emptied them, and spent two years converting the pair — behind their two original stoops — into a single twelve-unit condominium. The declaration was recorded in July 1986 and every apartment was sold to a separate buyer within eleven months.

That history explains almost everything a buyer needs to know here. The building is a townhouse condominium: no elevator, no doorman, one part-time employee in the original budget, four stories of walk-up over a cellar and basement. It is also, structurally, two buildings — which is why the tax lot reads 75 Horatio in PLUTO, the condominium reads 77, and the offering plan reads 75–77. All three are the same property.

The second thing worth understanding is that the public record on this building is unusually wrong. PLUTO dates it to 1910 and gives it three floors. Both are incorrect. The Landmarks Preservation Commission dates the pair to 1835–36 and the offering plan says "in or about 1836"; the plan describes a cellar, basement and four stories. Appraisers and lenders pull PLUTO. Knowing the difference — and being able to source the correction to LPC's own database and to the plan — is worth doing before a valuation lands.

Third, the tax position is clean and settled. A J-51 abatement at 90 percent ran on all twelve unit lots from 1987 and expired with tax year 2000. There is no step-up waiting in the carrying cost, and nothing to unwind.

Architecture and unit composition

The facades are brick with stone trim in the Greek Revival manner, and the construction is what the offering plan calls Class IIB combustible — old-code non-fireproof, wood and metal framing. The two houses read as a pair from the street, with one asymmetry LPC records specifically: the stoop at No. 75 was removed and a basement entrance put in its place, while No. 77 keeps its stoop. The main entrance is at the west end of the building.

Apartments run from the garden level up: GA and GB at grade with rear garden access and lower-level rooms in the cellar that the plan expressly bars from habitable use; 1A and 1B on the parlor floor, also with gardens; 2A, 2B and 2C; 3A, 3B and 3C; and 4A and 4B at the top with roof rights. Layouts and floor areas were never standardized — this is a converted pair of houses, and the plates differ. Every apartment was given a living-room fireplace, and four of them a second fireplace in the bedroom. Units GA and 1A each received a private front entrance and their own washer and dryer at conversion; the rest shared the cellar laundry. The 2018 combination of 4A and 4B means the top floor may now read as one residence.

Building operations

There is no elevator; the first-year budget contemplated one part-time employee, but that historical budget does not establish current staffing. Common elements include the two stoops and areaways, the public stairs from lobby to roof, the boiler, compactor, utility and laundry rooms in the cellar, and the structure itself. A refuse chute feeds the cellar compactor. Garden patios, roof areas, balconies and the rear entranceways are limited common elements assigned to particular units, and their ordinary upkeep sits with those owners.

The visible capital record is short and consistent with a small masonry building: facade repair in 2008 under a heavy-duty sidewalk shed and pipe scaffold; a gas boiler replacement and indirect water heater in 2022; and a steady run of individual apartment renovations filed under landmarks review. Because the lot is inside the Greenwich Village Historic District, exterior work — windows, stoops, ironwork, roof structures visible from the street — generally requires LPC approval before the relevant DOB permit; eligible work can receive staff approval and visibility alone does not mandate a Certificate of Appropriateness. Budget time for that, not just money.

Policy framework

The offering plan sets the structure and the current management-sourced record sets the policy, and on this building they agree.

Purchases do not require board approval. A unit may be sold to anyone, subject to a right of first refusal by the Board of Managers — the standard condominium mechanism, and the only consent step in a transfer here. The plan expressly permits ownership by an individual, corporation, partnership or trust, and recorded transfers confirm that trusts and LLCs have held units here for years.

Financing is capped at 80 percent of purchase price and post-closing liquidity is required, per management-sourced records. That is stricter than a typical condominium and is the single policy point most likely to surprise a buyer who assumed a condo imposes no financial test. Subletting is allowed; short-term rentals and Airbnb are not. Pied-à-terre and secondary-residence use are allowed, as are co-purchasing, parents purchasing for a child, and corporate and diplomatic purchases. Pets are allowed — the 1986 rules permitted one household pet, and the plan warns that the rules may be amended. Smoking is prohibited. Homeowner's and renter's insurance are required. No flip tax appears anywhere in the record. Confirm every line of this with the managing agent at offer stage; house rules change and the plan is forty years old.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of June 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Purchase

5 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $700Refundable Non-refundable
Application Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Non-refundable
Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $20 per personRefundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-In DepositPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable
Move-Out DepositPaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable

Rental or lease

5 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $700Refundable Non-refundable
Application Processing FeePaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $350Refundable Non-refundable
Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $20 per applicantRefundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-Out DepositPaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable
Move-In DepositPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable

Alteration

2 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by ResidentWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Professional Services Review DepositPaid by ResidentWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Not stated

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Financing and purchase requirements

Maximum financing
80% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of June 2026
Guarantors
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of June 2026
Co-purchasing
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of June 2026
Parent buying for an employed child
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of June 2026
Parent buying for a student child
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of June 2026
Purchase or lease by a corporation
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of June 2026

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Leasing by owners
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of June 2026
Pied-à-terre ownership
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of June 2026
Short-term rentals
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of June 2026

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of June 2026
In-unit washer/dryer
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of June 2026

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Building staffing and amenities

Elevator
NoSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Roof deck, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Compliance status
Below the individual-building threshold

This building is below the 25,000 sq ft threshold at which LL97 limits apply to a building on its own. It is still covered if it shares a tax lot or condominium board with buildings totaling over 50,000 sq ft; confirm on DOB’s covered-buildings list.

See full Local Law 97 analysis →

Recent sales

This trades as small-building West Village product: full-service comparisons do not apply, and the right frame is other converted row houses and small loft conversions west of Hudson Street, priced per square foot. Two structural facts shape the market. Measure the available sales sample — the twelve-unit count does not establish turnover, and individual outliers require review. And the vertical spread inside the building is wide, because the garden and parlor apartments carry private outdoor space, the top floor carries roof rights, and the middle floors carry neither; a walk-up premium runs in the opposite direction to the outdoor-space premium. The absence of an elevator or doorman does not establish lower common charges; confirm current staffing, charges, reserves and planned façade costs. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

3C+118%
$640,000 2002 → $1,395,000 2016
2A+68%
$686,500 2003 → $1,152,000 2005
1B+39%
$1,750,000 2007 → $2,427,000 2015
1A+30%
$2,700,000 2015 → $3,510,000 2022
2C+20%
$1,425,000 2015 → $1,713,000 2021

Recent closings at this building, sourced from NYC Department of Finance records. Apartment-level detail (line, condition, asking-price context) verified upon consultation request.

DateUnitPrice
Jul 11, 20221A$3,510,000
Jun 23, 2022GB$2,750,000
Jan 4, 20222C$1,713,000
Mar 23, 2021GA$2,507,000
Jul 10, 20184B$2,740,000
Jul 5, 20163C$1,395,000
View all 16 recorded sales, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00643-7501; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 77 Horatio Street and nearby.

Buying here? Condo closing costs with a mortgage typically run 3 to 6% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with 77 Horatio Street and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 77 Horatio Street. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Correct the construction date and the floor count in your own file. PLUTO says 1910 and three floors. LPC says 1835–36; the offering plan says four stories over a basement and cellar. Have the LPC record and the plan page ready before the appraisal.

Underwrite the 80 percent financing cap and the liquidity requirement early. Condominium buyers rarely expect a financial test. This one has one.

The lot is landmarked. Anything you want to do to the exterior — windows, stoop, roof deck, HVAC penetrations visible from the street — goes through LPC first. Ask what has already been approved and what has been denied.

Ask which apartments are physically combined. The 4A/4B combination was filed in 2018 and the tax lots remain separate. Confirm what you are actually buying against both the deed and the floor plan.

Get the facade file. Facade work was done in 2008 under shed and scaffold. The stated four-story building does not by itself meet FISP's greater-than-six-story threshold. Confirm current façade condition, staffing and the expense allocation for any repair project. Read the last two audits, the reserve position and any assessment history.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with the documented history, not an approximation. Two Greek Revival row houses of 1835–36 by William R. Halsey for Henry J. Wyckoff, in the Greenwich Village Historic District, converted in 1986. That is sourced to LPC's own database and to the offering plan, and it survives buyer diligence in a way that "historic 1836 townhouse" on a listing sheet does not.

Pre-empt the PLUTO problem. A buyer's appraiser will see 1910 and three floors. Put the correction in the package rather than arguing it at contract.

Sell the tax position. J-51 initial year 1987, expired with tax year 2000, nothing outstanding. The carrying cost a buyer sees is the carrying cost they keep.

Distinguish the building from its neighbors. 111 Jane Street and 822 Greenwich Street sit on the adjoining block and are entirely separate properties; 14 and 2 Horatio Street are large mid-century and prewar cooperatives at the other end of the street. Nothing on Horatio Street reads like this pair.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 77 Horatio Street, also evaluate:

  • 111 Jane Street — six full-floor residences in a converted 1875 industrial building on the adjoining block; the closest peer on scale and thinness of trading
  • 822 Greenwich Street — small Greenwich Street cooperative on the adjoining block, also inside the Greenwich Village Historic District
  • 14 Horatio Street — the large mid-century cooperative at the eastern end of the same street; the full-service alternative
  • 2 Horatio Street — prewar cooperative at the Greenwich Avenue end of Horatio Street
  • 708 Greenwich Street — small prewar Greenwich Street cooperative nearby
  • 720 Greenwich Street — converted warehouse cooperative in the Far West Village
  • 100 Bank Street — Far West Village building one block south
  • 31 Jane Street — small Jane Street building inside the historic district
  • 99 Jane Street — the large 1997 condominium a block west; the amenity comparison
  • 130 Jane Street — converted warehouse cooperative at the river end of Jane Street

More West Village buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across West Village — read The Roebling Team Guide to West Village.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at 77 Horatio Street?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com