92 Horatio Street (Horatio Arms)
92 Horatio Street, New York, NY 10014
BBL 1006420042 · BIN 1012133
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 76
- Floors
- 5
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Greenwich Village Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Not permitted
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- Tiered or formula; see fees
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 1BR median, 2023–2026
- $1.2M
- 10 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $430K – $3M
- Listing discount
- 4.1%
- Recorded transfers
- 105
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Horatio Arms would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
The building is older than almost everyone who lives in it believes. The public record says 1920 and the market repeats it; LPC's designation file says the corner apartment house went up in 1871 and the two Washington Street store-and-apartment buildings behind it in 1887–1888. Three nineteenth-century structures were joined behind one address, one elevator and one cooperative corporation, and what a buyer is actually purchasing shares in is a Victorian assemblage that reads as a single five-story brick block from the sidewalk. That single fact reorganizes the diligence: the façade cycles, the party walls, the floor structures and the mechanical risers all belong to buildings that predate the elevator, not to a 1920s apartment house.
The second organizing fact is the corner itself. This is the last lot on Horatio Street before Washington, one block from the Gansevoort Market district, two from the Hudson River park, and directly inside the western lobe of the Greenwich Village Historic District. The two designations meet on adjacent tax blocks here rather than along a clean avenue line, which means neighbouring properties on the same street can sit in different districts with different review histories. For 92 Horatio the answer is settled and unambiguous: Greenwich Village Historic District, with LPC permit requirements determined by the scope of work, verified lot by lot in the Commission's own building database rather than inferred from PLUTO's district field.
Third, and most useful to a buyer, this is a co-op that documents itself. The 2023 and 2022 audited financial statements provide a dated account: 76 apartments, compared with PLUTO's 66; 23,300 shares outstanding; a 1 percent transfer fee; a 2006 underlying mortgage of $3 million at 5.91 percent maturing in 2036, amortised to roughly $1.86 million and about $80 per share by year-end 2023. The $80-per-share figure does not by itself establish low leverage or exclude debt risk. Reconcile the dated unit count and fee terms with current corporate documents, and review debt, taxes, reserves and capital needs together.
Because the fourth fact is that the corporation has been running a capital cycle. A monthly façade assessment ran from January 2021 through December 2022; a $25-per-share assessment for balcony repair, façade work and reserve replenishment was imposed in January 2023 and collected over nine months; balcony restoration was contracted in September 2023; and a further $10-per-share capital assessment took effect in January 2024 alongside a 4 percent maintenance increase. Reserves stood at roughly $648,000 at the end of 2023 — modest for a 76-unit landmarked building of this age — and the statements reviewed reported no reserve study; confirm whether one has since been commissioned. None of that is alarming on its own. Together it describes a house that funds capital work by assessment rather than from reserves, which is a legitimate model and one a buyer should price.
Architecture and unit composition
The corner building is a five-story brick-and-stone apartment house of 1871 with the two later Washington Street houses of 1887–88 folded in behind it. LPC records no defined style for any of the three, which is honest: this is vernacular nineteenth-century Village fabric rather than a set-piece. The commercial character of the Washington Street base is original — 787 and 789 were built as store-and-apartment buildings — and it is why the elevation changes register as it turns the corner.
Inside, the apartments run on lettered lines across five floors, from A through S depending on the floor, but the line labels and 44,385-square-foot gross building area do not establish median private apartment size. There is a documented history of combinations, several of them across floors — 1L with 2P, 1R with 1S, 2C with 2DE, 1J and 1K with 2R, 3R with 3S, 4F with 4G. The result is a stock that ranges from genuinely small one-bedrooms to duplexes and cross-line combinations of real size, inside the same maintenance and share structure. Ceiling heights, light and layout vary accordingly, several ground-floor lines carry private garden access, and roof decks have been permitted in three separate cycles. There is no such thing as a representative apartment at 92 Horatio; there is only the specific one.
Building operations
Elevator, live-in superintendent, central laundry room, bike room and private storage. The lobby, hallways and laundry room have been renovated and the windows replaced. Staffing is light by design — payroll ran about 9 percent of the corporation's expenses in 2023, against real estate taxes at 54 percent — and those dated expense shares do not establish a current price difference from full-service buildings. Utilities are billed to the corporation for heat, water and common areas in the usual co-op pattern; confirm what is included at your line before comparing carry against a condominium.
Policy framework
Financing to 80 percent is the headline. Subletting is permitted after three years of ownership with board approval, and the corporation's own accounts show sublet fees collected annually, so this is a live policy rather than a theoretical one. Pets, pied-à-terre use and parent purchases are all considered case by case with board approval, which means the board reserves discretion in each instance and a package should be built to persuade rather than to satisfy a checkbox. The audited statements on file report a transfer fee of 1 percent of gross sales price, subject to exemptions; confirm the current formula, payer and exceptions in the corporate documents. Trust, LLC and non-resident purchase requirements are not established in the materials reviewed; obtain the current governing rules before bidding.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of July 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- 1 percent of the gross sales price, subject to certain exemptions, reported in the 2023 and 2022 audited financial statements. Confirm the current formula, payer and exemptions with the managing agent
Source: The Roebling Team's building profile
Purchase
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $650 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Sublet
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase priceSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Guarantors
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Co-purchasing
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Parent buying for an employed child
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Parent buying for a student child
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Purchase or lease by a corporation
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsOne year term of lease subject to board approvalSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Wait before a sublet
- 3 yearsSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedBoard Approval RequireSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $526 per room a monthMedian of 9 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $29,424/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $37
- Modeled exposure split equally across 66 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Recent sales
The building trades as West Village co-op inventory rather than as loft or new-development product: prewar fabric, original lines and later combinations whose condition, light, outdoor space and floor should be compared individually. Because so many of the larger residences here are combinations, per-room comparison across the building is unreliable — the honest comparison set is the specific line and the specific renovation. Use dated, matched sales to compare nearby Greenwich Street and Horatio Street loft conversions and Meatpacking-area condominiums, adjusting for area, condition, services, carrying costs and documented ownership rules before claiming a discount. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 4, 2026 | 2S | $550,000 | +0.0% | |
| Jul 23, 2026 | 2F | 1 BR · 1 BA | $1,180,000 | -1.3% |
| May 21, 2026 | 5B | 1 BR · 1 BA | $1,185,000 | -0.8% |
| Oct 14, 2025 | 2L | 1 BA | $580,000 | -7.2% |
| Oct 9, 2025 | 5F | 1 BR · 1 BA | $1,350,000 | -15.6% |
| Feb 13, 2025 | 1J | 2 BR · 2 BA | $2,690,000 | -3.8% |
| Feb 10, 2025 | 1I | 1 BR · 1 BA | $700,000 | -6.7% |
| Jan 23, 2025 | 2G | 1 BR · 1 BA | $1,055,250 | -4.1% |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2023): a median $1,303/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 1.8% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Other recent transfers
| Date | Unit | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Oct 29, 2003 | 5E | $279,000 |
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00642-0042). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at Horatio Arms and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $1.18M (9 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 21, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $24,775 to close, or 2.1% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $11,800
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $12,975
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with Horatio Arms and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Horatio Arms. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Read the financials before you read the listing. The audited statements provide dated unit and share counts, fee terms, mortgage information and assessment history. Reconcile those with current corporate and municipal records; neither source settles every present fact. Your attorney should have the two most recent years plus the current budget.
Price the assessments, not just the maintenance. Capital assessments have run in some form in 2021, 2022, 2023 and 2024, and the corporation funds capital work by assessment rather than out of reserves. Ask the managing agent what is scheduled next and what the façade and balcony programme still has left to run.
Understand the holder of unsold shares. An entity held roughly 22 percent of the corporation's shares across 15 rented apartments at the most recent year-end on file. Depending on the voting terms in the bylaws and proprietary lease, that can affect board composition and capital votes, and it affects lender review. It is not a defect, but it is a fact your lender's counsel will find, so find it first.
80 percent financing is real, but the board still underwrites. Run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator before you offer, and ask what post-closing liquidity the board has been looking for. That figure is not established in the materials reviewed; request current written requirements from the managing agent or board.
Check the landmark permit requirements for the proposed work. Windows, storefront-level work, railings, terrace and roof-deck alterations may require LPC approval in the Greenwich Village Historic District; a Certificate of Appropriateness is not universal, and visibility alone does not determine the permit category. Budget the time, not just the cost.
What to know if you’re selling
Correct the age in your own materials. Marketing this as a 1920s building is both wrong and a missed argument. An 1871 corner house inside the Greenwich Village Historic District is a stronger story than a generic prewar one, and it is documented in the Commission's own file.
Lead with the financing ceiling and the sublet policy. State eighty percent financing and the three-year sublet seasoning plainly in the first paragraph.
Document the capital work. The façade and balcony programme was paid for by assessment; put the paperwork showing its completion and the current condition in front of the buyer's attorney early. We supply the underlying documents from The Roebling Research Library to serious counsel.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 92 Horatio Street, also evaluate:
- 822 Greenwich Street — the 1984 loft cooperative one block east on the same tax block; the loft alternative at the same corner of the Village
- 77 Horatio Street — the twelve-residence 1986 condominium in a pair of 1830s row houses directly across the street; the condominium alternative on the same block
- 14 Horatio Street — postwar cooperative at the Greenwich Avenue end of the same street; the postwar alternative on Horatio
- 2 Horatio Street — the Greenwich Avenue corner of Horatio Street; a 1929–31 cooperative at the Village end
- 708 Greenwich Street — West Village cooperative a few blocks south; similar prewar fabric
- 720 Greenwich Street — block-through West Village cooperative converted from an 1898 building; the step up in services
- 725 Greenwich Street — walk-up garden cooperative complex on the same stretch of Greenwich Street; the no-elevator alternative
- 122 Greenwich Avenue — the 2010 condominium a few blocks east; the new-construction alternative in the same neighbourhood
More West Village buildings
- 84 Bedford Street — condominium
- 84–88 Charles Street, 84–86 and 88 Charles Street — co-op
- 90 Morton Street — 1911 condominium by Isaac & Stern Architects
- 93 Charles Street — 2002 condominium
- 99 Bank Street (The Ross Building) — 1890 co-op
- 99 Jane Street — 1997 condominium by FXCollaborative (Fox & Fowle / FXFOWLE)
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across West Village — read The Roebling Team Guide to West Village.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at Horatio Arms?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com