Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfHell's Kitchen $1,328/sf ▴0%
Full index →
Condominium · 2017
Vitre
302 East 96th Street, New York, NY 10128

302 East 96th Street (Vitre)

302 East 96th Street, New York, NY 10128

Yorkville, Upper East Side

BBL 1015587501 · BIN 1090440

At a glance
Year built
2017
Type
Condominium
Floors
21
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Washer/dryer
Permitted
Doorman
Full-time doorman

Vitre sales history: 54 recorded sales

Own an apartment at Vitre?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2019–2026

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2026 to date
$1,337
5 sales
Listing discount
3.6%
Recorded sales
54
On record
2019–2026
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Vitre would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

Vitre is a 21-story tower on a 50-foot lot at the corner of Yorkville where the Upper East Side stops behaving like the Upper East Side. It replaced a three-story parking garage — demolished in 2015 — on a block of tenements and postwar white brick, half a block from the 96th Street station of the Second Avenue Subway, which opened at the beginning of 2017 while this building was under construction. The subway is the reason the site was worth building on, and the developer bought the land in two moves, in January 2014 and again in March 2015, adding light-and-air rights from a neighbor and filing a zoning-lot declaration in August 2015.

Wonder Works Construction developed it, through WWML96, LLC. Karl Fischer designed it. The offering plan put forty-eight residences and eight parking spaces on the market for a combined $87.7 million and projected completion by June 30, 2018.

The single most important thing a buyer needs to know about this building is that it has no tax abatement, and that this was true from the beginning. The offering plan says so on its face, in the Special Risks section and again under Real Estate Taxes: 421-a benefits "will not be available to the Units." The assessment rolls agree — the unit lots reviewed in the FY2023 through FY2027 rolls show zero exempt assessed value. The lot population changes over that period; reconcile the fiscal-year schedules and combinations described below rather than assume fifty-six lots in every year. There is no J-51 either, and none was ever available; this is new construction, not a rehabilitation. For a building of this vintage this is genuinely unusual. Most contemporaneous Manhattan condominiums delivered with a 421-a benefit running ten, fifteen, twenty or twenty-five years, and buyers who trained on that inventory expect a discounted tax line that steps up over time. At Vitre there is no 421-a step-up to model, though bills still move with assessments and tax rates; check the specific apartment's tax bill.

The second thing to know is that the project did not go smoothly. Sales launched in 2017 and slowed. The condominium declaration was not accepted and recorded until March 2019, the same month the first temporary certificate of occupancy was issued, and in January 2019 the sponsor refinanced with a $43 million loan against remaining inventory. In December 2020 ACRIS records a transfer of a controlling economic interest in the ownership entity — from a sponsor mezzanine entity to an investment-fund entity — at a stated consideration of $30,410,547.49. Contemporaneous trade coverage and New York County Supreme Court filings describe the surrounding events: the mezzanine lender moved to foreclose under the Uniform Commercial Code, the developer sued to stop the auction, the auction proceeded, and the lender took the position through a credit bid. Control of the unsold inventory changed hands. The condominium itself, its residences and its common elements were not the subject of that transaction — a UCC foreclosure operates on the equity in the borrowing entity, not on individual unit deeds — but the identity and posture of the party holding the remaining sponsor units is a legitimate diligence question in a building of this size, and it is worth asking who currently holds what before making an offer.

The third thing is the parking. Eight deeded parking units on the ground floor, sold only to residential unit owners, first-come first-served, with one space designated for handicapped use and carrying a deed covenant allowing a later handicapped owner to compel a swap. Deeded parking in a 48-unit Upper East Side condominium is scarce, it is separately mortgageable and separately taxed, and it materially changes the resale profile of whichever residences hold it.

Architecture and unit composition

The lot is 50 feet wide and roughly 101 feet deep — 5,036 square feet — carrying 53,585 square feet of building at a built floor-area ratio of 10.64. That is a tall, narrow building on an interior site, and the design is shaped accordingly: two entrances on East 96th Street, one to the residential lobby and one to the ground-floor parking; residences on floors two through twenty-one; stair and elevator bulkheads and a boiler room above.

The plan's disclosure of lot-line windows deserves attention. Where a residence carries a lot-line window, the owner can be obliged to seal it at their own expense if the adjacent lot is developed. On a 50-foot interior site flanked by low-rise buildings that are themselves developable, this is not a theoretical risk. Any buyer should identify which windows in a specific unit are lot-line windows and what the neighboring zoning envelope permits.

Residences are one- to three-bedroom layouts. Every residence has washer/dryer hook-ups, and each carries its own electric meter — there are fifty meters in the building, forty-eight residential and two for the common elements — so heating, cooling and lighting are billed directly to the owner rather than through common charges. Terraces are limited common elements of a small number of units: 201, PH1, PH5 and PH6. Two ground-floor storage spaces belong to PH5 and PH6.

On the unit count, the records disagree and the disagreement is documented rather than mysterious. The offering plan and the recorded declaration both describe forty-eight residential units; the reserve study commissioned in March 2021 also describes forty-eight; the tax map carried forty-eight residential unit lots through FY2026. The final certificate of occupancy, issued November 16, 2022, certifies forty-six dwelling units, and PLUTO follows the certificate. Two residences were combined. The FY2027 roll now carries fifty-four unit lots rather than fifty-six, which is consistent with that. Forty-six is the correct number of residences today; forty-eight is the correct number of units as declared.

Building operations

Vitre is a full-service building by staffing rather than by amenity square footage. The plan budgets a resident superintendent, a part-time porter and four full-time door staff covering 168 hours a week — continuous attended-lobby coverage — against a first-year operating budget of roughly $702,000. Amenity space is deliberately light for a new-construction condominium: a 395-square-foot recreation room on the second floor, common roof terraces, and twenty-four bicycle racks. There is no pool, no fitness center of consequence, and no children's playroom.

That is a defensible trade in a 46-residence building. Vitre’s disclosed budget concentrates spending on staff. Unit count and amenity area alone do not establish a common-charge ranking; compare current charges, taxes, reserve funding and assessments for the specific apartment and alternatives.

The condominium engaged a third-party consultant in March 2021 to perform a reserve study establishing remaining useful lives and replacement costs for the building's components, and the amended budget adopted a $49,000 annual reserve contribution on the strength of it. The study and budgeted contribution do not establish actual funding or superior governance; ask the managing agent for current balances and contributions against the study’s schedule. The roof systems carry a twenty-year warranty that began in 2019.

Policy framework

Ownership form: Condominium. Purchases clear through a right of first refusal rather than a board approval; 30 to 45 days is a typical closing timeline.

Pied-à-terre, subletting, LLC, trust and foreign ownership: Permitted under the standard condominium framework. Minimum lease terms should be confirmed with the managing agent.

In-unit washer/dryer: Hook-ups are provided in every residence.

Parking: Eight deeded parking units, purchasable only by residential unit owners, sold first-come first-served, separately taxed and separately mortgageable. A parking unit may be rented out by its owner when not in use. Parking Unit P06 is designated for handicapped use and its deed carries a covenant permitting a later handicapped owner to compel a trade at fair market value, with arbitration if the parties cannot agree.

Working capital and closing costs: The sponsor transferred the statutory New York City and New York State transfer-tax obligation to purchasers on sponsor sales, plus a $1,000 plan-preparation reimbursement — relevant to anyone still buying from remaining sponsor inventory, and not applicable on a resale between private parties.

Financing: The plan's preferred lender required at least 35 percent of residences in contract and 50 percent owner-occupied. Those thresholds no longer bind, but the owner-occupancy ratio remains a live question for any buyer financing a purchase here, and a lender will ask for it.

Pets and flip tax: Not documented in the plan sections on file. Confirm both with the managing agent.

Real estate taxes: No 421-a or J-51 exemption, and no exemption of any kind, on any unit lot in any roll from FY2023 forward. Abatements are applied on the bill, so underwrite from the specific unit's current tax bill.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Purchase

7 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Consumer Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per personRefundable Non-refundable
Move-In FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Non-refundable
Sales Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Not stated
Move-Out FeePaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Non-refundable
Administrative FeePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $600Refundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-in DepositPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Not stated
Move-Out DepositPaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Refundable

Rental or lease

7 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Leasing Fee to CondoPaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount One (1) month's common chargesRefundable Non-refundable
Move-Out FeePaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Non-refundable
Consumer Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per personRefundable Not stated
Lease Processing FeePaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Not stated
Move-In FeePaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Not stated

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-Out DepositPaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Refundable
Move-in DepositPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Not stated

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Not verified
In-unit washer/dryer
PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Common charges + taxes, per room
$717 per room a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Common charges + taxes, per square foot
$2.97 per square foot a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Common charges alone, per square foot
$1.42 per square foot a monthMedian of 5 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
Real estate taxes alone, per square foot
$1.41 per square foot a monthMedian of 5 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026

Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. The split into common charges and taxes comes from the listings that also give the annual tax, a different sample, so the two lines need not add up exactly to the combined median; a tax abatement can hold taxes below the full amount until it expires. A summary of recorded sales and listings, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: recent listing records
Concierge
YesSource: recent listing records
Attended lobby
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Playroom, roof deck, bike storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$19,203/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $35
Modeled exposure split equally across 46 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Recent sales

Vitre prices as new-construction Yorkville — above the surrounding prewar walk-up and postwar white-brick inventory, below Carnegie Hill and well below the Fifth and Park Avenue tiers. The building's argument is transit and modernity: a 2019 tower half a block from the Second Avenue Subway, with in-unit laundry, per-unit metering, private terraces on a handful of homes, and deeded parking on eight.

The counterargument is the tax line, and it is the largest single variable between the asking price and the monthly cost. A buyer comparing Vitre against an abated 2016–2019 condominium elsewhere in Manhattan is not comparing like with like; the abated building's tax line will step up on a published schedule and Vitre's has no phase-out, but Vitre starts higher and its taxes, common charges and assessments can still change. Anyone underwriting this building should run the full carrying cost on the specific unit rather than reasoning from the common charge.

The right comparable set is other new-construction condominiums in Yorkville and Carnegie Hill, not the prewar cooperative inventory to the west, whose economics, policies and buyer pools are structurally different. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.

Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Sep 9, 2026PH6
3 BR · 3 BA · 2,290 sf
$3,350,000$1,463/sf+0.0%
Jul 1, 20261403
3 BR · 3 BA · 1,417 sf
$1,895,000$1,337/sf-2.7%
Jul 1, 20261403
3 BR · 3 BA · 1,417 sf
$1,803,000$1,272/sf-7.4%
Jun 15, 2026302
2 BR · 2 BA · 979 sf
$1,200,000$1,226/sf-9.4%
Jan 13, 2026PH4Sponsor Sale
3 BR · 3 BA · 2,290 sf
$3,205,000$1,400/sf+0.9%
Jun 5, 2025603
3 BR · 3 BA · 1,417 sf
$1,800,000$1,270/sf-5.0%
Nov 20, 2024201
2 BR · 2 BA · 901 sf
$1,285,000$1,426/sf-4.8%
May 25, 2023602
1 BR · 2 BA · 979 sf
$1,300,000$1,328/sf-12.2%

Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,337/sf (recorded) across 5 sales. Median listing discount 3.6% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

View all 54 recorded sales, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01558-7501; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.

Rents · The Roebling Index

Closed rents at Vitre, last 36 months

$92median rent per sq ft per year
SizeLeasesMedian / month
1 bedroom2$4,124

4 closed leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease August 2026. Based on few leases. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at Vitre and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $1.8M (7 sales in the past 24 months, since October 21, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $74,215 to close, or 4.1% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $18,030
  • Mortgage recording tax: $26,031
  • Title insurance: $8,113
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees, reserves and filings: $22,041

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with Vitre and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Vitre. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

There is no 421-a. There never was. The offering plan says so in writing and the assessment rolls confirm it across five years. This is the fact most likely to change your monthly number relative to abated new construction.

Reconcile the unit count before you rely on any city data. Forty-eight units declared, forty-six certified on the final CO, fifty-six unit lots on the tax map through FY2026 and fifty-four from FY2027. All four numbers are correct about different things.

Ask who holds the remaining sponsor units. Control of the sponsor inventory changed in December 2020 through a UCC foreclosure on the mezzanine loan. The current holder's intentions — sell, rent, hold — affect resale supply and lender owner-occupancy tests.

Identify the lot-line windows. A 50-foot interior lot flanked by developable low-rise buildings. Know which windows could be lost and what the neighbor could build.

If parking matters, ask early. There are eight spaces for forty-six homes, they can only be bought by residents, and they trade with the residences that hold them.

Confirm owner-occupancy for financing. Lenders will want the ratio, and a building with a concentrated sponsor or investor block can complicate an otherwise straightforward loan.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with the subway and the parking. The 96th Street Second Avenue station half a block away and eight deeded parking units are the two things no competing building on this stretch can match.

Be direct about the tax posture, and reframe it. Buyers will find it. The honest framing is that there is no abatement phase-out — abated comparables will step up on a published schedule and this one will not, though its taxes and common charges still change with assessments and rates.

Point to the reserve study. The March 2021 study and the amended budget’s $49,000 annual contribution document a planning decision. Supply the current study, actual contributions and reserve balance before claiming the reserve is adequately funded.

Price against new construction. The prewar walk-ups and postwar rentals on this block are not the comparable set.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering Vitre, also evaluate:

More Upper East Side buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper East Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper East Side.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at Vitre?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com