Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfMidtown East $1,279/sf ▾9%
Full index →
Condominium · 2005
The Washington
35 Underhill Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11238
Buildings·Condominium

The Washington (35 Underhill Avenue)

35 Underhill Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11238

Prospect Heights, Brooklyn

BBL 3011317501 · BIN 3423483

At a glance
Year built
2005
Type
Condominium
Units
39
Floors
6
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Leasing by owners
Permitted with conditions
Pied-à-terre
Permitted
Dogs and cats
Permitted
Washer/dryer
Permitted
Doorman
No doorman

The Washington sales history: 88 recorded sales

Own an apartment at The Washington?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2007–2026

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf
$1,403
Listing discount
0.0%
Recorded sales
88
On record
2007–2026
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Washington would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

The Washington is the most instructive building of its vintage in northern Prospect Heights, and the reason is documentary rather than architectural. Thirty-nine apartments in two six-story brick buildings around a courtyard is an ordinary mid-2000s Brooklyn proposition. What is not ordinary is that the building's entire construction history — the zoning argument, the Department of Buildings intervention, the water intrusion, the remediation, the final certificate of occupancy — is written down in seventeen amendments to an offering plan, and a buyer who reads them knows more about this building than a buyer knows about almost any other condominium of its size in the borough.

The sponsor, 630 Realty LLC, assembled the site in several parcels in 2002, filed the new building through Scarano & Associates in November of that year, and had the plan accepted for filing by the Attorney General on September 4, 2004. It was declared effective on June 15, 2005 with twenty-two units — 56 percent of the building — under contract, which is a strong effectiveness for a Brooklyn condominium of that period. Construction then ran long. The seventh amendment expected a temporary certificate of occupancy in January 2006; the eighth, in July 2006, disclosed that the Department of Buildings was reviewing the filed plans and that the first closing had slipped past its outside date, triggering a thirty-day rescission right for every purchaser. The first closing finally occurred on January 5, 2007, more than two years after the plan was accepted.

The delay had a cause, and it is the fact a buyer here most needs to understand. Robert Scarano was, in the middle 2000s, the most prolific and most contested residential architect in Brooklyn, and the specific practice at issue was the treatment of high-ceilinged upper levels as mezzanines or storage rather than as floor area. The Department of Buildings revoked his self-certification privileges in 2006, and in March 2010 barred him from filing documents with the Department at all, following an Administrative Law Judge's decision at the Office of Administrative Trials and Hearings concerning three other Brooklyn properties. Nothing in that 2010 proceeding concerned 35 Underhill Avenue. But the underlying question landed on this building directly, and the plan records the outcome.

The twelfth amendment, dated February 27, 2007, disclosed that the original floor plans for eleven units — A-5A, A-5B, A-5C, A-5D, A-5E, A-5F, A-5G and B-3G, B-3H, B-3I and B-3J — contained second-floor mezzanines, and that the Department of Buildings had determined those areas could not be used for residential purposes. The plans were revised and approved with the upper level designated storage. The sixteenth amendment later reported that the sponsor had obtained Department approval for residential use of the mezzanines in four of them — A-5C, A-5D, A-5E and A-5F — and that a final certificate of occupancy for all units had been issued. The other seven upper levels remain, on the approved plans, storage.

That is the single most consequential diligence item in the building, and it is entirely knowable. Anyone buying a duplex-type unit in the A-5 or B-3 lines should read the final certificate of occupancy and the approved floor plans for that specific unit before accepting any marketed square footage or any description of the upper level as living space.

Architecture and unit composition

The site is a through-block parcel, and the plan's response was two separate six-story brick buildings — A and B, each with its own elevator — set on either side of a landscaped interior courtyard. Management-sourced records describe the courtyard as a Zen-inspired garden; functionally it is what gives the interior lines of both buildings a second exposure and a quiet one. There is no street-wall monumentality here, and no attempt at it.

The unit inventory runs from A-2A on Building A's second floor through A-6D at the top, and from B-1G on Building B's first floor through B-4I. Apartment areas in the plan's revised floor plans run from roughly 660 to 1,100 square feet on the fifth-floor A line before the storage level is counted, and from roughly 940 to 1,130 square feet on the B-3 line, with the upper levels adding 250 to 530 square feet apiece. Ceiling heights on those plans are 8 feet 0 inches on the A-5 floor and 8 feet 10 inches on the B-3 floor — modest by the standards of the loft-conversion inventory a mile north, and worth checking against any listing that implies otherwise. A number of units carry balconies as limited common elements; listing records put roughly half the apartments with some form of private outdoor space.

Finishes were the mid-2000s Brooklyn specification executed above the median: stone counters and cherry shaker cabinetry with a breakfast-bar counter dividing kitchen from living room, at least two full bathrooms in every apartment, marble in the primary bath, in-unit washer and dryer throughout. The kitchens are vented to the exterior, which is more than most buildings of this vintage and size can say.

Building operations

The Washington is a self-managed-scale condominium run through a managing agent, without a doorman. The operating stack is two elevators, the courtyard, the fitness room, video intercom, the garage and 37 storage rooms. Common charges have historically been low for the borough — the plan's first-year budget projected total residential common charges of $11,666.66 a month across 39 units, and the seventeenth amendment shows unsold-unit charges in the $350-a-month range in 2009. Low monthlies are part of this building's market identity and they are real, but they are also the context in which the capital history below has to be read.

That capital history is documented and it is not trivial. The sixteenth amendment records that certain units sustained water damage from a broken pipe and from water penetration through the building exterior, sets out an exterior repair protocol — removal of brick in affected areas, stucco on the block wall, waterproofing membrane, rebricking, joint sealing and a weephole drainage system — and an interior mold testing and remediation protocol, and notes that one affected unit owner did not agree with the protocols. The Department of Buildings record continues the story: heavy-duty sidewalk sheds filed in 2014, 2015 and 2017, and in 2018 two applications filed by the condominium itself, one for masonry repairs and one for interior courtyard structural framing and fireproofing repairs. Listing records for 2026 disclose a building-wide assessment for general building repairs running through March 31, 2027, alongside a planned program of high-efficiency double-glazed window replacement, repainting and re-carpeting of public spaces, and re-landscaping of the courtyard.

Read together, that is a building that has spent close to two decades correcting an envelope, is still paying for it, and is now funding a window replacement that will also help on the energy side — the property exceeds 25,000 square feet and therefore sits inside Local Law 97's covered-building set. Ask for the current budget, the reserve balance, the assessment schedule and its stated end, the most recent façade filing status, and the engineer's reports behind the window program.

One structural point about the ownership form: the ground floor is a separate 5,825-square-foot commercial unit, and every garage space is a limited common element of that commercial unit rather than of the residential units. Parking here is a lease from the commercial owner, not an asset a resident owns. Governance in a mixed-use condominium is a two-party negotiation, and a buyer should read the declaration and by-laws on that point rather than assume it.

Policy framework

Pets: Permitted — cats and dogs, per management-sourced records.

Pied-à-terre, LLC purchases, trusts and foreign buyers: Permitted (standard NYC condominium).

Subletting: Permitted. The Board of Managers holds a right of first refusal to purchase or lease a unit on the same terms offered to a third party. Management-sourced records show a landlord lease fee of $1,000 for an initial lease and $500 on each renewal year, plus tenant application and move-in charges.

Financing: Standard condominium — lender-driven. The sponsor's own contracts limited the mortgage contingency to a maximum loan of 80 percent of the purchase price; that was a sponsor-era contract term, not a continuing house rule.

Working capital contribution: $500 per unit at closing under the plan. Confirm the current figure with the managing agent.

Flip tax: None documented in the plan on file or in the current management-sourced fee schedule.

Transaction fees (management-sourced): Buyer — $500 application processing, $150 per applicant credit check, $250 move-in fee, $1,500 refundable move-in deposit, $350 closing document preparation. Seller — $250 move-out fee, $1,500 refundable move-out deposit. Storage and parking transfers run through their own applications.

Property taxes: 421-a benefits per the HPD Certificate of Eligibility of July 7, 2003 and the plan's budget assumptions. Listing records circulate a specific benefit end year; nothing in the plan on file fixes one, and this page asserts none. Pull the current Department of Finance bill for the specific unit, read the exemption line, and underwrite the fully unabated carrying cost.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of March 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Purchase

8 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Non-refundable
Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $150 per applicantRefundable Non-refundable
Damages To BldgPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount Cost of Repairs PLUS 10% of Total (min $250)Refundable Not stated
Move-In FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $250Refundable Non-refundable
Move-Out FeePaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $250Refundable Non-refundable
Closing Document Preparation FeePaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $350Refundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-In DepositSubject to inspectionPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $1,500Refundable Refundable
Move-Out DepositSubject to inspectionPaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $1,500Refundable Refundable

Rental or lease

10 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Lease FeePaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000 for the initial lease, $500 on the anniversary for each consecutive year of the lease term.Refundable Not stated
Move-Out FeePaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount $250Refundable Non-refundable
Application Processing FeePaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $250Refundable Non-refundable
Credit Check FeePaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $150Refundable Non-refundable
Damages To BldgPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount Cost of Repairs PLUS 10% of Total (min $250)Refundable Not stated
Move-In FeePaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $250Refundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-Out DepositSubject to inspectionPaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount $1,500Refundable Refundable
Move-In DepositSubject to inspectionPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $1,500Refundable Refundable

Lease renewal

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $200Refundable Non-refundable
Lease Renewal FeePaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Not stated

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Leasing by owners
Permitted with conditionsBoard approvalSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Pied-à-terre ownership
PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Dogs and cats
PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
In-unit washer/dryer
PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Common charges + taxes, per room
$167 per room a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Common charges + taxes, per square foot
$0.58 per square foot a monthMedian of 5 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026

Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
No doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Virtual or video entry
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
Amenities noted
Fitness room, garden, garage, storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent.

Local Law 97

Compliance status
Not subject to Local Law 97

This building is below the 25,000 sq ft threshold at which LL97 emissions caps apply. No regulatory capital pressure from this law specifically, current or 2030.

See full Local Law 97 analysis →

421-a Tax Abatement

421-a exemption · full taxation begins FY2033
Long runway
~7 years of abatement remaining
Last year of benefit
FY2032
Years remaining
~7 yrs
Program
421-a (25-year)
What this means for you

A long-dated tax benefit still in place — a meaningful carrying-cost advantage today. Note the eventual step-up toward full taxes when the abatement ends.

Source: NYC Dept. of Finance property-tax exemption records (421-a), refreshed 2026-09-06 · The Roebling Research Library. Confirm the exact step-up schedule on the building’s DOF tax bill. Years shown are NYC tax years, which start July 1 — FY2033 runs July 1, 2032 to June 30, 2033.

The 421-a Expiration Wave — our study of when these benefits expire citywide, and what the resale record shows about pricing as they do.

Recent sales

Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
May 15, 2026A4A
3 BR · 1,275 sf
$1,600,000$1,255/sfoff-mkt
Mar 2, 2026B4I
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,167 sf
$1,810,000$1,551/sf-2.2%
Sep 30, 2025B4G
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,239 sf
$1,787,500$1,443/sf-2.1%
Jun 25, 2025A5E
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,452 sf
$1,930,000$1,329/sf-3.3%
Nov 5, 2024A5G
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,457 sf
$1,830,000$1,256/sf-4.9%
Sep 29, 2023B2H
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,156 sf
$1,481,000$1,281/sf+9.8%
Sep 8, 2023A4D
1,281 sf
$1,795,000$1,401/sfoff-mkt
Sep 8, 2022B3I
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,491 sf
$1,660,000$1,113/sf+10.7%

Market read. Most recent trades (2026) cleared a median $1,403/sf (recorded) across 2 sales. Median listing discount 0.0% from the last ask.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

A5E · 1,452 sf+208%
$626,223 ($429/sf) 2009 → $1,930,000 ($1,329/sf) 2025
B3I · 1,491 sf+184%
$585,493 ($393/sf) 2008 → $1,660,000 ($1,113/sf) 2022
A5G · 1,457 sf+170%
$677,136 ($482/sf) 2008 → $1,830,000 ($1,256/sf) 2024
A4D · 1,281 sf+170%
$665,000 ($519/sf) 2010 → $1,795,000 ($1,401/sf) 2023
A5A · 1,498 sf+168%
$599,749 ($400/sf) 2008 → $1,605,000 ($1,071/sf) 2021
View all 88 recorded sales, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 3-01131-7501). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at The Washington and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $1.81M (5 sales since 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $74,443 to close, or 4.1% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $18,100
  • Mortgage recording tax: $26,132
  • Title insurance: $8,145
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees, reserves and filings: $22,066

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with The Washington and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Washington. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Read the certificate of occupancy for your specific unit. In the A-5 and B-3 lines, the upper level is residential in four units and storage in seven. The final certificate of occupancy and the approved floor plans settle it; a floor plan in a listing does not.

Underwrite the assessment and the window program. There is a live assessment running through March 2027 and a planned window replacement behind it. Get the board's schedule, the reserve balance and the engineer's report before you set a number.

Model the tax line from the bill. The building was built with 421-a. Nobody should tell you what year it ends without showing you the Department of Finance record for your unit. Run the True Monthly Carrying Cost Calculator on the unabated number as well as the current one.

Understand where the garage sits. Every space is a limited common element of the ground-floor commercial unit. Parking is a lease, not an asset, and its terms are set by a party that is not the residential board.

The envelope history is documented, not hidden. Water penetration, mold remediation protocols, sidewalk sheds and masonry work are all in the plan amendments and the DOB record. A building that has fixed a problem and paid for it is a different risk from a building that has not started.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with the product, not the vintage. Two full baths, in-unit laundry, vented kitchens, a courtyard exposure and outdoor space on a large share of the inventory is a strong package at this price point in Prospect Heights.

Be first with the capital story. The assessment, the window program and the façade history will surface in diligence. Sellers who put the board's schedule and the engineer's report in the buyer's hands early hold price; sellers who let a buyer find them do not.

If your unit's upper level is approved residential, document it. That approval is a genuine differentiator against the seven units where it is not, and it is worth showing rather than describing.

Condominium mechanics are fast. Right of first refusal rather than board approval; thirty to forty-five days is a normal closing pace, though the managing agent's internal review adds about a week before the package reaches the board.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering The Washington, also evaluate:

More Prospect Heights buildings

The neighborhood

For the full neighborhood — its buildings, character, and market — read The Roebling Team Guide to Prospect Heights.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at The Washington?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Principal · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com