380 Rector Place (Liberty Terrace)
380 Rector Place, New York, NY 10280
BBL 1000167505 · BIN 1000544
- Year built
- 1986
- Type
- Condominium
- Units
- 244
- Floors
- 26
- Land
- Ground lease; the building sits on leased land
- The Roebling Team's building profile
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2026 to date
- $1,239
- floor-adjusted, 7 sales
- Listing discount
- 2.9%
- Recorded sales
- 158
- On record
- 2003–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Liberty Terrace would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
380 Rector Place — marketed as Liberty Terrace — is one of the three "Liberty" residential towers that define the Rector Place quadrant at the southern end of Battery Park City. Completed in 1986 to a design by Ulrich Franzen & Associates with The Vilkas Group, the 26-story red-brick building sits directly on the Hudson River Esplanade, with south- and west-facing apartments looking across the harbor toward the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. The building's hexagonal massing and recessed balconies were designed to relate to the adjacent Rector Park, and the tower remains one of the most view-oriented buildings in a neighborhood built almost entirely for its water frontage.
Battery Park City is a planned residential district built on landfill at the southwestern tip of Manhattan, developed under the Battery Park City Authority (BPCA), a New York State public-benefit corporation. The neighborhood's defining characteristic — for buyers and sellers alike — is that the land underneath every building is owned by the BPCA and leased, not sold. That structure produces a specific carrying-cost profile and a specific due-diligence checklist that distinguishes Battery Park City condominiums from fee-simple buildings elsewhere in Lower Manhattan.
Architecture and unit composition
The 244 residences range from studios and one-bedrooms to larger family layouts, with the building's angled geometry producing a high proportion of units with river or park exposures and private or recessed balconies. Higher floors on the south and west faces carry direct harbor and Statue of Liberty views; park-facing units look onto the landscaped Rector Park. The Esplanade — the continuous Hudson River waterfront promenade that runs the length of Battery Park City — is at the building's doorstep.
Building operations
380 Rector Place operates as a full-service condominium with a full-time doorman, concierge, and live-in resident manager. Residents have shared access to the riverfront Terrace Club amenity — a fitness center and swimming pool (indoor pool with a retractable sunroof and an outdoor deck) shared across the Liberty buildings, typically for an additional fee. On-floor laundry and a bike room round out the building's service package.
Carrying costs reflect the Battery Park City structure: common charges plus PILOT and ground-rent pass-throughs. Buyers should obtain current figures and review the building's financials and reserve position during diligence.
Ground lease
The single most important structural fact at 380 Rector Place is the ground lease. The building sits on land owned by the Battery Park City Authority; the condominium holds a long-term sublease rather than fee title to the land. In 2023, New York State extended the BPCA master ground lease by 50 years — from its prior 2069 expiration to 2119 — which materially lengthened the runway that had been a growing concern for Battery Park City buyers and lenders through the 2010s.
The practical consequence is that carrying costs at Battery Park City buildings include ground rent and PILOT (payments in lieu of taxes) obligations that are passed through to residents, in addition to ordinary common charges. Buyers should model the full monthly carry — common charges plus PILOT and ground-rent pass-throughs — and should review the current ground-lease terms, any scheduled ground-rent resets, and the building's most recent financial statements during due diligence. This is a real and quantifiable analysis, not a soft caution: the numbers are knowable and should be run before an offer.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
5 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $700 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| credit check feePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250.00/per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing Administrative Fee | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $850 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-Out Deposit | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
Rental or lease
4 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $650 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| credit check feePer applicant | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $250.00/per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-Out Deposit | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Guarantors
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Purchase or lease by a corporation
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Leasing by owners
- Not verified
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedPets allowed under 25 Lbs.Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Common charges + taxes, per room
- $794 per room a monthMedian of 9 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Common charges + taxes, per square foot
- $3.14 per square foot a monthMedian of 8 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Common charges alone, per square foot
- $1.39 per square foot a monthMedian of 9 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
- Real estate taxes alone, per square foot
- $1.49 per square foot a monthMedian of 9 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. The split into common charges and taxes comes from the listings that also give the annual tax, a different sample, so the two lines need not add up exactly to the combined median; a tax abatement can hold taxes below the full amount until it expires. A summary of recorded sales and listings, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, pool, bike storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $108,767/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $37
- Modeled exposure split equally across 244 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. Facade inspections run on a fixed five-year cycle; future inspection, repair, and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — the licensed engineer the city requires to sign the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Sublet policy
- Lease renewals handled off-platform via
- Notable fees
- Pets under 25 lbs; no smoking; no AirBnB; corporate purchase/lease allowed
Recent sales
380 Rector Place trades as a mid-market Battery Park City condominium, with pricing that reflects both the building's waterfront position and the carrying-cost structure of the ground-lease district. View-carrying upper-floor units on the south and west faces sit at the top of the building's range, with interior or lower-floor units below them. Pricing at any Battery Park City building is sensitive to the ground-lease runway and to prevailing common-charge and PILOT levels, both of which move over time; current comparable analysis at the apartment level is the right basis for any pricing decision.
Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 19, 2026 | 19A | 873 sf | $1,288,000 | $1,475/sf | off-mkt |
| Jul 30, 2026 | 9J | 1 BA · 582 sf | $560,000 | $962/sf | -5.9% |
| Jul 30, 2026 | 9H | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,600 sf | $1,870,000 | $1,169/sf | -6.5% |
| Jun 9, 2026 | 20G | 1,075 sf | $1,400,000 | $1,302/sf | off-mkt |
| Mar 25, 2026 | 22E | 735 sf | $945,000 | $1,286/sf | off-mkt |
| Mar 4, 2026 | 23DE | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,408 sf | $1,995,000 | $1,417/sf | off-mkt |
| Feb 25, 2026 | 14G | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,075 sf | $1,450,000 | $1,349/sf | -7.6% |
| Jun 11, 2025 | 15E | 1 BR · 1 BA · 735 sf | $784,052 | $1,067/sf | -1.0% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,239/sf (floor-adjusted) across 7 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 2.9% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00016-7505). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.
Closed rents at Liberty Terrace, last 36 months
| Size | Leases | Median / month |
|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | 16 | $4,375 |
| 2 bedroom | 5 | $6,650 |
21 closed leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease September 2026. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.
What would your apartment rent for?
The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at Liberty Terrace and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $1.4M (8 sales since 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $60,353 to close, or 4.3% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $14,000
- Mortgage recording tax: $20,213
- Title insurance: $6,300
- Attorneys, lender, building fees, reserves and filings: $19,840
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with Liberty Terrace and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Liberty Terrace. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Underwrite the ground lease. This is the defining diligence item. Confirm the current ground-lease terms, the 2119 runway, any scheduled ground-rent resets, and the current PILOT structure. Model the full monthly carry, not just common charges.
Views and exposure drive value. South- and west-facing upper-floor units with harbor and Statue of Liberty views command the building's premium; confirm exposure and view permanence for any specific apartment.
Condo flexibility applies. 30–45 day closings are typical; pied-à-terre and investor use are generally permitted under the declaration — confirm current policy at offer stage.
Carrying cost is the whole analysis. In Battery Park City, the monthly number is the deal. Run common charges + PILOT + ground rent + utilities together.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the waterfront and the 2119 runway. The lease extension removed a material overhang that dampened Battery Park City pricing for years; sophisticated buyers know it, and the story should be told clearly.
Price at the apartment level. Exposure, floor, view, and balcony configuration drive substantial variation across the building's 244 units.
Be ready for carrying-cost questions. Buyers and their attorneys will focus on PILOT and ground rent. Have current figures and the building's financials ready.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 380 Rector Place, also evaluate:
- 377 Rector Place (Liberty House) — sister Battery Park City condominium on the same street; Milstein/Polshek pedigree, on-site garage
- 20 West Street (The Downtown Club) — landmark Art Deco Financial District condominium on fee-simple land; no ground lease
More Battery Park City buildings
- The Soundings (280 Rector Place) — 1987 condominium
- 300 Rector Place (Battery Pointe) — 1986 condominium
- Liberty Green, 300 North End Avenue — 2011 condominium
- 320 Albany Street (Hudson Tower) — 1986 condominium
- 333 Rector Place (One Rector Park) — 1985 condominium
- 377 Rector Place (Liberty House) — 1986 condominium
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Battery Park City — read The Roebling Team Guide to Battery Park City.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at Liberty Terrace?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com