210 East 73rd Street (Eastgate)
210 East 73rd Street, New York, NY 10021
BBL 1014270038 · BIN 1043977
- Year built
- 1929
- Type
- Cooperative
- Floors
- 11
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted with conditions
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Flip tax
- 1.5% of the purchase price, paid by the seller
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 2BR median, 2023–2025
- $1.3M
- 3 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $355K – $1.3M
- Listing discount
- 8.6%
- Recorded transfers
- 131
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Eastgate would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
Eastgate is one of the few places in Manhattan where one developer and one architect built both sides of a block and meant it as a single composition. Bing & Bing put up six brown-brick apartment houses on East 73rd Street between Second and Third Avenues between 1928 and 1936, all to Emery Roth's design, and marketed the group under its own name. 210 East 73rd Street opens that sequence at the western end of the south side, and city records date it to 1929 — the earliest year carried by any of the six.
Position in the sequence matters here. The earlier Eastgate buildings were built with sunken living rooms and working fireplaces, and in the last pair completed — 230 and 235 East 73rd Street, in 1936 — the fireplaces were decorative from the outset. A buyer looking at 210 is looking at the beginning of that eight-year evolution rather than the end of it, which is a reason to ask about a specific apartment's fireplace and living-room floor level rather than assume from the group.
The second reason this building rewards attention is that it is unusually well documented. Its original offering plan, its Thirtieth Amendment, and audited financial statements with the cooperative budget annexed are on file in The Roebling Research Library, and together they correct three things the public record gets wrong: the conversion year, the apartment count, and the tax history. The conversion did not happen in 1994, as listing records repeat; the plan is dated June 20, 1986 and the corporation took title from the sponsor in July and August of 1987. The building does not hold 81 apartments in the way PLUTO implies; the corporation's own auditors counted 78, of which one is professional space. And the two J-51 grants that once cut the building's real-estate-tax line are gone, with precise expiry dates on the record.
The third thing is a structural clause that most buyers never see. The 1986 plan reserved the property's air, zoning and development rights — including transferable development rights — to the sponsor rather than conveying them to the apartment corporation, and disclosed that the sponsor could sell them for its own account. The recorded gross floor area is about 7.35 times the lot area, above the 4.00 that R8B now permits; that simple comparison does not establish the legal zoning floor area or the value of the reserved rights. It is still a clause worth reading, and ACRIS records a zoning-lot instrument filed by the cooperative in December 2016 whose effect is not determinable from the recording alone. Ask about both in diligence.
Architecture and unit composition
Eleven floors of brown brick across a 100-foot frontage — roughly 75,100 square feet of building on a 10,216-square-foot lot, the same lot dimensions Bing & Bing used for the group's other 100-foot parcels. The façade carries the enclave's textured masonry: irregular projecting brick, random inset stones, carved ornament at the base. Behind the building the block holds a private landscaped courtyard, which is the reason a share of the apartments look onto planting rather than a rear lot line.
The layouts are Roth prewar at Eastgate's scale rather than Central Park West's: studios and one-bedrooms in the lettered lines, two- and three-bedrooms in the assembled apartments, with defined foyers and real closets. The building's Department of Buildings record is dominated by apartment-level combination and renovation work, and one 2019 filing merged three tenth-floor apartments with a penthouse into a single residence. That history explains the gap between the 81 units city records carry and the 78 the corporation's auditors count, and it makes the combinability of a given line a real feature — one to research at the specific line rather than at the building level.
Building operations
Tax history. The building took two J-51 grants and has exhausted both. The corporation's audited financial statements record J-51 benefits commencing in the 1992/1993 tax year and expiring in 2002/2003, and a second, additional J-51 exemption aggregating $39,960 that commenced in the 1999/2000 tax year and expired in 2009/2010, reducing annual real-estate taxes by roughly $3,330 while it ran. The auditors state plainly that as of December 31, 2010 the corporation had used all its J-51 exemptions. Department of Finance records corroborate: across every assessment roll from 2010/11 through 2027 the parcel carries no J-51 and no 421-a entry, and the only exemptions against it are shareholder-level veteran and STAR benefits passed through to individual apartments. Underwrite the maintenance at full real-estate-tax cost.
That expiry also has a rent-regulation tail. The plan was a non-eviction conversion, so non-purchasing rent-stabilized tenants remained, and the corporation's Thirtieth Amendment carries the standard Roberts v. Tishman Speyer disclosure about apartments that may not have been validly deregulated during a J-51 period. It is a sponsor-side and tenant-side issue rather than a shareholder-side one, but a buyer acquiring an occupied unsold apartment should have counsel read it.
Debt. In July 2007 the cooperative refinanced its underlying mortgage into a $3,000,000 interest-only loan at 6.05 percent maturing August 1, 2017, alongside a $1,000,000 line of credit at 2.95 percent expiring the same day and undrawn as of the last audited year on file. ACRIS then records a consolidation, extension and modification on June 30, 2017 that brought the recorded indebtedness to $4,000,000, with an accompanying $1,000,000 instrument and the satisfaction of the prior loan. The current rate and maturity are not documented in anything on file with us — ask the managing agent for the note terms, because on 78 to 81 apartments the difference between an interest-only underlying mortgage and an amortizing one is a live maintenance question.
Capital work. The cooperative ran a Local Law 11 façade cycle beginning in 2010 at a contract cost of $492,500, funded with $400,000 drawn from reserves and a $200,000 capital assessment of $10.07 per share levied from July 2010 through June 2011. A second and considerably larger cycle followed: Department of Buildings records an alteration filed in February 2020 with an estimated cost above $1.1 million, covering masonry and window-lintel removal and replacement, repointing, sill repair and reinforcement. Separate special assessments were levied in 2009 and 2010 at rates set roughly equal to the co-op/condo real-estate-tax abatement then being received by eligible shareholders — a common device that leaves shareholder carrying costs flat while capturing the abatement for the corporation.
Building staff are covered by the 32BJ collectively bargained pension and health plans. The audited statements on file note that the corporation had not commissioned a study of the common property's remaining useful lives. That describes the reviewed statements, not proof that no study exists today. Request any current reserve study, physical-condition report and façade filings before assessing capital needs; the omission is not justified by the building's age.
Sponsor position. The building was converted by a mid-1980s sponsor and the unsold apartments were later acquired in bulk. As of the last amendment on file, the holder of unsold shares held seven residential apartments — roughly nine percent of the shares — and rented them, and did not control the board. That block was acquired in March 1996 as part of a single purchase of unsold apartments across roughly twenty Manhattan conversions, several of them on this block and the next, including 245 East 72nd Street and 200 East End Avenue. A buyer should ask how much of that position remains today, because sponsor-held rental apartments affect both lender owner-occupancy tests and the character of the shareholder body.
Policy framework
The published policy stack is thin, and we would rather say so than fill it in. Management-sourced records describe a building that permits pets, permits pied-à-terre ownership subject to board approval, permits subletting with board consent, and includes electricity in maintenance. The corporation's audited financial statements confirm that both a transfer fee and a sublet fee exist, because both appear as recurring revenue lines. The reviewed financial statements do not supply every current transaction term. The separate management schedule dated October 6, 2026 reports a selling-shareholder transfer fee of 1.5% of gross sale price and the sublet limits summarized above. It lists a sublet fee of 15% of the greater of monthly rent or maintenance for the first two years and 25% for the third and fourth years. Confirm these terms against the operative documents; financing, minimum down payment and post-closing liquidity remain unestablished in the reviewed material.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- Equal to 1.5% of the Gross Sales Price
- Rate
- 1.5% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Purchase
10 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $750 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit/Background Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-Out Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing Fee | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $750 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Power of Attorney Review FeeConditional · Per applicantConditions: If Applicable | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $100 Per POA (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Recognition Agreement FeeConditionalConditions: If Financing | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500 (If financing) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| New York State Stamp TaxPer share | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $0.05 per share | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $1,500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move Out Deposit | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $1,500 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet
10 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Building Application Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $800 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-Out Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $650 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $250 per applicant/adult occupant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Building Sublease Lease | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount 15% of the greater of rent or maintenance for the 1st 2 years; and 25% of the greater of rent or maintenance for the 3rd and 4th years | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-Out DepositAt the culmination of sublease, payable by either Shareholder or Prospective Subtenant | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $1,500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move In DepositPayable by either Shareholder or Prospective Subtenant | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $1,500 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Sublet Renewal Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
3 items
Management's “less refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $250 per shareholder | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsThe shareholder must reside in the building for a minimum of 2 years. The lease term may not be less than 6 months and no more than 1 year. Renewal/Extension is subject to Board approval submitted at least 45 days prior to the expiration of the term. Sublets are no more than 4 years within a 5…Source: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Wait before a sublet
- 2 yearsSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Permitted with conditionsCase by case, board discretionSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $734 per room a monthMedian of 6 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: recent listing records
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, garden, bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $20,879/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $21
- Modeled exposure split equally across 81 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Recent sales
Recorded share transfers at this building run continuously from 2004, when the city began recording cooperative transfers in ACRIS, through 2026 — roughly five to six a year against 78 to 81 apartments, which is ordinary turnover for a full-service prewar co-op and enough depth that a seller has real comparables inside the building. The apartments trade on the Eastgate proposition: a Roth prewar façade and a full-service house four long blocks east of Park Avenue, priced against Second Avenue rather than against the Roth towers on Central Park West. Within the building the spread runs with line, floor, courtyard versus street exposure, and whether an apartment is an original layout or a combination. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apr 1, 2026 | 7F | 1 BA | $525,000 | +5.0% | |
| Jul 29, 2025 | 9EF | 2 BR · 2 BA | $1,225,000 | -5.4% | |
| Jan 28, 2025 | 3E | 1 BR · 1 BA | $635,000 | -8.6% | |
| Nov 14, 2024 | 4GH | 2 BR · 2 BA | $1,250,000 | -16.6% | |
| Oct 8, 2024 | 1G | 1 BR · 1 BA | $675,000 | -2.9% | |
| Mar 28, 2024 | 4F | 1 BA | $420,000 | -11.6% | |
| Aug 17, 2023 | 10E | 1 BR · 1 BA | $635,000 | -18.1% | |
| May 24, 2023 | 9G | 1 BR · 1 BA · 840 sf | $625,000 | $744/sf | -26.0% |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2023): a median $894/sf (floor-adjusted) across 2 sales. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 3.8% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01427-0038). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
Closed rents at Eastgate, last 36 months
3 closed sublet leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease September 2024. Based on few leases. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.
What would your apartment rent for?
The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at Eastgate and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $930K (4 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 21, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $12,038 to close, or 1.3% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $12,038
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with Eastgate and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Eastgate. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Get the board package standard before you fall in love with an apartment. This is a share purchase, which means a board package, a personal interview, and a set of underwriting standards the board is not obliged to publish. Financing ceiling, minimum down payment, and post-closing liquidity — usually expressed as some number of years of maintenance and debt service held after closing — are the three that kill deals, and none of them is in the public record for this building. Ask the managing agent for all three in writing before you make an offer, and run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator against your own numbers first.
Price the flip tax into your exit, not your entry. A transfer fee exists and is a recurring revenue line for the corporation. The separate management schedule dated October 6, 2026 lists 1.5% of gross sale price payable by the selling shareholder. Have counsel confirm the operative rate, basis, payer and any exceptions for the specific transaction.
Read the debt. The 2007 loan matured in 2017 and was consolidated to $4,000,000 that June. The current terms are not in any document on file with us. An interest-only underlying mortgage that has to be refinanced into a higher-rate market is the single most likely source of a future maintenance increase in a building this size.
Underwrite the second façade cycle. The 2010 Local Law 11 work was a $492,500 project. The 2020 filing was roughly twice that. Ask whether it is complete, how it was funded, and whether a further cycle is scheduled. A 1929 masonry façade will face further examinations: get the building's current filing status, its filing window and any open repair obligations, and confirm the inspection interval under the rules implementing Local Law 49 of 2025, which lets the Department of Buildings set intervals of six to twelve years.
Pied-à-terre and entity ownership. Management-sourced records describe pied-à-terre use as permitted with board approval. Purchases in a trust, an LLC, or with a guarantor or co-purchaser are a separate question that co-op boards decide case by case, and this board's posture is not published. If your purchase requires any structure other than an individual buying in their own name, raise it with the managing agent before you sign a contract.
What to know if you’re selling
Correct the record in your own listing. Public sources repeat a 1994 conversion date that is not supported by the offering plan or the corporation's audited financial statements, and a unit count that the corporation's own auditors do not use. Getting the conversion year and the tax history right makes the rest of the package more credible to a buyer's attorney.
Lead with the enclave, then with the house. Eastgate is a name buyers recognize and can research, and the six-building group has a documented architectural history. Then say what the building actually offers day to day — 24-hour door staff, the garden courtyard, the fitness room, electricity in the maintenance — because carrying-cost comparisons against buildings that bill utilities separately are where sellers routinely lose the argument.
Have the capital story assembled before the first offer. Two Local Law 11 cycles, the 2017 mortgage consolidation, and the sponsor's remaining position are the three things a competent buyer's attorney will ask about. Answering them in the first week rather than the fourth keeps deals alive.
Combinations are a selling feature where they exist. The building's filing history is full of merges. If an adjoining line has traded recently or is likely to, that is worth saying plainly.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 210 East 73rd Street, also evaluate:
- 220 East 73rd Street — the middle Eastgate building on this same tax block; the closest like-for-like
- 230 East 73rd Street — the eastern Eastgate building on block 1427, completed in 1936
- 225 East 73rd Street — the Eastgate blockmate directly across the street
- 235 East 73rd Street — the last of the six, and the most fully documented of the group
- 245 East 72nd Street — Emery Roth for Bing & Bing one block south, on this same tax block; a 20-story tower rather than a low-rise
- 203 East 72nd Street — The Bayard House, the postwar tower holding the Third Avenue blockfront of block 1427; the same block, a different era
- 215 East 72nd Street — a 1929 prewar cooperative a block south at comparable scale
- 150 East 73rd Street — a 1920s prewar cooperative west of Lexington; the step up in address
- 345 East 73rd Street — the postwar full-service alternative further east
More Upper East Side buildings
- The Tower House (205 East 69th Street) — 1929 co-op by Sugarman & Berger
- The Omni, 206 East 95th Street — 1989
- The Mayfair (207 East 74th Street) — 1963 co-op
- 212 East 70th Street — 1900 condominium
- 212 East 95th Street — 2008 condominium
- 213 East 71st Street — 1910 co-op
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper East Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper East Side.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at Eastgate?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com