Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfHell's Kitchen $1,328/sf ▴0%
Full index →
215 Chrystie Street, 215 Chrystie Street, New York, NY 10002, Manhattan — Condominium, 2017
Photo: Kidfly182 / CC BY 4.0 · via Wikimedia Commons
Buildings·East Village·Condominium

215 Chrystie Street

215 Chrystie Street, New York, NY 10002

East Village

BBL 1004277507 · BIN 1090397

At a glance
Year built
2017
Type
Condominium
Floors
28
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
Doorman
Full-time doorman

215 Chrystie Street sales history: 18 recorded sales

Own an apartment at 215 Chrystie Street?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
Board & building profile
Pets
Permitted — a pet-friendly building.

Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2026). Reported and subject to confirmation. Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.

The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2017–2026

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2026 to date
$2,585
floor-adjusted, 2 sales
Listing discount
8.5%
Recorded sales
18
On record
2017–2026
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 215 Chrystie Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

215 Chrystie Street is Herzog & de Meuron's third NYC residential project after 40 Bond and 56 Leonard — a hotel-condominium hybrid with 11 condominium residences atop a 356-room PUBLIC Hotel.

Per Jacques Herzog: "Our idea was to stack two very distinct typologies on top of each other, and on one hand to express their difference, while on the other to unify them."

John Pawson designed bespoke minimalist interiors for the 11 penthouses.

Architecture and building operations

The hotel occupies floors 2-24; 11 condos sit atop floors 25-28. Angled mullions on recessed windows create the "shimmering" effect of the slim concrete tower. John Pawson designed bespoke minimalist interiors for the 11 penthouses.

Operations: Hotel-adjoined services for condo owners include catering, pet walking, fresh flower service, limousine service, car washing, valet parking, complete housekeeping. Two-floor underground nightclub (PUBLIC Arts) and restaurant. Hotel offers room service to residential floors.

Policy framework

  • Type: Hotel-condominium hybrid
  • Pets: Permitted
  • Pied-à-terre: Permitted
  • Subletting: Permitted
  • Financing: Standard condominium LTV
  • LLC/trust/foreign buyers: All permitted
  • Right of first refusal: Procedural only

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Purchase

7 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Background Report FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per applicant (additional $75 for criminal check if required by the Board)Refundable Not stated
Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $700 ($750 without a Broker)Refundable Not stated
Working Capital ContributionPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount Amount equivalent to two (2) month's common chargesRefundable Not stated

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move In DepositPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $2,500Refundable Refundable
Post Closing Document DepositPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable
Electric DepositPaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $1,500Refundable Not stated
Move Out DepositPaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $2,500Refundable Refundable

Rental or lease

5 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Background Report FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per applicant (additional $75 for criminal check if required by the Board)Refundable Not stated
Processing FeePaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $700 ($750 without a Broker)Refundable Not stated

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move Out DepositPaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount $2,500Refundable Refundable
Move In DepositPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $2,500Refundable Refundable

Lease renewal

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Lease Renewal FeePaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount $300Refundable Not stated

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Research Desk's building record, 2026
In-unit washer/dryer
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: recent listing records
Valet
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
Amenities noted
GarageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟠
Material — penalties in current period, escalating in 2030
2024–2029 annual penalty
$162,681/yr
2030–2034 annual penalty
$428,009/yr
Per unit / month range
$1,232 – $3,242
Modeled exposure split equally across 11 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
SWARMP
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the engineer identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.

Inspection history
2020–25
SWARMP
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2028
Assessed · 2020–25
$2,000 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — the licensed engineer the city requires to sign the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Management & transfer contacts

Managing agent
Notable fees
Working Capital Contribution = two months' common charges; Move-In/Out refundable deposits $2,500 each; lease renewal $300
Transfer facts compiled by The Roebling Team · as of 2026-07. Confirm current policies and fees with the managing agent before contract.

Recent sales

Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Sep 21, 202628E
3 BR · 3 BA · 2,243 sf
$5,750,000$2,564/sf-4.1%
Sep 2, 202629W
2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,977 sf
$5,150,000$2,605/sf-10.4%
Mar 31, 2026PH3
4 BR · 4.5 BA · 4,236 sf
$14,500,000$3,423/sf-6.4%
May 29, 2025PH2
4 BR · 4.5 BA · 4,236 sf
$15,650,000$3,695/sf-13.0%
Apr 1, 202226WEST
2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,361 sf
$3,575,000$2,627/sf-15.9%
Sep 14, 202128WEST
2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,977 sf
$5,500,000$2,782/sf-14.7%
Feb 26, 2021PH1
4,301 sf
$18,000,000$4,185/sfoff-mkt
Mar 12, 201826WESTSponsor Sale
1 BR · 1,361 sf
$3,594,787$2,641/sf-11.2%

Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $2,585/sf (floor-adjusted) across 2 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 8.5% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

PH1 · 4,301 sf-5%
$19,000,000 ($4,471/sf) 2018 → $18,000,000 ($4,185/sf) 2021
PH3 · 4,236 sf-9%
$16,000,000 ($3,777/sf) 2017 → $14,500,000 ($3,423/sf) 2026
PH2 · 4,236 sf-23%
$20,365,000 ($4,808/sf) 2018 → $15,650,000 ($3,695/sf) 2025
28WEST · 1,977 sf-23%
$7,150,000 ($3,617/sf) 2017 → $5,500,000 ($2,782/sf) 2021
View all 18 recorded sales, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00427-7507). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 215 Chrystie Street and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $14.5M (4 sales since 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $813,594 to close, or 5.6% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $471,250
  • Mortgage recording tax: $209,344
  • Title insurance: $65,250
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees, reserves and filings: $67,750

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with 215 Chrystie Street and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 215 Chrystie Street. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

Architectural register

Reviewed November 11, 2014. Rated #4 in Lower East Side. Noted: "angled mullions for its recessed windows give it a slightly rickety appearance."

Comparable buildings


Sources: The Roebling Research Library (offering plans, house rules, financial statements, board minutes, internal transaction records); NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers; publicly recorded NYC building data.

More East Village buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across East Village — read The Roebling Team Guide to East Village.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at 215 Chrystie Street?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com