50 Greenpoint Avenue
50 Greenpoint Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11222
Greenpoint, Brooklyn
BBL 3025627501 · BIN 3424740
- Year built
- 2016
- Type
- Condominium
- Units
- 44
- Floors
- 7
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Doorman
- Requires confirmation
Every recorded sale at this building, 2014–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf (floor-adjusted)
- $1,515
- Listing discount
- -1.8%
- Recorded sales
- 74
- On record
- 2014–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 50 Greenpoint Avenue would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
This building is an artifact of a single land-use decision and of the credit cycle that interrupted it. The Greenpoint-Williamsburg rezoning, adopted by the City Council on May 11, 2005, remapped close to 200 blocks of Community District 1 from manufacturing to residential and mixed use, mapping contextual districts and Special Mixed Use districts across the upland behind the waterfront. This lot carries exactly that designation today. An investor group bought the site in 2006, the year after the vote; the new-building application was pre-filed in March 2007 and approved that August. The offering plan does not narrate the zoning history, and the connection drawn here comes from the city record rather than from a document that states it — but the chronology sits directly on the other side of the rezoning, and a seven-story residential building of 44 apartments could not have been built on this block before it.
Then the cycle intervened. Work stalled in 2009 and the site sat. The application was not fully permitted until July 15, 2015 — more than eight years after it was filed — construction wrapped in 2016, and sales launched in January 2017 with one-bedrooms from roughly $699,000, two-bedrooms around $1.1 million and three-bedrooms around $1.5 million. The engineer's consumption letter behind the plan's budget is dated December 3, 2015. The result is a building whose design vocabulary and unit plans were drawn in the mid-2000s and whose market entry happened a decade later, into a Greenpoint that the rezoning had by then substantially rebuilt.
That gap is the honest frame for the building's position. As the Greenpoint guide sets out, the neighbourhood's post-rezoning delivery has been overwhelmingly rental, and its for-sale condominium tier is thin, late and clustered on the waterfront. 50 Greenpoint Avenue is one of the few genuine condominiums to have come out of the ground in the interior, and it arrived before the waterfront towers that now set the neighbourhood's price ceiling — The Greenpoint at 21 India Street and, later, The Huron. It does not compete with them on amenity scale or on view. It competes on being a full condominium of manageable size, three blocks from the ferry, at a price that the tower tier does not reach down to.
The architecture is Karl Fischer's, and it is recognisably his: a masonry field organised into a symmetrical rhythm of projecting brick bays and recessed spandrel bays, a high proportion of glass, glass-railed balconies, and a double-height lobby with chevron flooring behind a revolving door. It reads as a mid-rise apartment house rather than as a glass object, which is the right register for a block of low-rise Greenpoint fabric one street back from the river.
Architecture and unit composition
The building is seven stories over a cellar on a through-lot that runs from Greenpoint Avenue back to Milton Street, with the residential entrance on the West Street elevation. The plan's inventory is 44 residential units and 23 parking units; one residential unit is reserved as the Resident Manager's Unit, which reconciles the plan's 44 against the 43 dwelling units in the Department of Buildings and city records. Anyone reading a marketing description that says 44 apartments and a city record that says 43 is looking at the superintendent's apartment, not at a discrepancy.
Unit types run from one-bedrooms through three-bedrooms, with duplex apartments in the inventory and four top-floor residences carrying private terraces. Most apartments have floor-to-ceiling windows; balconies with glass railings are appurtenant to a substantial number of units as limited common elements, and the plan is explicit that the owner of a terrace, balcony or roof space carries normal maintenance on it while structural repair falls to all owners as a common expense. Interiors as delivered ran to seven-inch brushed and stained white oak floors, open kitchens with Statuary marble counters and Bertazzoni, Bosch and Liebherr appliances, and primary bathrooms in Carrara marble with a Nero Marquina feature wall and a double vanity.
The apartments were designed with washer and vent-less dryer hook-ups rather than supplied appliances, and the cellar carries a small 157-square-foot common laundry as backup. That is a plan-era detail worth checking unit by unit: whether the machines are in place, and whether the vent-less specification has been respected.
Building operations
This is a partially attended building rather than a full-service one, and the distinction matters to the monthly number. The plan anticipated a doorman on duty from 7:00 am to 7:00 pm seven days a week, with a virtual doorman system covering the balance of the day. Two passenger elevators run 24 hours. The amenity programme is compact and sits almost entirely in the cellar — fitness centre, children's playroom, bicycle room, pet spa, laundry — with a communal lounge on the first floor and roughly 2,020 square feet of common roof deck above. Published building records describe the roof deck as landscaped, with Manhattan views across the river, and put a fireplace in the residents' lounge.
Compared to the waterfront tower tier, that programme is modest, and the corresponding common charge should be modest too. It is the right trade for a 44-unit building: nobody is carrying a pool. The offsetting item is the parking. Fourteen of the 23 spaces are indoors across two parking areas and nine are outdoors at the rear, which is a materially different asset from an enclosed garage space, and prospective purchasers of a parking unit should confirm which of the two they are buying.
Two provisions in the plan deserve a buyer's attention because they persist beyond the sponsor period. The working capital contribution is two months' common charges, payable by subsequent purchasers as well as by sponsor purchasers — a recurring closing cost on every resale, and one that is easy to miss in a carrying-cost model. And the sponsor retained the unused development rights on the property, with the right to sell them or develop them, while being barred from using them to expand this building. A buyer should confirm the current disposition of those rights and read the declaration's language on them.
The plan also disclosed the standard new-development risk set of its era with unusual bluntness: the sponsor reserved the unconditional right to rent rather than sell units, was obligated to sell no more than the 15 percent necessary to declare the plan effective, and was not obligated to deliver amenities until at least half the units had sold. Nearly a decade on, the building trades as an ordinary resale condominium with individually deeded units, so those provisions are largely spent — but the diligence habit the Greenpoint guide recommends still applies. Ask for the plan and its Schedule A, confirm the unit is among those offered, and check ACRIS for the individual unit deed.
Policy framework
Pied-à-terre, LLC purchases, trusts and foreign buyers: Permitted (standard NYC condominium).
Subletting: Permitted under standard condominium rules; the board's remedy is a right of first refusal rather than purchaser approval. Confirm any minimum lease term and any leasing fee from the current house rules.
Pets: The plan provides a pet spa with a bathing area, which is a strong indication of a pet-friendly house rule but is not the rule itself. Not verified from a current primary document — confirm with the managing agent at application.
Washer/dryer: Hook-up in every unit per the plan; appliances were not part of the sponsor's obligation.
Working capital contribution: Two months' common charges at closing, on resale as well as on sponsor sale, per the plan.
Flip tax / transfer fee: Not documented in the portion of the plan reviewed for this profile. Confirm with the managing agent.
Property taxes: §421-a. The plan describes the mechanism precisely — a partial exemption from the real estate taxes attributable to the residential units, with a mini-tax on the pre-construction base assessed valuation of 2006/2007 payable throughout, and a benefit that the plan says would run 15 years and decrease progressively if granted. What the plan does not fix is the commencement year, and neither does this page. Pull the current Department of Finance bill for the specific unit, read the exemption line, establish how many benefit years have run, and underwrite the fully unabated carrying cost. Any marketing claim that names a specific expiry year should be tested against the bill.
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Leasing by owners
- Not verified
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Common charges + taxes, per room
- $350 per room a monthMedian of 5 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Common charges + taxes, per square foot
- $1.52 per square foot a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Requires confirmationSources differ. Confirm with building management.
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Virtual or video entry
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, spa, residents' lounge, playroom, roof deck, garage, bike storage, pet facilitiesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- Per unit / month range
- —
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the engineer identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — the licensed engineer the city requires to sign the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
421-a Tax Abatement
- Last year of benefit
- FY2027
- Years remaining
- ~2 yrs
- Program
- 421-a (15-year)
The tax benefit ends within a couple of years. As it phases out, the property's real-estate taxes step up toward the full assessed amount — a rising monthly carrying cost worth pricing in now rather than at closing.
Source: NYC Dept. of Finance property-tax exemption records (421-a), refreshed 2026-09-06 · The Roebling Research Library. Confirm the exact step-up schedule on the building’s DOF tax bill. Years shown are NYC tax years, which start July 1 — FY2028 runs July 1, 2027 to June 30, 2028.
The 421-a Expiration Wave — our study of when these benefits expire citywide, and what the resale record shows about pricing as they do.
Recent sales
Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 30, 2025 | 6H | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,026 sf | $1,675,000 | $1,633/sf | -1.2% |
| Jul 30, 2025 | 3D | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,266 sf | $2,000,000 | $1,580/sf | +8.4% |
| Jul 30, 2025 | PS15 | 1,266 sf | $1,999,999 | $1,580/sf | off-mkt |
| Sep 11, 2024 | 5H | 3 BR · 2 BA · 1,246 sf | $2,160,000 | $1,734/sf | +2.9% |
| May 29, 2024 | 5D | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,266 sf | $1,817,000 | $1,435/sf | -6.8% |
| Aug 8, 2023 | 5C | 3 BR · 2 BA · 1,246 sf | $2,080,000 | $1,669/sf | -5.5% |
| Jun 27, 2023 | 2D | 1 BR · 1 BA · 780 sf | $1,200,000 | $1,538/sf | +2.1% |
| Jun 21, 2022 | 5F | 2 BR · 2 BA · 900 sf | $1,375,000 | $1,528/sf | -8.3% |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2025): a median $1,515/sf (floor-adjusted) across 2 sales. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount -1.8% over ask.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 3-02562-7501). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.
Closed rents at 50 Greenpoint Avenue, last 36 months
| Size | Leases | Median / month |
|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | 2 | $5,150 |
| 2 bedroom | 3 | $6,150 |
5 closed leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease August 2026. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.
What would your apartment rent for?
The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at 50 Greenpoint Avenue and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $2M (3 sales since 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $80,625 to close, or 4.0% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $20,000
- Mortgage recording tax: $28,875
- Title insurance: $9,000
- Attorneys, lender, building fees, reserves and filings: $22,750
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with 50 Greenpoint Avenue and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 50 Greenpoint Avenue. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Get the exemption line off the bill. The plan documents a 15-year, progressively decreasing benefit and no start date. Nobody should tell you the expiry year without showing you the Department of Finance record for your unit. Run the True Monthly Carrying Cost Calculator on the unabated number too.
Budget the working capital contribution. Two months' common charges is payable on resale as well as on sponsor sale under the plan. That is real money at closing and it belongs in the model.
If you want parking, ask which kind. Fourteen spaces are indoors and nine are in the open at the rear. They are not the same asset.
The doorman is not 24 hours. Seven to seven, with a virtual system covering the rest. For some buyers that is the right trade for a lower common charge; for others it is disqualifying. Test it in person at the hour you actually come home.
Confirm the laundry appliances. The sponsor supplied hook-ups, not machines, and the specification called for a vent-less dryer. Check what is installed in the unit and whether it was installed correctly.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the ferry and the plan. Three blocks to the India Street landing is the commute argument in Greenpoint, and a full offering plan on file is a diligence advantage over buildings where one is not available.
Have the tax position in writing. Buyers in this neighbourhood are trained to distrust abatement claims. A current bill with the exemption line highlighted converts scepticism into a number faster than any description does.
Price the outdoor space separately. A top-floor terrace, a corner balcony and no balcony are three price tiers in a 44-unit building. Comparable selection should start there.
Position against the interior, not the towers. This building's buyer is choosing not to pay the waterfront amenity carry. Marketing that competes with tower amenity programmes concedes the argument.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 50 Greenpoint Avenue, also evaluate:
- The Greenpoint (21 India Street) — the tall waterfront tower three blocks north; read its offering plan carefully, since only a portion of the building was offered for sale
- The Huron (29 Huron Street) — the neighbourhood's price leader, two 13-story towers with a 30,000-square-foot amenity programme
- 125 North 10 Street — boutique Williamsburg condominium at comparable scale
- 214 North 11 Street — the small-building North Brooklyn condominium alternative
- 80 Metropolitan Avenue — post-rezoning Williamsburg condominium with a similar amenity weight
- The Oosten (429 Kent Avenue) — Piet Boon's South Williamsburg courtyard condominium; the design-led mid-rise comparison
- One Northside Piers — the seasoned Williamsburg waterfront tower, and a useful 421-a comparison
- Austin Nichols House (184 Kent Avenue) — the Cass Gilbert warehouse conversion; loft volume against new-construction efficiency
More Greenpoint buildings
- 34–36 Eckford Street — 2007 condominium
- 38 Broome Street — condominium
- 47 Diamond Street (Diamond Haus) — 2022 condominium
- 524 Manhattan Avenue — 2008 condominium
- 533 Leonard Street — 1931 condominium
- 55 Engert Avenue (The McCarren) — 2005 condominium
The neighborhood
For the full neighborhood — its buildings, character, and market — read The Roebling Team Guide to Greenpoint.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 50 Greenpoint Avenue?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.