Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfChelsea $1,799/sf ▴5%
Full index →
20 River Terrace (The Solaire), 20 River Terrace, New York, NY 10282, Manhattan — Cooperative, 2003
Photo: Gryffindor / CC BY-SA 3.0 · via Wikimedia Commons

20 River Terrace (The Solaire)

20 River Terrace, New York, NY 10282

Battery Park City

BBL 1000160180 · BIN 1086174

At a glance
Year built
2003
Type
Cooperative
Units
293
Floors
27
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditions
Pied-à-terre
Permitted with conditions
Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
Maximum financing
80% of the purchase price
Doorman
Full-time doorman

The Solaire sales history: 242 recorded sales

Own an apartment at The Solaire?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
Board & building profile
Financing
Up to 80% financeable (20% minimum down).
Subletting
Not stated in the materials reviewed; confirm leasing rules, any rental cap and any right of first refusal in the by-laws and house rules.
Managing agent
River Terrace Associates, LLC (landlord/developer; on-site screening by On-Site Manager Inc.)

Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2026). Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.

The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2022–2026

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2026 to date
$1,478
floor-adjusted, 13 sales
Listing discount
0.0%
Recorded sales
242
On record
2022–2026
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Solaire would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

The Solaire at 20 River Terrace is the first LEED Gold-certified residential high-rise in the United States — a 2003 Pelli Clarke Pelli design for the Albanese Organization in Battery Park City.

Its claim to sustainability history is literal: as the first-LEED-Gold-certified-residential-high-rise-in-the-US, the Solaire set the benchmark the category measured itself against. That standing rests on the Pelli Clarke Pelli architectural pedigree — Cesar Pelli's broader NYC residential work spans One West End, the Solaire, and the Visionaire alongside a substantial international body of work — and it was made tangible through photovoltaic and rainwater recycling infrastructure, among the most architecturally celebrated sustainability features in 2003-era US residential.

Architecture and building operations

Pelli's 2003 design produced a 27-story glass-and-brick residential tower with photovoltaic panels and rainwater recycling infrastructure. The building anchored the Albanese Organization's sustainable Battery Park City residential portfolio that would extend through The Verdesian and The Visionaire (2008).

The Solaire was the first LEED Gold-certified residential high-rise in the United States — a structurally distinguishing institutional pedigree. The COOKFOX interiors refresh has produced contemporary residential register.

Operations: 24-hour doorman; concierge; fitness center; spa; landscaped roof terrace; private storage.

Policy framework — verify via The Roebling Research Library

  • Type: Cooperative with condominium-like rules (originally rental, converted)
  • Pets: Permitted under the building's house rules
  • Pied-à-terre: Permitted
  • Subletting: Permitted with conditions under the cooperative's rules
  • Financing: Set by the cooperative's rules; confirm the current maximum in the offering plan
  • LLC/trust/foreign buyers: All permitted
  • Right of first refusal: Procedural only

Specific policy framework should be verified against the Roebling Research Library's offering plan and house rules at engagement.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Purchase

7 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $600Refundable Non-refundable
Non-refundable Credit Check FeePer applicantRequiredPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $150 per personRefundable Not stated
Move-In FeePaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $750Refundable Non-refundable
Recognition Agreement FeeConditionalConditions: If FinancingPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $450Refundable Non-refundable
Stamp Tax FeePer sharePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $0.05 per shareRefundable Not stated
Transfer FeePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $750Refundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-In DepositPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $500Refundable Refundable

Sublet

5 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $150 per applicantRefundable Non-refundable
Application Processing FeePaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $750Refundable Non-refundable
Move-In FeePaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $750Refundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-In DepositPaid by SubtenantWhen Upon approvalAmount $500Refundable Refundable

Sublet renewal

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $450Refundable Non-refundable

Refinance

1 item

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Processing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $750Refundable Non-refundable

Ownership transfer

4 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $600Refundable Non-refundable
Non-refundable Credit Check FeeConditional · Per applicantConditions: If ApplicablePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $150 per personRefundable Not stated
Stamp Tax FeePer sharePaid by ShareholderWhen At closingAmount Equal to $0.05 per shareRefundable Not stated
Transfer FeePaid by ShareholderWhen At closingAmount $750Refundable Non-refundable

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Financing and purchase requirements

Maximum financing
80% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditionsBoard approvalSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Pied-à-terre ownership
Permitted with conditionsCase by case, board discretionSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
In-unit washer/dryer
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Maintenance, per room
$821 per room a monthMedian of 100 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance, per square foot
$3.12 per square foot a monthMedian of 97 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026

Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Concierge
YesSource: recent listing records
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Fitness room, spa, roof deck, storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$223,541/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $64
Modeled exposure split equally across 293 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
Safe
What this means for you

The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.

Inspection history
2010–15
Safe
2015–20
Safe
2020–25
Safe
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2027
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Management & transfer contacts

Managing agent
Sublet policy
Subleasing term limit twelve (12) months
Notable fees
Working capital = 2 months maintenance; transfer fee $750; move-in fee $750; max financing 80%; smoking not allowed
Transfer facts compiled by The Roebling Team · as of 2026-07. Confirm current policies and fees with the managing agent before contract.

Recent sales

Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Sep 25, 202621C
1 BR · 1 BA · 718 sf
$1,250,000$1,741/sf+0.0%
Aug 19, 202617Q
1 BA · 556 sf
$670,000$1,205/sf+0.0%
Jul 2, 202614DSponsor Sale
1 BR · 1 BA
$995,000+0.0%
Jun 26, 202618QSponsor Sale
1 BA · 556 sf
$675,000$1,214/sf-4.3%
Jun 8, 202619CSponsor Sale
1 BR · 1 BA · 718 sf
$1,168,750$1,628/sf+0.0%
May 21, 202614PSponsor Sale
1 BR · 1 BA · 844 sf
$947,750$1,123/sf+0.0%
May 20, 202619A
3 BR · 3 BA · 1,530 sf
$2,795,000$1,827/sf+0.0%
May 20, 202625BSponsor Sale
3 BR · 3 BA · 1,662 sf
$3,295,000$1,983/sf+0.0%

Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,478/sf (floor-adjusted) across 13 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 0.0% from the last ask.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

6B · 729 sf+11%
$880,000 ($1,207/sf) 2022 → $975,000 ($1,337/sf) 2025
11L · 1,177 sf-1%
$2,060,000 ($1,750/sf) 2023 → $2,045,000 ($1,737/sf) 2025
6Q · 556 sf-8%
$695,000 ($1,250/sf) 2022 → $640,000 ($1,151/sf) 2025
3M · 1,621 sf-11%
$2,670,000 ($1,647/sf) 2024 → $2,375,000 ($1,465/sf) 2026
View all 242 recorded sales, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00016-0180; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.

Rents · The Roebling Index

Closed rents at The Solaire, last 36 months

$97median rent per sq ft per year
SizeLeasesMedian / month
1 bedroom12$7,250
2 bedroom5$8,600

20 closed leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease August 2026. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at The Solaire and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $1.17M (56 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 19, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $24,698 to close, or 2.1% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $11,744
  • No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $12,954

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with The Solaire and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Solaire. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

The Battery Park City location anchors the Hudson River waterfront context.

The Albanese Organization sustainable BPC portfolio context anchors institutional sponsor credibility.

Roebling cross-references the offering plan through the Roebling Research Library during diligence.

Comparable buildings


Sources: The Roebling Research Library (offering plans, house rules, financial statements, board minutes, internal transaction records); NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers; publicly recorded NYC building data.

More Battery Park City buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Battery Park City — read The Roebling Team Guide to Battery Park City.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at The Solaire?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com