Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfMidtown East $1,279/sf ▾9%
Full index →
Condominium · 1885
43 Wooster Street
43 Wooster Street, New York, NY 10013
Buildings·Condominium

43 Wooster Street

43 Wooster Street, New York, NY 10013

SoHo

BBL 1004757509 · BIN 1007071

At a glance
Year built
1885
Type
Condominium
Units
10
Floors
6
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; in the SoHo-Cast Iron Historic District
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
Doorman
Requires confirmation

43 Wooster Street sales history: 19 recorded sales

Own an apartment at 43 Wooster Street?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2006–2026

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2026 to date
$2,494
floor-adjusted, 1 sale
Listing discount
0.8%
Recorded sales
19
On record
2006–2026
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 43 Wooster Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

Wooster Street between Broome and Grand is the version of SoHo that the guidebooks describe and that most of the neighborhood no longer is: Belgian block underfoot, a narrow street wall of loft buildings from the 1860s through the 1890s, and almost no through traffic. The 1973 designation report calls this stretch a very diverse block, containing buildings dating from 1822 to 1945 — two of them, a few doors north, are 1820s dwellings converted to stores. Number 43 is from the tail end of the iron era, commenced in October 1884 and finished in February 1885 to Joseph Dunn's design for a client the Commission recorded as H. Gray. It was built as stores with lofts above, pressed brick with stone banding, six bays wide, its cast iron from S. B. Ferdon Iron Works.

What makes the building matter to a buyer is not the façade, which is good but not exceptional for the district. It is the plate. Fifty feet of street frontage by a hundred feet of depth, divided two residences to a floor across five residential levels, produces ten homes of roughly two thousand square feet apiece with a full fifty-foot dimension on the light axis. That is a scarce configuration in SoHo, where the more common outcome is either a very narrow through-block plate or a full-floor loft at a price point above this one.

The conversion is a clean one and its paperwork holds up. The change-of-use application went in on October 19, 2000 and treated the building as six stories both before and after, raising the height by two feet. The Landmarks Preservation Commission reviewed the work at the full Commission — Certificates of Appropriateness were issued in January 2001, March 2001, and again in June 2002 for roof work — and a Certificate of No Effect followed in April 2003 for a rooftop addition, together with staff-level approvals for windows, storefront infill and restorative work through 2006. The condominium declaration was made by 43 Wooster Street LLC in December 2003 and recorded in April 2004. A final certificate of occupancy was issued December 18, 2017, after a run of temporary certificates from 2012, per Department of Buildings records. Counsel should confirm the document and its occupancy classification.

The building's operating model is the SoHo boutique standard: no attended lobby, a virtual doorman with card access and cameras, a part-time resident manager, and a keyed elevator that opens into the apartment. Ten residences and a commercial unit share building costs under the declaration's allocations; an elevator, façade or roof bill is not necessarily divided into ten equal shares. Read the budget and the reserve position before you read the amenity list.

Architecture and unit composition

The elevation is pressed brick with stone banding and cast-iron elements at the base, six bays wide, in the plainer late idiom that the block favors — the ornamented iron fronts on this side of SoHo went up in the 1860s and 1870s, and by 1885 the money was going into height and glass rather than into columns. The original storefront survived long enough for the Commission to note in 1973 that it remained in good condition, and the ironwork's foundry, S. B. Ferdon, is recorded in the designation entry.

Inside, the plates run east and west. The east residences face Wooster Street; the west residences face the rear of the lot. Each floor from the second through the sixth carries one of each, and PLUTO's 20,671 square feet of residential area across ten homes implies an average near two thousand square feet gross — measure the specific unit rather than relying on that arithmetic. Listing records describe wood-burning fireplaces, oversized loft windows and wide-plank flooring, and the elevator opens directly into each residence rather than into a public corridor. Above the sixth floor sits the level added under the 2003 rooftop approval, which is why PLUTO counts seven floors against the Commission's and the Department of Buildings' six.

Envelope work has been steady rather than dramatic: façade and cornice repair filed in 2016, and a masonry repointing and repair program filed in October 2020.

Building operations

Ten residences, one elevator with keyed landings, a virtual doorman with key-card entry and closed-circuit television, a part-time resident manager, a bike room and private storage, per brokerage and listing records. Local Law 11 façade filings tell a useful story: Safe With a Repair and Maintenance Program in Cycle 8 (filed November 2017), Safe in Cycle 9 (filed December 2021), and Safe With a Repair and Maintenance Program again in Cycle 10, filed February 26, 2026. A SWARMP classification means conditions were identified that must be repaired within the cycle. Ask the managing agent for the Cycle 10 report, the scope and cost of the remediation, and whether it is being funded from reserves or assessed.

Landmark status — read this before you plan any work

The lot sits inside the SoHo–Cast Iron Historic District, designated in 1973. Exterior alterations, including work not visible from the street, require LPC review, as do interior alterations requiring a DOB permit; specified maintenance is exempt. Work meeting LPC staff rules may receive a Certificate of No Effect or Permit for Minor Work. Proposals outside those rules require a Certificate of Appropriateness and a public hearing. Visibility is one review factor, not an automatic hearing trigger.

This building's own record shows the split precisely. The residential conversion itself required three trips to the full Commission between January 2001 and June 2002. Everything since has been staff-level: Certificates of No Effect for interior alterations in 2007, 2011, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016, for windows in 2011, for a door replacement in 2013, for restorative work in 2016, and a Permit for Minor Work in April 2025 for storefront infill and painting. The scope of a proposed interior renovation or work on the Wooster Street elevation determines its review path; the prior permits do not guarantee staff approval for a new project. Price the Landmarks process rather than assuming it.

Policy framework

Ownership form: Condominium. Purchases close through a board right of first refusal rather than a cooperative approval, which produces a faster and more predictable timetable — 30 to 45 days is typical.

Pets: Permitted per listing records. Confirm weight and breed limits in the house rules.

Pied-à-terre, subletting, LLC, trust and foreign ownership: Not established by the condominium form alone; confirm each in the current declaration and bylaws, and confirm minimum lease terms for subletting with the managing agent.

Flip tax: Not documented in public records. Confirm any resale capital contribution before pricing a sale.

Real estate taxes: No exemption of any kind appears on the residential unit lots. Underwrite full unabated taxes on the specific unit against the current bill, then apply the co-op/condo abatement only if the buyer will occupy the unit as a primary residence.

Occupancy classification: SoHo residential conversions of this era were frequently certified as Joint Live-Work Quarters for Artists under the pre-2021 manufacturing zoning. The December 2017 final certificate of occupancy for this building should be read to confirm its classification before contract.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
In-unit washer/dryer
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Requires confirmationSources differ. Confirm with building management.
Virtual or video entry
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
Amenities noted
Bike storage, storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2025–30
SWARMP
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.

Inspection history
2015–20
SWARMP
2020–25
Safe
2025–30
SWARMP
2030–35
Due
Next window (projected)
by Feb 2032
Assessed · 2015–20 to 2025–30
$2,500 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2015–20 to 2025–30. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Recent sales

43 Wooster trades as a boutique SoHo loft condominium with half-floor plates, and pricing here is properly expressed in dollars per square foot rather than by unit type. The right comparable set is the small group of ten-to-twenty-unit converted loft condominiums inside the Cast Iron district with keyed-elevator entry — not new construction on Wooster or Greene, which carries an entirely different cost structure, and not full-floor product, which sits above this building on ticket price. With eleven lots in total and residences rarely available more than one at a time, line-specific and floor-specific analysis matters more than any building average. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.

Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Jun 23, 20262W
2 BR · 2 BA · 2,000 sf
$5,100,000$2,550/sf+0.0%
May 29, 20253E
2 BR · 1,948 sf
$3,825,000$1,964/sf—
Feb 13, 20252E
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,948 sf
$3,850,000$1,976/sf+0.0%
Mar 9, 20234E
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,948 sf
$3,600,000$1,848/sf+4.3%
Sep 1, 2022PHE
1 BR · 2 BA · 2,421 sf
$6,695,000$2,765/sf-0.8%
Feb 1, 2022PHE
1 BR · 2 BA · 2,421 sf
$5,780,000$2,387/sf-3.7%
Jan 13, 20222W
2 BR · 2 BA · 2,000 sf
$4,150,000$2,075/sf-3.4%
Jan 14, 20213W
2 BR · 2 BA · 2,000 sf
$2,675,000$1,338/sf-0.7%

Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $2,494/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 0.8% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

2W · 2,000 sf+23%
$4,150,000 ($2,075/sf) 2022 → $5,100,000 ($2,550/sf) 2026
2E · 1,948 sf+10%
$3,500,000 ($1,797/sf) 2013 → $3,850,000 ($1,976/sf) 2025
4E · 1,948 sf+9%
$3,300,000 ($1,694/sf) 2008 → $2,300,000 ($1,181/sf) 2009 → $3,600,000 ($1,848/sf) 2023
3E · 1,948 sf-4%
$3,975,000 ($2,041/sf) 2016 → $3,825,000 ($1,964/sf) 2025
6E · 2,359 sf-6%
$4,171,000 ($1,768/sf) 2006 → $3,930,000 ($1,666/sf) 2011
View all 19 recorded sales, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00475-7509; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 43 Wooster Street and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $3.85M (3 sales in the past 24 months, since October 22, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $160,069 to close, or 4.2% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $57,750
  • Mortgage recording tax: $55,584
  • Title insurance: $17,325
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees, reserves and filings: $29,410

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with 43 Wooster Street and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 43 Wooster Street. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Know which floor count a source is using. The historic street-facing building has six stories, per the designation report and the conversion filing; the set-back rooftop level added after the 2003 approval likely explains PLUTO's seven. Confirm the current legal floor schedule on the certificate of occupancy before relying on either number in a valuation.

Read the Cycle 10 façade report. The building was Safe in 2021 and filed SWARMP in February 2026. That is the live capital question here, and each owner's share of remediation depends on its cost and the declaration's allocations, including the commercial unit.

The final certificate of occupancy is an asset. Confirm it with counsel, and confirm the occupancy classification while you are there.

Confirm the LPC review path for the proposed work. Exterior work need not be street-visible to require a permit, and DOB-permitted interior alterations also need LPC review. Staff approval depends on conformity to LPC rules; a public hearing is required for proposals outside those rules.

Underwrite full taxes. There is no J-51, no 421-a and no other building exemption. The co-op/condo abatement is available only to primary-residence owners and is not a building benefit.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with the plate. Fifty feet of frontage divided two-to-a-floor is the argument. Most SoHo loft inventory at this price is narrower, deeper and darker.

Document the paperwork. A final certificate of occupancy, the Landmarks permit history and the closed conversion job are all things buyers' counsel will look for; have them ready.

Get ahead of the façade cycle. Present the Cycle 10 report and the board's funding plan rather than letting them surface in attorney review.

Price against converted lofts, not new construction. The nearby ground-up condominiums on Wooster are a different product with different economics and a different buyer.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 43 Wooster Street, also evaluate:

  • 30 Crosby Street (The Loft) — 1878 store-and-loft building converted in 2000–2001; the closest peer by vintage, scale and Landmarks posture, with a doorman
  • 105 Wooster Street — fifteen full-floor residences in a cast-iron-era loft building on the same street
  • 93 Greene Street (Greene House) — Henry Fernbach's 1881 building, converted in 1985; the earlier-generation loft conversion
  • 57 Greene Street — 1877 building converted to condominium in 2016; the recent, higher-specification conversion
  • 107 Greene Street — fifteen lofts in a rebuilt cast-iron-era structure with set-back penthouses
  • 477 Broome Street — nearby small loft condominium inside the same historic district
  • 129 Lafayette Street — prewar printing loft converted in the mid-2000s; larger building, similar loft economics
  • 27 Wooster Street — Kohn Pedersen Fox new construction on the same street; the ground-up alternative
  • 160 Wooster Street — 2003 boutique new construction; fifteen residences, many with corner exposures

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at 43 Wooster Street?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com